Posting your rating...
Angostura 1919 8-Year rum

Angostura 1919 rum is produced in Trinidad by blending a combination of light and heavy molasses distilled rums. These rums spend at least 8 years aging in American oak bourbon barrels.

The name Angostura "1919" refers to the event in 1932 when Angostura's distillery was destroyed by fire. Miraculously, a handful of barrels filled with rum from 1919 survived and were purchased by J.B. Fernandes - the master blender of Fernandes Distillers.

Rate Angostura 1919 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


365 Angostura 1919 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by brodequin from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

Semi sweet, undescibeable tase and nose... more like flower and nutmeg nose and taste. Not for everyone.

Posted about 5 years ago by Rum Ramblings from United States with 7 ratings

A very sweet rum with lots of vanilla and sugar, smooth but not very complex.

Posted about 5 years ago by Lanier from Belgium with 11 ratings

A light gold color rum.
It is not a very intense rum but it has a sweet creamy vanilla aftertaste. With some chocolat flavor.
A dry but very nice & elegant rum.
This rum needs to some ice (on the rocks), it is a bit to soft to drink it straight up.
A perfect introduction into the world of rum...

Posted about 5 years ago by Niclas Carlman from Sweden with 77 ratings

Perfekt nybörjarrom! Lättdrucken med söta toner av vanilj. Trevlig till vardags och lagomt billig

Posted about 5 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

Spicy, vanilla, and woodsy, this fragrant rum is a man's drink. Great finish.

Posted about 5 years ago by Lars P. Skaarup from United States with 5 ratings

Liked it, A little dryI thought it could use more sweetness

Posted about 5 years ago by Jannik Schwarzbart from Denmark with 49 ratings

I'm missing the classic rum sweetness. The colour a light brown version, with a medium smell and bit boring taste & aftertaste.

Posted about 5 years ago by Tchad from France with 13 ratings

Nez très vanillé, a tomber!
En bouche, subtile et agréable!

Le meilleur ti' punch de ma vie à été fait avec ce rhum!

Très bon rhum!

Posted about 5 years ago by gilel from France with 29 ratings

Mon premier rhum de dégustation. Je trouve que c'est une très bonne porte d'entrée dans le monde du rhum.
Sucré mais pas trop, mélasse bien présente et surtout une finale très très longue.
Peut-être un poil pas assez "riche", mais rapport qualité prix exceptionnel.
Je l'ai essayé en mojito : et bien c'est pas mal du tout...

Posted about 5 years ago by Skipjack from United States with 20 ratings

I will usually drink spirits neat or on ice, this rum is falls into the ice category. There is so much to this rum that promises, oak nose, sweet aroma with vanilla and butterscotch, even a little tang to the tongue, but there is a harshness that I cannot identify making me want to put this on ice.

Bottle: A very nice looking bottle but a little lacking in label and distillery details. Looks good on the shelf but not interesting when picked up.
Color: Very light brown
Bottle Aroma: Light rum nose with a little bit of oak, and some spicy notes of vanilla, maple, and more biting ones, which comes as a pleasant surprise.
Glass Aroma: Sweet on the nose but the rum disappears in a small glass, I use a small flute and a cognac glass would better capture the bouquet.
Taste: Not initially warm as the oils coat the tongue, allowing tasting the oak very strongly, warms up and has a smaller effect in the mouth with the flavors than is caught in the bottle.

This might appeal to some palates but not to mine. I have it on the shelf and have noticed that guests enjoy the nose of this rum as much as I do but do not desire a second sample.

Posted over 5 years ago by Martin Wicke from Germany with 17 ratings

Because of its vanilla flavour maybe not a good choice for all occasions but as a replacement for a dessert a good one.

Posted over 5 years ago by Linas from Norway with 33 ratings

Very nice and tasty sweet rum with vanilla notes and maybe a little alcoholic to me. Very good rum for the price.

Posted over 5 years ago by Lasse Andersen from Denmark with 16 ratings

my friend showed me this rum and asked what i thought the price was. offcouse i was suprised. the bottle and taste cheated me.

nose is vanilla og and maybe a little alcoholic but not in a bad way
tase is wooden, vanilla, sweet and a little caramel.
very good valuerum

Posted over 5 years ago by YvesW from Belgium with 21 ratings

That's the word that came to my mind when I opened the bottle for the first time. So sweet and rich to the nose! Then, in the mouth, you do remember that it's rum and not syrup... Tasty but fiery! A revelation...

Posted over 5 years ago by Piet from Belgium with 12 ratings

Perfect for a first experience of rhum. Vanillla & Caramel flavour. Very Sweet flavour.

Posted over 5 years ago by Scott French from United States with 1 rating

This rum has such an oaky taste that the first time I tried it my description was "it tastes like you are licking the deck of an pirate ship" and I meant that in a good way. I still love to sip this rum but I buy it less since it's price went up by about $5.

Posted over 5 years ago by Robert Bahrd from Sweden with 12 ratings

God rom som jag gärna dricker. Jag känner en arrak smak som ibland kan vara lite för mycket

Posted over 5 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

The nose was fine. Free from ethanol Nice clear caramel tone to it.
The taste has a whole lot of alcohol in it.. But there is rum..
The finish is packed with alcohol but it fades out and leaves you with loads of tones..

Posted over 5 years ago by Denis Mazzucato from Italy with 16 ratings

Just caramel and vanilla.
Very very simple.
It's nothig bad but you will not remember this rum for long...

Posted over 5 years ago by Bill Rogers from United States with 33 ratings

Good solid rum with lots of vanilla. I prefer this one on the rocks with limes or with coconut water.

Posted over 5 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

The bottle that this rum comes in is nice. It is typically to one you would expext to see on an old time rum ship. Short and squat.

The rum will grow on you, it is not a sweet rum. If you like your dry this is for you, it has an oak and vanilla aftwr taste rhat lingers for a while.

Mixed with coke the vanilla works well a bit like a subtle vanilla alcoholic coke.

Not a sipper for me as I like my rum sweet. It is smooth and the after burn is not bad either for a rum of this price.

Worth owning and one you would not mind mixing with coke.

Posted over 5 years ago by murf from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

imho this is a far more complex rum than the 1824, which is a lot sweeter. Excellent sipper.

Posted over 5 years ago by Matthieu from France with 6 ratings

hummmmmmmmmmmm la vanille
Equilibré, doux, vanille au nez, vanille en bouche ! ;)

Posted over 5 years ago by thmsngrn from France with 6 ratings

Une valeur sure, a essayer absolument. Il fait clairement partie de mes favoris

Posted over 5 years ago by Deedee H. from United States with 3 ratings

I have quite a few friends from the islands of Trinidad and Tobago. They introduced me to this rum. It has good color and a level of smoothness, but it could have a better finish