Posting your rating...
Angostura 1919 8-Year rum

Angostura 1919 rum is produced in Trinidad by blending a combination of light and heavy molasses distilled rums. These rums spend at least 8 years aging in American oak bourbon barrels.

The name Angostura "1919" refers to the event in 1932 when Angostura's distillery was destroyed by fire. Miraculously, a handful of barrels filled with rum from 1919 survived and were purchased by J.B. Fernandes - the master blender of Fernandes Distillers.

Rate Angostura 1919 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


366 Angostura 1919 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

3cd30a1ee0c14d6cfcee2c39ed58bd6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 351 ratings

Sehr gut gemachter Rum aus Trinidad.
Nicht sehr anspruchsvoll in Nase und Gaumen,
aber ein durchaus süffiger Rum für alle Tage.

Very well made rum from Trinidad.
Not very demanding in nose and palate,
But a very tasty rum for all days.

5bbd9ca275891e24bc9dcf6802217abe.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

But seems to have a doctored taste, perhaps a little too sweet and vanilla but not unpleasantly so.

6dff84f1efed0b58216c12b296dda908.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 days ago by David Kundrt from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Zlatavá barva, středně aromstický - vůně po pomerančích a meruňkách, lehce a příjemně štiplavý, ostřejší finiš,

B5a11c035781de378e754f890d24cf32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 17 days ago by adambom from United States with 4 ratings

Color: yellow gold, Sauternes
Nose: caramel, toffee, hint of acetone, vanilla, banana bread, latex paint, rubber hose
Taste: mostly flat, earthy esp on the finish, a little metallic, slight bitterness, some nuttiness

Overall: It’s ok, but not remarkable either. Lacking depth and complexity, it’s not an ideal sipper, nor is it punchy enough to stand out in most cocktails.

47bc0dd0c02607f7ceb7d52ff60142a7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by RockHaven from United States with 21 ratings

This one is light amber in the glass as would be expected from less time in oak (although 8 years seems long enough to bring darker color). The nose spicier and oakier than expected with hints of vanilla, caramel, and molasses. The nose brought greater hope than was delivered on the tongue, however, with lighter flavors than were promised by the nose. The finish left me wondering about the promise of the nose once again. In balance, the overall experience left me to put this one on the back shelf until necessity (Covid-19) forced it forward. After more experience, I liked this one more and more, albeit not as much as my other favorites.

0b3eb738cf54231f7e6ab963742fb7f1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This review is for the older pictured bottle. I must say this is a decent rum all around. I had no issue finishing the bottle neat. The mouth and throat feel is incredibly nice. It has no off putting notes to it. Very well done!

1e8686881d40c3120d2ea7c91de1e44a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Nerl from Canada with 6 ratings

I like this one, smooth with an after taste of sweetness around the lips and tongue. Some lingering after taste that I can't quite describe, but it's a good one.

A9f88b26c61d6c2e7479643a45b93874.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by WW from Netherlands with 32 ratings

One of the first sipping rums i bought. Nowadays i find the taste quite harsh compared tot Ron Abuelo or Diplomatico.

81bc79b72a04a11a05db6f9394ed23c3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by kheiligh (PREMIUM) from United States with 30 ratings

This was drinkable for sure, but outside of a lot of burn, there wasn't much complexity to the flavor or really anything going on, I felt. Good for mixing, but I wouldn't go out of my way for it.

F95a2a3d0be7e5b12e6c1c5628a336c3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by hrh from Bulgaria with 20 ratings

Aroma is a bit acute. Smooth taste and solid body.

47f87adfeb3a0ae4bdbd83bac34cc174.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Rinushorn (PREMIUM) from France with 67 ratings

1919 célèbre la date de l'essor du rhum à Trinidad & Tobago après que des fûts aient été retrouvés au comptoir des douanes après un incendie.