Posting your rating...
Angostura 1919 8-Year rum

Angostura 1919 8-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1919 rum is produced in Trinidad by blending a combination of light and heavy molasses distilled rums. These rums spend at least 8 years aging in American oak bourbon barrels.

The name Angostura "1919" refers to the event in 1932 when Angostura's distillery was destroyed by fire. Miraculously, a handful of barrels filled with rum from 1919 survived and were purchased by J.B. Fernandes - the master blender of Fernandes Distillers.

6.9/10 (372 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
4
9
20
64
148
96
22
5

Rate Angostura 1919 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


372 Angostura 1919 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

Taste is not so good as smell, but still very decent rum, great for mixing.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Pedro from Netherlands with 10 ratings

Of course, there are much better premium rums out there. Though 1919 is the rum for me that one can always pour. No matter the occasion, day in the week. So, not the best I've ever tasted, or will taste in the future, but a rum that goes well at any given time. And that means a lot. From all West Indies rums (WIRSPA), this is nr 1.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Roberts from United States with 5 ratings

Excellent aroma with above average taste and finish. Picked up caramel and vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Maweis from Spain with 27 ratings

He podido probar un tasting de este ron de trinidad y tobago, para mi sorpresa mejor de lo que me esperaba, de color dorado y olor dulce a caramelo y cafe, sabor ligero, sin grandes matices, naranja, cafe, postgusto corto y algo acido, pese a su precio apruba con un 7.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Pam from Canada with 1 rating

The taste, the aftertaste. The aroma. The texture. Best rum found so far.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

A lot like vizcaya however it's more oaky and burns more. Very simple rum but makes a solid rum and coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Louie from Canada with 77 ratings

It's a sweet fruit flavoured with caramel and honey smell it's a good sipping or mix drink rum

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tibob from France with 25 ratings

Bon rhum léger et facile à boire. Apprécier du plus grand nombre.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Velmi ojedinělý rum, nikoli náhodou vyvinutý místním lékárníkem. Chuť je značně neobvyklá a připomíná jakýsi žaludeční likér s pomerančovým vyzněním (arci nikoli jako v nechutně chemickém duchu Pyratu).
V původní, neodolatelné tlustostěnné láhvi, připomínající přerostlý kalamář, mělo smysl ji udržovat v lihotéce třeba místo Praděda či Fernetu už jako příjemný objekt na mazlení; nové balení tento půvab postrádá.
Na výlet do Trinadu je ale třeba Plantation Trinad 2003 (a asi i jakýkoli jiný ročník) doporučitelnější - obsahuje vlastně totéž maso, ale s pestřejší oblohou.
Zajímavé je, že tu v tom všichni cítí vanilku - buď známe úplně jinou vanilku, nebo jsme pili úplně jinou Angosturu...

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mathieu from Canada with 51 ratings

Way too much vanilla. Noxious.

The taste is hard to explain. Definitely dry, quite light. Chemical (like if someone dumped too much vanilla extract).

I’m insulted by the idea that somebody thought they could pass this off as genuine rum. It's unacceptable for a rum to be this blatantly perfumed. I'll spend more time trying to figure out how to get rid of the bottle then actually drinking it. Garbage.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by James thornton from Virgin Islands, U.S. with 6 ratings

Little toffee/ chocolate with a slight bite over ive