Posting your rating...
Angostura 1919 8-Year rum

Angostura 1919 8-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1919 rum is produced in Trinidad by blending a combination of light and heavy molasses distilled rums. These rums spend at least 8 years aging in American oak bourbon barrels.

The name Angostura "1919" refers to the event in 1932 when Angostura's distillery was destroyed by fire. Miraculously, a handful of barrels filled with rum from 1919 survived and were purchased by J.B. Fernandes - the master blender of Fernandes Distillers.

6.9/10(377 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
4
9
21
66
149
97
22
5

Rate Angostura 1919 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

377 Angostura 1919 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 390 ratings

Sehr gut gemachter Rum aus Trinidad.
Nicht sehr anspruchsvoll in Nase und Gaumen,
aber ein durchaus süffiger Rum für alle Tage.

Very well made rum from Trinidad.
Not very demanding in nose and palate,
But a very tasty rum for all days.

Small profile 1

Posted 5 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United States with 110 ratings

Really nice butterscotch nose, very mellow almost like roasted caramel. The taste is a serious sipper - extremely smooth with just the right about of spice. Finish is short and ends sweet. This one has turned into one of my favorites - I'll certainly be drinking it more often

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 201 ratings

Sugar: 16 gpl. In the glass you get the aroma of honey, vanilla, and butterscotch and it's all right there on the first taste. Bit of a sharp burn that fades quickly and then you get the harsh Angostura tobacco trailer with some vanilla spice that I don't like. The tobacco and leather spice found in the 1824 are stronger and overall the 1824 is a smoother rum, but the 1919 is half the price. This one is a good mixer and if you like spiced rum without the high sugar content, this might work for you. It doesn't work for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The aroma out of the bottle indicates this to be a sweet rum and this is confirmed upon first taste. I get immediate vanilla and butterscotch flavors before the burn begins. Definitely a good sipping rum and also works extremely well in Coke Zero (which is how I prefer it). Also I enjoy 3 ounces of the rum added to a 12 ounce bottle of Florida orange juice. Nice.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Matt Coast from Finland with 30 ratings

A good rhum for starting a rhum tastings. Quite easy to drink and it has a lot of vanilla, tropical fruits and honey.

Perfect with dried fruits and vanilla ice cream.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Nordicrum from Sweden with 22 ratings

This one has a bit of a alcohol bite, but balances weetness nicely with fruity favours.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Ryan W from United States with 8 ratings

It's a good sipping rum...just not as good as 1824

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 213 ratings

Beautiful bottle and packaging , rums a nice golden colour and I pick up plenty of vanilla in the nose. Quite a harsh taste but reasonably smooth with a shortish finish. I tried this straight but struggled with the harshness so tried as a mixer with a good cola , very nice so thats how it will suite me.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

The vanilla flavor is very strong. Oak and chocolate are present. A good rum to start rum exploration. But too young and not complex enough. I'm waiting to test the 1824.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

However much I try other rums for an everyday sipper, I always seem to come back to this one. It's not subtle, too much oak, too obvious, but that is what I really like. It doesn't try and be anything that it isn't and as such, I am a great fan. My perfect everyday sipper.

One thing does annoy me though, is often the bottles seem to be underfilled. Or maybe they are putting 70cl in a 75cl bottle. Whatever, when the bottle comes with the level mid to top shoulder, it doesn't look good.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 246 ratings

Great vanilla nose. Lovely taste. Not very sweet but remarkably smooth vanilla character, with a light and distinct oaky finish. There's not a lot of added sugar in the 1919, wich I find makes it a pure expirence. Not that there is anything wrong with sweet rums, this one if just different