Posting your rating...
Angostura 1919 8-Year rum

Angostura 1919 rum is produced in Trinidad by blending a combination of light and heavy molasses distilled rums. These rums spend at least 8 years aging in American oak bourbon barrels.

The name Angostura "1919" refers to the event in 1932 when Angostura's distillery was destroyed by fire. Miraculously, a handful of barrels filled with rum from 1919 survived and were purchased by J.B. Fernandes - the master blender of Fernandes Distillers.

Rate Angostura 1919 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


365 Angostura 1919 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by brodequin from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

Semi sweet, undescibeable tase and nose... more like flower and nutmeg nose and taste. Not for everyone.

Posted over 5 years ago by alby from United States with 7 ratings

Really great rum that is very drinkable and has a fantastic bottle

Posted over 5 years ago by James Young from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

Excellent cocktail rum, ok as a sipper but the 1824 is better. I don't really drink this as a sipper as there are a lot more rums out there that are far better for same or not much more cash

Posted over 5 years ago by guewen from France with 97 ratings

Un incontournable dans une cave ! Un rhum a deguster de toute urgence !

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

Nice to have and share find a little to strong much vanilla taste for my liking

Posted over 5 years ago by Sabrina from United States with 10 ratings

Mild spicy scent sweet heavy vanilla and caramel flavor mildly fruity

Posted over 5 years ago by jørgen from Denmark with 26 ratings

God hverdags rom til billige penge.
næste rom blir nok 1824.

Posted over 5 years ago by Joshua Westbrook from Australia with 2 ratings

This is becoming more and more common in bars as we move forward in becoming adventuress....

It is a strong rum, warming though not burning with raw alcohol. I like it either neat as a warmer or with lime and apple juice.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

I don't drink many light or golden rums but I have tried enough to know this is far from a good example.

Nose: Stale?
Taste: Lots of sugar, vanilla.
Body: All in the front with that sugar. After-taste is a little bitter.

Very expensive (44 Canadian) for a sub-par product (in my opinion)

Posted almost 6 years ago by Thomas Jesen from Denmark with 41 ratings

Dejlig nem rom med vanille duft og smag.
Højst sandsynlig et genkøb, da den er billig.

Posted almost 6 years ago by scornos from France with 14 ratings

Un bon rhum en apéro ou en digestif. Il est léger avec de beaux arômes de vanille.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Daniel Park from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Very nice when mixed. Goes down all too easy.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Martin Grönvall from Denmark with 115 ratings

Lækker duft, men smagen i starten følger ikke rigtig med :-( Men så sker der noget, smagen bliver bedre og bedre ☺

Posted almost 6 years ago by Margus Mägi from Estonia with 71 ratings

It had this dental cotton wool taste like rum. Really nice with cola.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Jukka-Pekka Keskinen from Finland with 5 ratings

A very rum. The aroma is not very strong but it tastes so good! There's some vanilla and some flavours from the barrel.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Jirka from Czech Republic with 20 ratings

Not a bad rum, but I prefer sweeter ones.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Leon from Germany with 34 ratings

Angostura 1919 smells like the Carribean with hints of south america. We have vanilla, peach, caramel, banana and very light leather. On the tongue we get classic rum Button then a strange muffy aftertaste kicks in - ruining the experience for me. ..

Posted about 6 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

No real stand out features or flavours just an all round high quality rum. Great straight or maybe with a little bit of ice

Posted about 6 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

The smoothest rum I've tried. Unfortunately it doesn't have a taste too match. Tastes a little odd slightly soapy.

Posted about 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

Angostura rums have a nice flavor profile but I just wish they didn´t add sugar to them. This one has 13g/L so not the worst but it would been better without any.

Posted about 6 years ago by Hrpalle from Denmark with 19 ratings

Denne rom har en fin næse af vanilje, noget træ og en let sødme. En duft der tiltaler mig. Jeg kan godt sidde med næsen i glasset længe, og nyde duften.

Smagen er også dejlig, og der finder jeg det samme som i duften. Der kommer dog en lille anderledes smag til sidst som minder mig mest om humle. Det er en lækker rom og rigtig god til prisen.

Desuden er den hamrende flot. Æsken og flasken er gennemført, og det ser meget eksklusivt ud.

Posted about 6 years ago by Thegouj from France with 10 ratings

Un rhum parfait pour se lancer dans la découverte des rhums vieux. Excellent rapport qualité prix pour ce rhum à la couleur or possédant un nez vanillé très prononcé. En bouche on retrouve la vanille avec de légères pointe d'épices en milieu de bouche.

Posted about 6 years ago by Asjit chawla from India with 2 ratings

The rum has lighter colour then some of the aged but quite nice drinking with little water or ice

Posted about 6 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

Light flavor for an aged rum. For an 8 year old rum I expected more. Still smooth and workable.

Posted about 6 years ago by Bill Gaylor from United States with 51 ratings

I really enjoyed this rum. Too my nose I smell vanilla and cocoa. It has a good taste for sipping and mixing with coke zero. It was in a bit higher price range than my usual Chairmans Reserve , but it wasnt crazy expensive. Gonna find the 1824 next and see how it compares. Overall a good rum that I will be drinking regularly