Posting your rating...
Angostura 1919 8-Year rum

Angostura 1919 rum is produced in Trinidad by blending a combination of light and heavy molasses distilled rums. These rums spend at least 8 years aging in American oak bourbon barrels.

The name Angostura "1919" refers to the event in 1932 when Angostura's distillery was destroyed by fire. Miraculously, a handful of barrels filled with rum from 1919 survived and were purchased by J.B. Fernandes - the master blender of Fernandes Distillers.

Rate Angostura 1919 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


365 Angostura 1919 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by brodequin from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

Semi sweet, undescibeable tase and nose... more like flower and nutmeg nose and taste. Not for everyone.

Posted over 4 years ago by Ryan W from United States with 8 ratings

It's a good sipping rum...just not as good as 1824

Posted over 4 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

Beautiful bottle and packaging , rums a nice golden colour and I pick up plenty of vanilla in the nose. Quite a harsh taste but reasonably smooth with a shortish finish. I tried this straight but struggled with the harshness so tried as a mixer with a good cola , very nice so thats how it will suite me.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

The vanilla flavor is very strong. Oak and chocolate are present. A good rum to start rum exploration. But too young and not complex enough. I'm waiting to test the 1824.

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Aroma: Angostura rozhodně není sladký rum, naopak, ve vůni se krom lehké kořenitosti, vanilky a včelích pláství dle mého názoru objevuje i určité medicínské aroma, ovšem není to ona jódovost, jak ji známe u whisky z Islay, patrně jde o vliv zmiňovaných dubových sudů po bourbonu. Jedná se tady jen o můj subjektivní dojem a názor, v zahraničních recenzích ji nikdo nezmiňuje, mně ale přijde na tomto kousku nejvýraznější.
Chuť: To, co slibuje Angostura ve vůni, se projeví i v chuti. Suchý příliv kořenitosti, opět zmiňovaná vanilkovo-dřevitě-medicinální až „desinfekční“ stopa. Vše skvěle vyvážené, harmonické. Poměrně dlouhé dokončení, stopa zakouřené dřevnatosti.
Shrnutí: Prozatím nejzajímavější rum, jaký jsem měl možnost ochutnat, zřejmě i nejdrsnější a nebál bych se říct i nekompromisní. Rozhodně si mě nezískal na první ochutnání, jeho přednosti a kvality jsem docenil asi až při třetí-čtvrté ochutnávce, nebyla to ona láska na první pohled, o to víc jsem si tento kousek nakonec oblíbil.
Body: 90

Posted almost 6 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

However much I try other rums for an everyday sipper, I always seem to come back to this one. It's not subtle, too much oak, too obvious, but that is what I really like. It doesn't try and be anything that it isn't and as such, I am a great fan. My perfect everyday sipper.

One thing does annoy me though, is often the bottles seem to be underfilled. Or maybe they are putting 70cl in a 75cl bottle. Whatever, when the bottle comes with the level mid to top shoulder, it doesn't look good.

Posted almost 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

Great vanilla nose. Lovely taste. Not very sweet but remarkably smooth vanilla character, with a light and distinct oaky finish. There's not a lot of added sugar in the 1919, wich I find makes it a pure expirence. Not that there is anything wrong with sweet rums, this one if just different

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

But seems to have a doctored taste, perhaps a little too sweet and vanilla but not unpleasantly so.

Posted 16 days ago by RockHaven from United States with 21 ratings

This one is light amber in the glass as would be expected from less time in oak (although 8 years seems long enough to bring darker color). The nose spicier and oakier than expected with hints of vanilla, caramel, and molasses. The nose brought greater hope than was delivered on the tongue, however, with lighter flavors than were promised by the nose. The finish left me wondering about the promise of the nose once again. In balance, the overall experience left me to put this one on the back shelf until necessity (Covid-19) forced it forward. After more experience, I liked this one more and more, albeit not as much as my other favorites.

Posted about 2 months ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This review is for the older pictured bottle. I must say this is a decent rum all around. I had no issue finishing the bottle neat. The mouth and throat feel is incredibly nice. It has no off putting notes to it. Very well done!

Posted 3 months ago by Nerl from Canada with 6 ratings

I like this one, smooth with an after taste of sweetness around the lips and tongue. Some lingering after taste that I can't quite describe, but it's a good one.

