Posting your rating...
Angostura 1919 8-Year rum

Angostura 1919 8-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1919 rum is produced in Trinidad by blending a combination of light and heavy molasses distilled rums. These rums spend at least 8 years aging in American oak bourbon barrels.

The name Angostura "1919" refers to the event in 1932 when Angostura's distillery was destroyed by fire. Miraculously, a handful of barrels filled with rum from 1919 survived and were purchased by J.B. Fernandes - the master blender of Fernandes Distillers.

6.9/10 (372 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
4
9
20
64
148
96
22
5

Rate Angostura 1919 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


372 Angostura 1919 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Skipjack from United States with 20 ratings

I will usually drink spirits neat or on ice, this rum is falls into the ice category. There is so much to this rum that promises, oak nose, sweet aroma with vanilla and butterscotch, even a little tang to the tongue, but there is a harshness that I cannot identify making me want to put this on ice.

Bottle: A very nice looking bottle but a little lacking in label and distillery details. Looks good on the shelf but not interesting when picked up.
Color: Very light brown
Bottle Aroma: Light rum nose with a little bit of oak, and some spicy notes of vanilla, maple, and more biting ones, which comes as a pleasant surprise.
Glass Aroma: Sweet on the nose but the rum disappears in a small glass, I use a small flute and a cognac glass would better capture the bouquet.
Taste: Not initially warm as the oils coat the tongue, allowing tasting the oak very strongly, warms up and has a smaller effect in the mouth with the flavors than is caught in the bottle.

This might appeal to some palates but not to mine. I have it on the shelf and have noticed that guests enjoy the nose of this rum as much as I do but do not desire a second sample.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by BerodeQuentin from France with 40 ratings

Color : Gold
Flavour : Caramel, chocolat, vanilla and some wood
Palate : Creamy & melow, mid bodied.

It's a nice & elegant rum.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

The Angostura 1919  is a nice blender that works very fine in different cocktail and drinks. I prefer this rum with Coca Cola and lots of ice.
 
I tried to drink it neat but don´t think it´s good enough. Sweet with vanilla, fruit and some oak but too much sticky alcohol and spice. This rum is a bit too harsh to drink neat, in my opinion.
 
But when I mix it - I love it :)

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Travis from United States with 14 ratings

Great for sipping, great for mixing, and lovely on the tongue.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Geno from Canada with 30 ratings

this one rates low every time the boys get together. maybe angostura makes good rum, but buy a different one from their catalogue. not memorable.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Magic from Netherlands with 15 ratings

drink it on the rocks in the sun! its not that sweet but is is an ok Rum

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by RhumsTeq from France with 32 ratings

Probably one of the most famous old rum over the world. As many others mentioned before, this Angostura is a good door to the magic world of the old rums.
Not too expensive and easy to drink it's a good rum, but far from being as surprising as the Arcane Extraroma from Mauritius or even not as well balanced as the Clement 6 years Old.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Andrew from Australia with 30 ratings

A good rum to use as a standard benchmark. Nice aroma with a simple and uncomplicated flavour.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 369 ratings

Sehr gut gemachter Rum aus Trinidad.
Nicht sehr anspruchsvoll in Nase und Gaumen,
aber ein durchaus süffiger Rum für alle Tage.

Very well made rum from Trinidad.
Not very demanding in nose and palate,
But a very tasty rum for all days.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Samantha from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

Drank it but can't remember it! Perhaps that says it all really?

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by C6r from United States with 2 ratings

I usually mix my rums with orange juice or pineapple, but with this; I drink it straight. It is just that smooth. I thought my Mount Gay was the best, but we have new winner. There are hints of oak, and vanilla. I truly enjoy it, please try.