Posting your rating...
Angostura 1919 8-Year rum

Angostura 1919 8-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1919 rum is produced in Trinidad by blending a combination of light and heavy molasses distilled rums. These rums spend at least 8 years aging in American oak bourbon barrels.

The name Angostura "1919" refers to the event in 1932 when Angostura's distillery was destroyed by fire. Miraculously, a handful of barrels filled with rum from 1919 survived and were purchased by J.B. Fernandes - the master blender of Fernandes Distillers.

6.9/10 (372 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
4
9
20
64
148
96
22
5

Rate Angostura 1919 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


372 Angostura 1919 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Daniel Lindén from Sweden with 60 ratings

Var ett tag sen jag smakade just denna, har för mig att det var rätt mycket vanilj och arrak framförallt i både doft och smak! Inte dålig men inte toppen, måste prova fler gånger

Small 0

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 106 ratings

Really nice butterscotch nose, very mellow almost like roasted caramel. The taste is a serious sipper - extremely smooth with just the right about of spice. Finish is short and ends sweet. This one has turned into one of my favorites - I'll certainly be drinking it more often

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 198 ratings

Sugar: 16 gpl. In the glass you get the aroma of honey, vanilla, and butterscotch and it's all right there on the first taste. Bit of a sharp burn that fades quickly and then you get the harsh Angostura tobacco trailer with some vanilla spice that I don't like. The tobacco and leather spice found in the 1824 are stronger and overall the 1824 is a smoother rum, but the 1919 is half the price. This one is a good mixer and if you like spiced rum without the high sugar content, this might work for you. It doesn't work for me.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The aroma out of the bottle indicates this to be a sweet rum and this is confirmed upon first taste. I get immediate vanilla and butterscotch flavors before the burn begins. Definitely a good sipping rum and also works extremely well in Coke Zero (which is how I prefer it). Also I enjoy 3 ounces of the rum added to a 12 ounce bottle of Florida orange juice. Nice.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Matt Coast from Finland with 30 ratings

A good rhum for starting a rhum tastings. Quite easy to drink and it has a lot of vanilla, tropical fruits and honey.

Perfect with dried fruits and vanilla ice cream.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Nordicrum from Sweden with 22 ratings

This one has a bit of a alcohol bite, but balances weetness nicely with fruity favours.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Ryan W from United States with 8 ratings

It's a good sipping rum...just not as good as 1824

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 208 ratings

Beautiful bottle and packaging , rums a nice golden colour and I pick up plenty of vanilla in the nose. Quite a harsh taste but reasonably smooth with a shortish finish. I tried this straight but struggled with the harshness so tried as a mixer with a good cola , very nice so thats how it will suite me.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

The vanilla flavor is very strong. Oak and chocolate are present. A good rum to start rum exploration. But too young and not complex enough. I'm waiting to test the 1824.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

However much I try other rums for an everyday sipper, I always seem to come back to this one. It's not subtle, too much oak, too obvious, but that is what I really like. It doesn't try and be anything that it isn't and as such, I am a great fan. My perfect everyday sipper.

One thing does annoy me though, is often the bottles seem to be underfilled. Or maybe they are putting 70cl in a 75cl bottle. Whatever, when the bottle comes with the level mid to top shoulder, it doesn't look good.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 241 ratings

Great vanilla nose. Lovely taste. Not very sweet but remarkably smooth vanilla character, with a light and distinct oaky finish. There's not a lot of added sugar in the 1919, wich I find makes it a pure expirence. Not that there is anything wrong with sweet rums, this one if just different