Posting your rating...
Angostura 1919 8-Year rum

Angostura 1919 8-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1919 rum is produced in Trinidad by blending a combination of light and heavy molasses distilled rums. These rums spend at least 8 years aging in American oak bourbon barrels.

The name Angostura "1919" refers to the event in 1932 when Angostura's distillery was destroyed by fire. Miraculously, a handful of barrels filled with rum from 1919 survived and were purchased by J.B. Fernandes - the master blender of Fernandes Distillers.

6.8/10
456 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
5
14
30
86
178
110
24
5

Rate Angostura 1919 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

456 Angostura 1919 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small e8351995 ea1b 4008 ba5d 23353d54b5a5

Posted 5 months ago by Vincent from Australia with 37 ratings

Pleasantly mild, but nothing to stir the soul or tempt you back for more.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Alan from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

Rather a pale colour, pleasant taste of vanilla and easy on the palette. Would buy again as it is quite mellow

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by taz.c from France with 85 ratings

je ne le reprendrais pas maintenant que j'ai le 1824 bien plus abouti!!!
sec et parfumé, mais pas très fin je trouve.
autant partir vers son grand frère pour se faire vraiment plaisir.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

This rum is a good base for drinks but could also go for straight up on rocks. Taste becomes better with dark chocolate!

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Barry from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

Attractive and tempting aroma, I love the smoothness and vanilla & caramel flavours. Nice with cola. A bargain at the price by anyone's standard.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Gareth from Curacao with 93 ratings

the best trinidad rum ive had nice rum but not a really good rum

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Qban aficionado from Canada with 9 ratings

I know little about trinitarian rum but I am somehow taken by the angostura 1919. I believe this rum rating is 7.5 according to my personal scale. The taste is quite different from the Cuban rum school and I can see how Cuban rum fans will be polarized between like-dislike feelings. I always sip my rum straight to let the spirit enter my body pure and I am quite happy to open the doors to the A1919. However, would not have much of this one in one drinking session. For the current price of ~45CAD in Ontario, Canada does not represent as much of a good value as others like ED12.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by rexet from France with 24 ratings

Etant donné le prix je ne vais pas être trop sévère mais néanmoins ce rhum n'a pas, à mes yeux, un grand intérêt. Il se boit aisément avec son côté vanille bien prononcé mais c'est trop léger pour être un véritable rhum à siroter. Bref je suis content d'avoir découvert ce rhum qui semble être une référence sur le marché mais je pense que ma bouteille finira en cocktail ou pour les non initiés.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Mark from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

A deliciously sweet rum with vanilla & caramel flavours. This could be a little too dessert-like for some but I found it to be lovely especially with a cube of ice. Very easy to drink and makes a great sipper.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Goutlar2013 from France with 24 ratings

Rhum doux voire léger.
Un nez aromatique, un bouche très vanillé et très douce.
A consommer sans modération, avec un petite pierre histoire de le refroidir.
Pour moi ça reste du très très bon.
Seul reproche : le prix. Et là c'est vrai qu'il y a de sérieuses alternatives.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

this is a sweet strong tasting rum with caramel and vanilla aftertaste,nice as a sipper but also with coke and ice.