Posting your rating...
Angostura 1919 8-Year rum

Angostura 1919 rum is produced in Trinidad by blending a combination of light and heavy molasses distilled rums. These rums spend at least 8 years aging in American oak bourbon barrels.

The name Angostura "1919" refers to the event in 1932 when Angostura's distillery was destroyed by fire. Miraculously, a handful of barrels filled with rum from 1919 survived and were purchased by J.B. Fernandes - the master blender of Fernandes Distillers.

Rate Angostura 1919 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


365 Angostura 1919 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by brodequin from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

Semi sweet, undescibeable tase and nose... more like flower and nutmeg nose and taste. Not for everyone.

Posted about 6 years ago by Tito Jackson from United States with 28 ratings

There are much better tasting rums to sip. Does the trick in a pinch.

Posted about 6 years ago by toto2974 from Italy with 7 ratings

Il packing e' veramente bello , agli occhi si presenta con un bel colore oro ,al naso si percepiscono i sentori della melassa con la presenza di una parte di vaniglia e banana, in bocca le aspettative percepite nell'olfatto si ripresentano nuovamente ed il sapore e' accompagnato dal gusto lieve e dolce che non persiste troppo al lungo, il finale non rimane prepotente ma abbandona la bocca lasciando un ricordo gradevole del suo passaggio.

Posted over 6 years ago by Giuseppe from Italy with 33 ratings

for the moment to be alone or meditating rum

Posted over 6 years ago by manah from Israel with 15 ratings

Very nice and tasty rum. Good with cigar.

Posted over 6 years ago by Arowbal from United States with 31 ratings

This is a very good rum. It is a light amber color and a sweet flavor. My only problem is it does have a little harshness in the finish. Adding in 1 ice cube solves this.

Posted over 6 years ago by znowx from France with 22 ratings

can't remember what it tasted but still i can tell i liked it

Posted over 6 years ago by Jasm1 from France with 31 ratings

Doux et sucré , c'est un rhum qui se déguste tous seul j'adhère !!!

Posted almost 7 years ago by SlowRain from Taiwan, Republic Of China with 33 ratings

This is actually a pretty decent rum. It's smooth all the way through--nothing harsh whatsoever. It is, however, a little on the fruity side, and that is probably where I go a different way. It's not that I don't like fruity tasting beverages (I actually like a berry-nuanced Ethiopian Yirgacheffe), but this rum doesn't make me jump up and down. That doesn't mean you won't like it, though. If I'm out or over at someone's place, I won't hesitate to have it.

Posted almost 7 years ago by Chris from United States with 27 ratings

hard to recall...

Posted almost 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I bought the 1824 first, so this is a step down for it. However, it is still very good in its own right. I have no problem sipping on either.

Posted about 7 years ago by JJ Geewax from United States with 36 ratings

.

Posted about 7 years ago by zellrom from France with 24 ratings

Un rhum d'âge moyen à la robe reconnaissable entre toutes. Cet Angostura est un rhum très parfumé au nez réellement impressionnant, son nez vanillé est exquis et agréablement relevée par une bouche épicée, plus agressive qui tempère la dégustation d'une manière des plus agréables.
Une valeur sûre.

Posted about 7 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

This rum captures the essence of what rum ought to be - an island spirit. The nose calls to mind the best the islands have to offer, and the taste delivers on that promise. The finish is pure pleasure. Those Trinidadians are doing something very right, and at a fantastic price to boot!

Posted about 7 years ago by rafeener from Canada with 25 ratings

This is a great rum to have with an exotic meal. Not an everyday Rum, but a special occasion drink. Very robust Oak.

Posted over 7 years ago by thorfin from France with 18 ratings

tres bon vaut le coup pour le prix

Posted over 7 years ago by Bonetto from France with 24 ratings

C'est le premier rhum que j'ai goûté, il m'a fait aimer le rhum et découvrir autre chose que le rhum blanc...

Posted over 7 years ago by Zeck from France with 61 ratings

Le nez se révèle très vanillé, puissant, enivrant. La bouche est plus sèche que son grand frère l'Angostura 1824 et amène un peu de caramel, de noisette et de grillé. Le final est impressionnant et vanillé.

Posted over 7 years ago by cyryl from France with 5 ratings

rhum de Trinité & Tobago

voici un rhum dit "traditionnel" qui nous vient du cœur des Caraïbes ; il est distillé à base de mélasse et issu de l'assemblage de rhums de plus de 8 ans d'âge (minimum) vieilli en fûts de bourbon.

Dés l'ouverture une odeur suave et mielleuse de vanille donne un aperçu de la suite ; c'est rond et gourmand : on est tout de suite séduit avant même de verser ce précieux nectar dans un verre.

la couleur est d'or au reflet ambrée, attirante et gourmande aussi. On est loin des couleurs foncées de certains rhums, ici nous sommes au calme et le soleil passe à travers le verre sans aucune perte de chaleur ni de lumière.

Au nez on remarque tout de suite la vanille, du caramel (gourmand), de la noix de coco, des notes de cacao et de fruits secs. c'est doux et on ne s'en lasse pas une seconde.

En bouche l'Angostura 1919 est très doux, presque moelleux ; c'est un rhum séduisant, tout en rondeur, avec une saveur de vanille qui éclate en bouche, des notes de miel et de fruits secs (grillés). On remarque aussi un quelque chose d'exotique (fruits), de la noix de coco.

Le finale est long et les arômes restent en bouche après la dégustation, c'est un effet bluffant et fort agréable. Rajoutez à cela un prix plus que raisonnable pour un vieux rhum, et vous avez un excellent rhum de dégustation, un cadeau merveilleux à offrir, un rhum à partager et à comparer :)

Posted over 7 years ago by ares46 from France with 10 ratings

Good rum
Not expensive but not more expressive

Posted over 7 years ago by Mike McPhee from Canada with 13 ratings

I prefer the El Dorado rums to this as they are sweeter and darker. Angostura is still a quality rum with decent flavour but I prefer it mixed rather than on ice.

Posted over 7 years ago by Skulman from United States with 117 ratings

Not a bad rum, not my first choice, but nice

Posted over 7 years ago by Trini Yank from Trinidad and Tobago with 41 ratings

Nicely subtle flavor, very smooth. And what a cool bottle!

Posted over 7 years ago by Benito B. from Luxembourg with 68 ratings

The Angostura 1919 is a very light but tasty gold rum like no other! Near to it's big brother the 1824, it brings out its sweetness and vanilla aroma.

Posted over 7 years ago by DaveW from United States with 15 ratings

One of the first rums I tried. It has very little, if any, burn as it touches your palate. Has notes of vanilla, sugar, molasses, and some caramel. Very smooth and easy to drink. Very good price point as well.