Posted 3 months ago by WW from Netherlands with 31 ratings

One of the first sipping rums i bought. Nowadays i find the taste quite harsh compared tot Ron Abuelo or Diplomatico.

Posted 3 months ago by kheiligh (PREMIUM) from United States with 30 ratings

This was drinkable for sure, but outside of a lot of burn, there wasn't much complexity to the flavor or really anything going on, I felt. Good for mixing, but I wouldn't go out of my way for it.

Posted 3 months ago by hrh from Bulgaria with 20 ratings

Aroma is a bit acute. Smooth taste and solid body.

Posted 3 months ago by Rinushorn (PREMIUM) from France with 60 ratings

1919 célèbre la date de l'essor du rhum à Trinidad & Tobago après que des fûts aient été retrouvés au comptoir des douanes après un incendie.

Posted 3 months ago by artnoir666 from Sweden with 8 ratings

On the nose a slight touch of vanilla which is nice.
Palate is smooth and unoffensive. Very sweet.
Aftertaste short.

A Good beginners "Premium" Rum

Posted 5 months ago by peter75 from Netherlands with 13 ratings

The rum has a nice smokey smell
Good smooth rum with vanilla and some chocolate flavour and a Light woodtast.

Posted 5 months ago by apaniagua from Spain with 40 ratings

Un ron muy suave. Barrica, vainilla, café, frutas...

Posted 5 months ago by Nickolai Birjoo from Trinidad and Tobago with 6 ratings

Truly, one of my favourite rums.

1919, the bottle says it all really (no seriously, it has a whole story and the tasting notes - it really does make mention of most reviewable material). Not considerably sweet, but never diving into the bitter at any given time. Not quite subtle tastings of vanilla, toffee and a sprig of tobacco leaf, the flavour body is present, with a very similar nose. Smoother than Angostura's other fare, there is a noticeable chest burn that doesn't formulate from the throat. The best way to savour is not to keep it on the tongue, but relish the aftertaste - which is heavily vanilla and toffee.

Texture wise, easy to stir, low viscosity, not really reaching the water mark as it were, but aspiring to it. Almost like sucking on a butterscotch, but with more enthusiasm to make it less thick. A lighter golden colour sans ice is given way to a lovely dark caramel with ice.

Overall an 8 because it does Caribbean rum well (maybe it's a bit too smooth, but people like that) Nice nose, texture and taste, this one is a shelf regular.

Disclaimer: I taste (and drink) all my alcohol (mostly rum) seco, i.e. straight, no ice. If you wish to use this as a mixed drink, please look at another review (which you should be doing anyway, I'm just one man with a subjective palate after all) for a more complete reference.

Posted 6 months ago by Janne68 from Sweden with 13 ratings

Jaha vad säger man om den, lillebrorsan till 1824
Kändes inte alls så fyllig, ganska tunn smak. Den funkar men ingen woaw upplevelse.

Posted 6 months ago by Kevin from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

To be fair, this was one of my favourites, when I started drinking rum, around 12 years ago. Slightly harsh, taste of vanilla and caramel with a little afterburn. Slightly expensive for an 8 year old, but not overly expensive. Over the years, however, I’ve found numerous rums of a similar price that are so much better than this one. Kirk and Sweeney 12 yr old, for example, is normally cheaper, but is on a different level.

Posted 7 months ago by maraczizsolt from Hungary with 16 ratings

In this price range there are much more better rums. Not creamy, no additional flavours, only alcohol...

Posted 7 months ago by PierreM from France with 14 ratings

Rhum "tout doux", sur des arômes grillés, sans agressivité. Peut-être pas un grand rhum, mais un bon rhum.
A sweet rhum, with roadster flavours. Very pleasant, even if not a "great rhum".

Posted 7 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

This rum is strange to me. At one time I love it when I start sipping some and at other times it just aint good enough for me. I can't figure out why!

Posted 7 months ago by jfmurcia from Jamaica with 55 ratings

This is a versatile rum that works well as a sipper or mixer. Personally, I like dry rums that are not too sweet and this meets that criteria from the Angostura offering (it’s older brothers are too sweet and the No. 1 Sherry Cask is too expensive for the quality). I’d have this over the rest any day.