Posting your rating...
Angostura 1919 8-Year rum

Angostura 1919 rum is produced in Trinidad by blending a combination of light and heavy molasses distilled rums. These rums spend at least 8 years aging in American oak bourbon barrels.

The name Angostura "1919" refers to the event in 1932 when Angostura's distillery was destroyed by fire. Miraculously, a handful of barrels filled with rum from 1919 survived and were purchased by J.B. Fernandes - the master blender of Fernandes Distillers.

Rate Angostura 1919 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


365 Angostura 1919 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by brodequin from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

Semi sweet, undescibeable tase and nose... more like flower and nutmeg nose and taste. Not for everyone.

Posted almost 5 years ago by paul from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

A nice rum for sipping and I guess mixing
Smooth with a nice aftertaste

Posted almost 5 years ago by boris_dv from Slovakia with 49 ratings

Smooth, nice aroma ... Nice sipper . bourbon taste

Posted almost 5 years ago by Lasse Bloch from Denmark with 59 ratings

helt fin rom, men den mangler noget kompleksitet, og er lidt for kedelig.

Posted almost 5 years ago by ghibz from France with 9 ratings

really nice rum. Nice taste Of vanille, oak, honey and grapes. Not real complex one flavours are easy to find. It's a good rum who does the job.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jörn Rohleder from Finland with 23 ratings

Not sweet like the 1824, but a good basic sipping rum for every day use. On ice.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Troels from Denmark with 7 ratings

I was given this rum as a gift and the bottle is very beautiful.

The taste however is way to heavy on vanilly making it almost nauseatingly to drink straight up.

It might do better in a dark n' stormy, but as a rum to drink straight up it's just not that good.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Krapaow from Sweden with 6 ratings

Taste like fine expensive rum diluted with water. Expensive mixer.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 77 ratings

Admittedly I don't drink many 8 year old rums neat; usually I at least throw in one ice cube.
But 1919 is great on its own. I love the smell (citrus, butterscotch and spice)
and the taste is similar (orange peel, butterscotch and mild tobacco)
The finish is spicy but not overly spicy.
This is one of my everyday types of rum because it is relatively inexpensive and tasty.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jul from France with 28 ratings

Ce rhum est une belle alternative aux autre diplomatico ou don papa dans les entrées de gamme. Plus sec et moins sucré.
Pour les fans de rhum faciles.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Hedonist from Germany with 59 ratings

This is a good sipper. Smooth and Sweet. But this the last price increase this bottle is now around 30 € in Germany and in this price area one can get better bottles. A few years ago, when it was an around 20 € bottle it was a good value.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

An okay rum, but I find it a bit chemical in the aftertaste.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Dustin R. Newton from United States with 33 ratings

Not bad, but almost tastes watered down. The flavors are faint.

Posted about 5 years ago by DUJ from France with 18 ratings

Ce rhum possede un bon rapport qualite /prix , mais il manque de caractere. Peut etre pas assez parfumé. Il faudra que je le regoute pour affiner mon commentaire.

Posted about 5 years ago by Stephane from France with 53 ratings

Séduisant, par sa jolie bouteille, sa couleur aux reflets d'or, son nez léger et délicat. Facile à boire, il est doux et il est apprécié dès sa première gorgée. Goûts de caramel au beurre salé, vanille et chocolat très sympathiques, mais manque de complexité face au grand frère 1824.

Posted about 5 years ago by Alan from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

Rather a pale colour, pleasant taste of vanilla and easy on the palette. Would buy again as it is quite mellow

Posted about 5 years ago by taz.c from France with 84 ratings

je ne le reprendrais pas maintenant que j'ai le 1824 bien plus abouti!!!
sec et parfumé, mais pas très fin je trouve.
autant partir vers son grand frère pour se faire vraiment plaisir.

Posted about 5 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

This rum is a good base for drinks but could also go for straight up on rocks. Taste becomes better with dark chocolate!

Posted about 5 years ago by Barry from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

Attractive and tempting aroma, I love the smoothness and vanilla & caramel flavours. Nice with cola. A bargain at the price by anyone's standard.

Posted about 5 years ago by Gareth from Curacao with 93 ratings

the best trinidad rum ive had nice rum but not a really good rum

Posted about 5 years ago by Qban aficionado from Canada with 9 ratings

I know little about trinitarian rum but I am somehow taken by the angostura 1919. I believe this rum rating is 7.5 according to my personal scale. The taste is quite different from the Cuban rum school and I can see how Cuban rum fans will be polarized between like-dislike feelings. I always sip my rum straight to let the spirit enter my body pure and I am quite happy to open the doors to the A1919. However, would not have much of this one in one drinking session. For the current price of ~45CAD in Ontario, Canada does not represent as much of a good value as others like ED12.

Posted about 5 years ago by rexet from France with 24 ratings

Etant donné le prix je ne vais pas être trop sévère mais néanmoins ce rhum n'a pas, à mes yeux, un grand intérêt. Il se boit aisément avec son côté vanille bien prononcé mais c'est trop léger pour être un véritable rhum à siroter. Bref je suis content d'avoir découvert ce rhum qui semble être une référence sur le marché mais je pense que ma bouteille finira en cocktail ou pour les non initiés.

Posted about 5 years ago by Mark from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

A deliciously sweet rum with vanilla & caramel flavours. This could be a little too dessert-like for some but I found it to be lovely especially with a cube of ice. Very easy to drink and makes a great sipper.

Posted about 5 years ago by Goutlar2013 from France with 24 ratings

Rhum doux voire léger.
Un nez aromatique, un bouche très vanillé et très douce.
A consommer sans modération, avec un petite pierre histoire de le refroidir.
Pour moi ça reste du très très bon.
Seul reproche : le prix. Et là c'est vrai qu'il y a de sérieuses alternatives.

Posted about 5 years ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

this is a sweet strong tasting rum with caramel and vanilla aftertaste,nice as a sipper but also with coke and ice.