Posting your rating...
Angostura 1919 8-Year rum

Angostura 1919 8-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1919 rum is produced in Trinidad by blending a combination of light and heavy molasses distilled rums. These rums spend at least 8 years aging in American oak bourbon barrels.

The name Angostura "1919" refers to the event in 1932 when Angostura's distillery was destroyed by fire. Miraculously, a handful of barrels filled with rum from 1919 survived and were purchased by J.B. Fernandes - the master blender of Fernandes Distillers.

6.9/10
384 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
5
10
21
68
151
97
23
5

Rate Angostura 1919 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

384 Angostura 1919 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 410 ratings

Sehr gut gemachter Rum aus Trinidad.
Nicht sehr anspruchsvoll in Nase und Gaumen,
aber ein durchaus süffiger Rum für alle Tage.

Very well made rum from Trinidad.
Not very demanding in nose and palate,
But a very tasty rum for all days.

Small black

Posted almost 4 years ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 73 ratings

Velmi ojedinělý rum, nikoli náhodou vyvinutý místním lékárníkem. Chuť je značně neobvyklá a připomíná jakýsi žaludeční likér s pomerančovým vyzněním (arci nikoli jako v nechutně chemickém duchu Pyratu).
V původní, neodolatelné tlustostěnné láhvi, připomínající přerostlý kalamář, mělo smysl ji udržovat v lihotéce třeba místo Praděda či Fernetu už jako příjemný objekt na mazlení; nové balení tento půvab postrádá.
Na výlet do Trinadu je ale třeba Plantation Trinad 2003 (a asi i jakýkoli jiný ročník) doporučitelnější - obsahuje vlastně totéž maso, ale s pestřejší oblohou.
Zajímavé je, že tu v tom všichni cítí vanilku - buď známe úplně jinou vanilku, nebo jsme pili úplně jinou Angosturu...

Small img 3915

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mathieu from Canada with 51 ratings

Way too much vanilla. Noxious.

The taste is hard to explain. Definitely dry, quite light. Chemical (like if someone dumped too much vanilla extract).

I’m insulted by the idea that somebody thought they could pass this off as genuine rum. It's unacceptable for a rum to be this blatantly perfumed. I'll spend more time trying to figure out how to get rid of the bottle then actually drinking it. Garbage.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by James thornton from Virgin Islands, U.S. with 6 ratings

Little toffee/ chocolate with a slight bite over ive

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

a nice Ron, sweet, but for me, a Little to much vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by clochardo from Belgium with 64 ratings

Un rhum avec un vanillé léger et un gout léger de marasquin qui qui lui donne de la personnalité. Un peu de sucre ajouté mais pas écoeurant pour autant.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Nora from United States with 10 ratings

It has a very bright color and lots of high notes. It is a decent rum, but it must be consumed with ice, which lowers my rating. As stated before it has a lot of high notes and almost no low. That gets a little tiring when drinking because it all tastes the same. The drink has moments where it shows promise but falls flat in the end.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by OldPat from Belgium with 7 ratings

The first time I tried this one, I taught I had found « my rum ». Actually, the bottle lasted much longer than expected. I still like it a lot, but I was lucky enough to discover several other aged rums afterwards and, principally, I am not always in the right mood for this type of rum, super smooth with a very strong vanilla taste. Maybe my example just confirms, once more, that Angostura 1919 is a good door to the magic world of the old rums. By the way, this is already a good reason for always having a bottle in my cabinet.

NB: I am not a specialist. It just happens that I like rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Daniel Lindén from Sweden with 60 ratings

Var ett tag sen jag smakade just denna, har för mig att det var rätt mycket vanilj och arrak framförallt i både doft och smak! Inte dålig men inte toppen, måste prova fler gånger

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Para mi gusto tiene demasiado sabor a miel y vainilla, es mi opinión pero creo que se parece mucho al Sailor Jerry pero sin especias. Definitivamente debes probarlo antes de comprar la botella ya que esto podría no satisfacer todos los gustos.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Carl from Canada with 9 ratings

This rum is kinda harsh out of the bottle, it needs to mellow over ice a bit. Once mellowed, this is nice and light. It has a soft vanilla flavor with little to no after taste. I would reccomend this to a novice rum drinker.