Posting your rating...
Angostura 1919 8-Year rum

Angostura 1919 8-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1919 rum is produced in Trinidad by blending a combination of light and heavy molasses distilled rums. These rums spend at least 8 years aging in American oak bourbon barrels.

The name Angostura "1919" refers to the event in 1932 when Angostura's distillery was destroyed by fire. Miraculously, a handful of barrels filled with rum from 1919 survived and were purchased by J.B. Fernandes - the master blender of Fernandes Distillers.

6.9/10(378 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
5
9
21
66
149
97
22
5

Rate Angostura 1919 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

378 Angostura 1919 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 390 ratings

Sehr gut gemachter Rum aus Trinidad.
Nicht sehr anspruchsvoll in Nase und Gaumen,
aber ein durchaus süffiger Rum für alle Tage.

Very well made rum from Trinidad.
Not very demanding in nose and palate,
But a very tasty rum for all days.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Richard Holmquist from United States with 5 ratings

Nice vanilla flavor and not too harsh, but doesn’t have the complexity of some other drinking rums.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Nate from United States with 2 ratings

It’s was my first rum to really drink straight and appreciate. Smooth with a hint of vanilla. Started trying other rums out and comparing but I always come back to this original. It’s also inexpensive.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Ken Chee Hing from Trinidad and Tobago with 24 ratings

A solid rum that leaves a pleasant after taste. Smoothe with little afterburn. A solid rum that should please most rum mouths.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tof68 from France with 16 ratings

Il vous apportera tout ce que vous recherchez : des notes de caramel, puis plus gourmandes sur le cacao ou le chocolat. Un des tous meilleurs.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dalen from Guernsey with 5 ratings

A nice rum to sip or mix. Not my best but still pleasent.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 124 ratings

Rhum très parfumé, aux arômes de noisette, gâteau fruits. Nez très suré.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Brian from Canada with 5 ratings

A unique flavor and light colour. Very nice bottle. Great rum to enjoy any way your want!

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 369 ratings

Having tried Angostura 7-Year several years ago, I was not at all pleased with it and told myself that they should just stick to making great bitters. After reading through these reviews, I have decided that this $33 bottle is the best way to try them again. Their 1824 would run me another $24 and I was not about to take that risk for something marginally better. This time I don't regret buying it.

The aroma is of some type of exotic mint with a pleasant smooth sensation on the tongue. Going down the pipe feels like vanilla mixed with some exotic Trinidad spices. Very different and very pleasant. A nice surprise. For those who like to mix their rums, ginger ale is a match made for this one.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Mark N from Netherlands with 18 ratings

Pretty extreme on the vanilla and not much of a lasting finish. However: smooth, uncomplicated and not too sweet. Ok for every day.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by kventin from Hungary with 29 ratings

Nagyon megszerettem e rumot, vaníliás, enyhén fűszeres, tölgyes , jó szagolgatni és inni egyaránt ...legyengése hosszú, kissé száraz, alkoholos-fűszeres !! ( az üveg masszív, ölni lehet vele ) :)