Posting your rating...
Angostura 1919 8-Year rum

Angostura 1919 8-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1919 rum is produced in Trinidad by blending a combination of light and heavy molasses distilled rums. These rums spend at least 8 years aging in American oak bourbon barrels.

The name Angostura "1919" refers to the event in 1932 when Angostura's distillery was destroyed by fire. Miraculously, a handful of barrels filled with rum from 1919 survived and were purchased by J.B. Fernandes - the master blender of Fernandes Distillers.

7.0/10 (366 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
4
9
18
64
146
94
22
5

Rate Angostura 1919 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


366 Angostura 1919 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

79eecdff0e9b55fb2ee356d48cd903a2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Pandur from Austria with 73 ratings

Der Angostura 1919 gehört definitiv zur Familie der Süssrum, ist aber keiner der ganz süssen. Er schmeckt nach Schokolade und nach tropischen Zitrusfrüchten, ist sehr weich auf der Zunge, aber leider etwas schwach und kurz im Abgang. Im Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis spielt er ganz oben mit!

Ac793d4d75bc42371a71a9efe8a6d145.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Maxime from France with 11 ratings

J'aime vraiment bien ce rhum, assz doux mais beaucoup d'arome comme la vanille

Ef5cca0291fd9f3c132f6cdaa6e541b2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Edwin van der Gaag from Netherlands with 3 ratings

Zoete rum met vanille nasmaak. Ik mooie fles voor goede prijs. After diner rum 😊

E64bf7e26e7537f100b622b2dca6cba5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

At the tasting, the pourer skipped the 5 and 7-years and went straight to this. It tastes about as you would expect... caramel, hint of tobacco. Could serve well as an upscale mixer or easy sipper.

Interestingly, the pourer stressed that Angostura adds no color or sweeteners to their rum, which I believe is commonly known to be untrue. I'd like to dock a point for uninformed/misleading brand ambassadors, but this really is a rum with no surprises, and holds its own.

Might I suggest a 2070 Swizzle?

7, 7+

0dc10801d74bb11aff4e526a4a992992.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tomas Venturi from Sweden with 17 ratings

Lite för anonym för min smak ingen riktig upplevelse måste jag säga, å den står där i Romskåpet å samlar damm. Men kanske i framtiden att jag provar av den igen.

A65d48d927c8df776a88a8a333a07348.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

Bought the new bottle in a very nice box. The new bottle was fancy. Dissapointed that it not had a cork to seal it with though. This is an okey rum. Smooth oak aroma with vanilla, exotic fruits and citrus. The taste have a little sharpness to it like a blended scotch whiskey with vanilla and citrus as it's maine flavours. The price is a little high on it. I drank it as a sipper.

Fa969755bbbd9b5a839d01b148e47644.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Don from Canada with 138 ratings

Medium gold-amber colour; exquisite/complex aromas of toasted oak, with layered notes of tobacco leaf,vanilla and dried flowers; dry but rounded and smooth on the palate, medium bodied, with flavours of vanilla, toasted wood,too much burn for a smooth finish.

78b30bb08d90793e0d50b04c2347604f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Redjet from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

It's a really nice rhum but some rums to me when it first enters the mouth but has a slight whiskey aftertaste (probably my taste buds). I would not say its bad just not for me, although I did drink the whole bottle with the help of my friend ice cube.

Cded93ba663d6c2a109415dc725a1267.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Ivan R. Lopez from United States with 19 ratings

Another treat gifted to me by my father. Definitely a good room. Maybe in my top 10

3a2ea34c80beaf6a1cee4f813dca0b9c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Thomas from United States with 6 ratings

Good rum overall. Drink it on the rocks. Personally with Angostura I prefer the dark 7 year as this rum's flavor profile was a bit tame for me. Like a dryer more woodsy plantation 5 year.

E1a66718348d29da27ab39720c7e9498.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Bruno from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

Smooth enough to enjoy on the rocks and a great accompliment to your favourite mixer. Beautiful aroma of vanilla drags you in.