Posting your rating...
Angostura 1919 8-Year rum

Angostura 1919 8-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1919 rum is produced in Trinidad by blending a combination of light and heavy molasses distilled rums. These rums spend at least 8 years aging in American oak bourbon barrels.

The name Angostura "1919" refers to the event in 1932 when Angostura's distillery was destroyed by fire. Miraculously, a handful of barrels filled with rum from 1919 survived and were purchased by J.B. Fernandes - the master blender of Fernandes Distillers.

6.9/10(379 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
5
10
21
66
149
97
22
5

Rate Angostura 1919 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

379 Angostura 1919 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 390 ratings

Sehr gut gemachter Rum aus Trinidad.
Nicht sehr anspruchsvoll in Nase und Gaumen,
aber ein durchaus süffiger Rum für alle Tage.

Very well made rum from Trinidad.
Not very demanding in nose and palate,
But a very tasty rum for all days.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Redjet from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

It's a really nice rhum but some rums to me when it first enters the mouth but has a slight whiskey aftertaste (probably my taste buds). I would not say its bad just not for me, although I did drink the whole bottle with the help of my friend ice cube.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Ivan R. Lopez from United States with 19 ratings

Another treat gifted to me by my father. Definitely a good room. Maybe in my top 10

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Thomas from United States with 6 ratings

Good rum overall. Drink it on the rocks. Personally with Angostura I prefer the dark 7 year as this rum's flavor profile was a bit tame for me. Like a dryer more woodsy plantation 5 year.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Bruno from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

Smooth enough to enjoy on the rocks and a great accompliment to your favourite mixer. Beautiful aroma of vanilla drags you in.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jerome from France with 22 ratings

Superbe rhum facile à boire. Très sirupeux.
D ordinaire amateur des rhums espagnols je fais une exception pour celui là.
Je trouve qu il manque un peu de longueur en bouche et que sa palette aromatique est limitée.

Small 20210106 185826

Posted over 3 years ago by Hans-Durstig from United Kingdom with 45 ratings

...you like it or you hate it.
Angostura rums have a characteristic herbal note - from the nose to the throat.
The rum is otherwise smooth and beautiful but I don't like the aroma.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Craig from United States with 12 ratings

Light color. Good for sipping on ice or mixing with coke. A little pricey but still pretty good choice

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

Subtle, not too sweet, no harsh offbeat notes and smooth. Hints of vanilla bean, caramel, honey, citrus and oak. This is a pleasing rum enjoyed straight up out of the bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Pedro from Netherlands with 10 ratings

Of course, there are much better premium rums out there. Though 1919 is the rum for me that one can always pour. No matter the occasion, day in the week. So, not the best I've ever tasted, or will taste in the future, but a rum that goes well at any given time. And that means a lot. From all West Indies rums (WIRSPA), this is nr 1.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Roberts from United States with 5 ratings

Excellent aroma with above average taste and finish. Picked up caramel and vanilla.