Posting your rating...
Angostura 1919 8-Year rum

Angostura 1919 8-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1919 rum is produced in Trinidad by blending a combination of light and heavy molasses distilled rums. These rums spend at least 8 years aging in American oak bourbon barrels.

The name Angostura "1919" refers to the event in 1932 when Angostura's distillery was destroyed by fire. Miraculously, a handful of barrels filled with rum from 1919 survived and were purchased by J.B. Fernandes - the master blender of Fernandes Distillers.

6.9/10 (372 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
4
9
20
64
148
96
22
5

Rate Angostura 1919 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


372 Angostura 1919 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

A lot like vizcaya however it's more oaky and burns more. Very simple rum but makes a solid rum and coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

vanilla honey medicine in nicely shaped bottle a optimistic colour

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 308 ratings

Aroma: Angostura rozhodně není sladký rum, naopak, ve vůni se krom lehké kořenitosti, vanilky a včelích pláství dle mého názoru objevuje i určité medicínské aroma, ovšem není to ona jódovost, jak ji známe u whisky z Islay, patrně jde o vliv zmiňovaných dubových sudů po bourbonu. Jedná se tady jen o můj subjektivní dojem a názor, v zahraničních recenzích ji nikdo nezmiňuje, mně ale přijde na tomto kousku nejvýraznější.
Chuť: To, co slibuje Angostura ve vůni, se projeví i v chuti. Suchý příliv kořenitosti, opět zmiňovaná vanilkovo-dřevitě-medicinální až „desinfekční“ stopa. Vše skvěle vyvážené, harmonické. Poměrně dlouhé dokončení, stopa zakouřené dřevnatosti.
Shrnutí: Prozatím nejzajímavější rum, jaký jsem měl možnost ochutnat, zřejmě i nejdrsnější a nebál bych se říct i nekompromisní. Rozhodně si mě nezískal na první ochutnání, jeho přednosti a kvality jsem docenil asi až při třetí-čtvrté ochutnávce, nebyla to ona láska na první pohled, o to víc jsem si tento kousek nakonec oblíbil.
Body: 90

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Reagol (PREMIUM) from Hungary with 4 ratings

I don't know what was the intention making this rum... alcoholic taste, bad afterburn, smells terrible... It is only drinkable with coke and a lot of ice, but seriously, for this amount of money just buy something else.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Bill from United States with 13 ratings

My first Trini rum and it was really a pleasure. The caramel and nut fragrance was really nice. Not to sweet , but very good with a cube of ice. Nice, affordable rum

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Juan from Peru with 12 ratings

I like it a lot, the flavor at the end is wonderfull, the pepper, vanilla can be felt after drinking king.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2659 ratings

Bought a bottle of Angostura 1919 while vacation in Trinidad and had high expectations since Angostura is a very well known rum distiller, but the flavor profile is a mess and the afterburn is horrendous. I would not spoil coke by mixing it with 1919.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 95 ratings

Tried at Cane Rhum Bar in Charlotte SC (awesome people) - I like the finish of the 1919 better than the 1824. Really nice finish!

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Cameron from United States with 20 ratings

Good rum for the money, lots of vanilla and fruit scent. Nice caramel, vanilla and light wood taste. Not overly sweet, but decently balanced.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Dariusz from Poland with 8 ratings

Great note of vanila. I sipped it on the rocks - fantastic entrance to the world of rums. Recomended!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Many years ago, when dinosaurs walked the earth, you could order a vanilla coke made to order - by a real human - using real vanilla syrup, real Coke syrup, and soda water. Angostura 1919 tastes like old-fashioned vanilla coke. Very easy to guzzle this stuff neat without breaking a sweat...but that's the problem. It's sugary sweet. Not to be taken seriously.