Posting your rating...
Angostura 1919 8-Year rum

Angostura 1919 rum is produced in Trinidad by blending a combination of light and heavy molasses distilled rums. These rums spend at least 8 years aging in American oak bourbon barrels.

The name Angostura "1919" refers to the event in 1932 when Angostura's distillery was destroyed by fire. Miraculously, a handful of barrels filled with rum from 1919 survived and were purchased by J.B. Fernandes - the master blender of Fernandes Distillers.

Rate Angostura 1919 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


365 Angostura 1919 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 6 years ago by BerodeQuentin from France with 40 ratings

Color : Gold
Flavour : Caramel, chocolat, vanilla and some wood
Palate : Creamy & melow, mid bodied.

It's a nice & elegant rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

The Angostura 1919  is a nice blender that works very fine in different cocktail and drinks. I prefer this rum with Coca Cola and lots of ice.
 
I tried to drink it neat but don´t think it´s good enough. Sweet with vanilla, fruit and some oak but too much sticky alcohol and spice. This rum is a bit too harsh to drink neat, in my opinion.
 
But when I mix it - I love it :)

Posted about 3 years ago by Travis from United States with 14 ratings

Great for sipping, great for mixing, and lovely on the tongue.

Posted over 7 years ago by Magic from Netherlands with 15 ratings

drink it on the rocks in the sun! its not that sweet but is is an ok Rum

Posted over 7 years ago by RhumsTeq from France with 32 ratings

Probably one of the most famous old rum over the world. As many others mentioned before, this Angostura is a good door to the magic world of the old rums.
Not too expensive and easy to drink it's a good rum, but far from being as surprising as the Arcane Extraroma from Mauritius or even not as well balanced as the Clement 6 years Old.

Posted about 3 years ago by Andrew from Australia with 30 ratings

A good rum to use as a standard benchmark. Nice aroma with a simple and uncomplicated flavour.

Posted about 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Sehr gut gemachter Rum aus Trinidad.
Nicht sehr anspruchsvoll in Nase und Gaumen,
aber ein durchaus süffiger Rum für alle Tage.

Very well made rum from Trinidad.
Not very demanding in nose and palate,
But a very tasty rum for all days.

Posted over 4 years ago by Geno from Canada with 30 ratings

this one rates low every time the boys get together. maybe angostura makes good rum, but buy a different one from their catalogue. not memorable.

Posted over 4 years ago by Samantha from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

Drank it but can't remember it! Perhaps that says it all really?

Posted almost 5 years ago by C6r from United States with 2 ratings

I usually mix my rums with orange juice or pineapple, but with this; I drink it straight. It is just that smooth. I thought my Mount Gay was the best, but we have new winner. There are hints of oak, and vanilla. I truly enjoy it, please try.

Posted almost 5 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

vanilla honey medicine in nicely shaped bottle a optimistic colour

Posted 9 months ago by Reagol (PREMIUM) from Hungary with 4 ratings

I don't know what was the intention making this rum... alcoholic taste, bad afterburn, smells terrible... It is only drinkable with coke and a lot of ice, but seriously, for this amount of money just buy something else.

Posted over 2 years ago by Bill from United States with 13 ratings

My first Trini rum and it was really a pleasure. The caramel and nut fragrance was really nice. Not to sweet , but very good with a cube of ice. Nice, affordable rum

Posted over 2 years ago by Juan from Peru with 12 ratings

I like it a lot, the flavor at the end is wonderfull, the pepper, vanilla can be felt after drinking king.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Bought a bottle of Angostura 1919 while vacation in Trinidad and had high expectations since Angostura is a very well known rum distiller, but the flavor profile is a mess and the afterburn is horrendous. I would not spoil coke by mixing it with 1919.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

Tried at Cane Rhum Bar in Charlotte SC (awesome people) - I like the finish of the 1919 better than the 1824. Really nice finish!

Posted over 3 years ago by Cameron from United States with 20 ratings

Good rum for the money, lots of vanilla and fruit scent. Nice caramel, vanilla and light wood taste. Not overly sweet, but decently balanced.

Posted about 4 years ago by Dariusz from Poland with 8 ratings

Great note of vanila. I sipped it on the rocks - fantastic entrance to the world of rums. Recomended!

Posted about 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Many years ago, when dinosaurs walked the earth, you could order a vanilla coke made to order - by a real human - using real vanilla syrup, real Coke syrup, and soda water. Angostura 1919 tastes like old-fashioned vanilla coke. Very easy to guzzle this stuff neat without breaking a sweat...but that's the problem. It's sugary sweet. Not to be taken seriously.

Posted over 4 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 136 ratings

Really nice butterscotch nose, very mellow almost like roasted caramel. The taste is a serious sipper - extremely smooth with just the right about of spice. Finish is short and ends sweet. This one has turned into one of my favorites - I'll certainly be drinking it more often

Posted over 4 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 16 gpl. In the glass you get the aroma of honey, vanilla, and butterscotch and it's all right there on the first taste. Bit of a sharp burn that fades quickly and then you get the harsh Angostura tobacco trailer with some vanilla spice that I don't like. The tobacco and leather spice found in the 1824 are stronger and overall the 1824 is a smoother rum, but the 1919 is half the price. This one is a good mixer and if you like spiced rum without the high sugar content, this might work for you. It doesn't work for me.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The aroma out of the bottle indicates this to be a sweet rum and this is confirmed upon first taste. I get immediate vanilla and butterscotch flavors before the burn begins. Definitely a good sipping rum and also works extremely well in Coke Zero (which is how I prefer it). Also I enjoy 3 ounces of the rum added to a 12 ounce bottle of Florida orange juice. Nice.

Posted over 4 years ago by Matt Coast from Finland with 30 ratings

A good rhum for starting a rhum tastings. Quite easy to drink and it has a lot of vanilla, tropical fruits and honey.

Perfect with dried fruits and vanilla ice cream.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nordicrum from Sweden with 22 ratings

This one has a bit of a alcohol bite, but balances weetness nicely with fruity favours.