Posting your rating...
Angostura 1919 8-Year rum

Angostura 1919 rum is produced in Trinidad by blending a combination of light and heavy molasses distilled rums. These rums spend at least 8 years aging in American oak bourbon barrels.

The name Angostura "1919" refers to the event in 1932 when Angostura's distillery was destroyed by fire. Miraculously, a handful of barrels filled with rum from 1919 survived and were purchased by J.B. Fernandes - the master blender of Fernandes Distillers.

Rate Angostura 1919 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


367 Angostura 1919 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

295a7046cc5e6cb85b51c1eacc87e200.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by brodequin from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

Semi sweet, undescibeable tase and nose... more like flower and nutmeg nose and taste. Not for everyone.

75d131b7a6e523c7efc0b064653fce06.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by mattrensa (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Dissapointed, saw this on the rum list in a bar in Shrewsbury, as not tried it before thought great a new rum on my list....glad I bought a Ginger ale and lime to mix with it as not the best sipper only good for mixing not for me but buy it and make your own decisions

2c103e821d2f3d1f8f8d20bcd1cb0e4d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Purchase a sample of this rum from Master of Malt around the £5 mark I think a bottle of this goes for around £30. The yellow hue of the liquid is refreshing.

The nose on this rum is soft and sweet with definite vanilla, but also a fresh grassiness, theres marshmallow there too with a subtle smokiness.

It's sippable but has a medium finish, it's fresh tasting, with a touch of heat. There are grassy flavours coming through (reminds me of rhum agricole), theres fruit there too peach or apricot maybe, it's not overly sweet but it's definitely there.

I look forward to sampling the 1824 next.

388e0c2591281bbaa7be3ccdb282b09c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Damn good distillery. For the money this is great. Gutted sainsbury stopped stocking it. 7.5.

0efb97101c62ea33be11497642b36333.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Mikael Gånemo from Sweden with 5 ratings

God smak, mycket sötma men något som skiljer den här från alla andra andra jag testat. Inte lika lång eftersmak som favoriiternaFinns en artificiell bismak någonstans som jag inte kan placera

0de57ac21f333116cebc3485bb67d97a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 150 ratings

One of the first rums I tasted and it’s still pleasing me. Today I think there is too much taste of arrack. If I want arrack I buy arrack. I will taste together with pea soup and see how it feels. Anyway it’s nice to have it in the rombar together with the other Angosturas when it’s in the old bottle.
Picture: My Angostura shelf.

743c43b8811433009491c4776775a4a8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 101 ratings

Angosturu 1919 bych označil za opravdu klasický suchý nedoslazovaný rum. Věřím že není problém pro něj získat lepší ohodnocení, protože je to rum velmi kvalitní, ale mně to dřevo s medicínskou včelí plástvovství nesedí. Všechno toto je ale velmi uhlazené, vyzrálejší nebo prostě jen lépe uhlídané než u konkurence stejného typu.

32a2a11d5c36f67d26da8866e0517085.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

Taste is not so good as smell, but still very decent rum, great for mixing.

33bd060e77d8c3fa1cd6538fb0210fa1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Cameron from United States with 3 ratings

Light chocolate flavor. Very smooth
A bit sweet for my taste.
Overall a good rum

9b379783cd9a4e6d9836b9f152a60df8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Richard Holmquist from United States with 5 ratings

Nice vanilla flavor and not too harsh, but doesn’t have the complexity of some other drinking rums.

Fa6c0519a6370e41ed820453269298e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Nate from United States with 2 ratings

It’s was my first rum to really drink straight and appreciate. Smooth with a hint of vanilla. Started trying other rums out and comparing but I always come back to this original. It’s also inexpensive.