Posting your rating...
Angostura 1919 8-Year rum

Angostura 1919 8-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1919 rum is produced in Trinidad by blending a combination of light and heavy molasses distilled rums. These rums spend at least 8 years aging in American oak bourbon barrels.

The name Angostura "1919" refers to the event in 1932 when Angostura's distillery was destroyed by fire. Miraculously, a handful of barrels filled with rum from 1919 survived and were purchased by J.B. Fernandes - the master blender of Fernandes Distillers.

6.9/10 (372 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
4
9
20
64
148
96
22
5

Rate Angostura 1919 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


372 Angostura 1919 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

A lot like vizcaya however it's more oaky and burns more. Very simple rum but makes a solid rum and coke.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

I was expecting something richer and more complex. Actually this is quite a light rum with subtleties that only come out if you leave the rum to stand for at least 10 minutes. Straight out of the bottle it's a bit disappointing and even slightly harsh. It has a dry start and a sweet finish, which is interesting. After standing, you can certainly smell vanilla and caramel. It's quite a think oily texture which I am not sure if I like or not and there' s a slight hint of white chocolate and maybe apricot. It's very thin and one of the least viscous and thick rums I've had - it almost has the texture of brandy. I'd say it was a very atypical rum and if I wanted someone who had never tasted rum to understand what it was from offering them a sip from a handful of bottles, this would never get near that list.

It's actually quite expensive for what it is and there are rums which are at least £5 cheaper which are just as good or better - I'm thinking Plantation Barbados 5 and Doorlys XO straight off.
Nevertheless it's ok with quite a lot of distinctive characteristics. It's probably at it's best with a couple of ice cubes after it's stood for 10 mins. I don't think it's quite as good neat as some other similar priced rums, but it does have a fair bit of character that that's worth taking time over.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by EW71 from Sweden with 8 ratings

I find the 1919 Angostura a good rhum for its price...

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Thierry from France with 63 ratings

Un rhum facile à boire, facile à appréhender avec une longueur intéressante sur le caramel. Quand on veut pas s’embêter à réfléchir 18 minutes sur la complexité de son verre ou quand les copains veulent "un rhum pour l'apéro qui va bien avec les pistaches". Dans sa catégorie il tient le haut du pavé.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Bart from Belgium with 48 ratings

Better than the 7 year old angostura, hints of caramel mostly, but also this quite uncomforting taste of gasoil, not my cup of tea, better than the 7 year old though

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by __normandy__ from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

Fairly dry, slightly spicy rum with hints of smoke. Just about ok for sipping

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Egghead66 from Canada with 25 ratings

I really enjoyed this rum. At first I thought the molasses was a bit much but there is a lot going on in the rum. Straight up on ice.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Maxime from France with 11 ratings

J'aime vraiment bien ce rhum, assz doux mais beaucoup d'arome comme la vanille

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Edwin van der Gaag from Netherlands with 3 ratings

Zoete rum met vanille nasmaak. Ik mooie fles voor goede prijs. After diner rum 😊

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

At the tasting, the pourer skipped the 5 and 7-years and went straight to this. It tastes about as you would expect... caramel, hint of tobacco. Could serve well as an upscale mixer or easy sipper.

Interestingly, the pourer stressed that Angostura adds no color or sweeteners to their rum, which I believe is commonly known to be untrue. I'd like to dock a point for uninformed/misleading brand ambassadors, but this really is a rum with no surprises, and holds its own.

Might I suggest a 2070 Swizzle?

7, 7+

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Tomas Venturi from Sweden with 17 ratings

Lite för anonym för min smak ingen riktig upplevelse måste jag säga, å den står där i Romskåpet å samlar damm. Men kanske i framtiden att jag provar av den igen.