Posting your rating...
Plantation Original Dark Overproof rum

Plantation Original Dark Overproof

Caribbean | Overproof

6.6/10 (15 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
1
7
3
1

Rate Plantation Original Dark Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


15 Plantation Original Dark Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

75b8f08cf418bb4298456d76635b7821.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Ubertulsons from Latvia with 7 ratings

Traveling to Kenya or Tanzania oarks, carry for best treatment against any problems for stomach, and taste/ strenght ballance very good

Baf73d02967442688b390be66cdfb885.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Rich flavor, wonderful taste, easy drinker considering it's an Overproof.

1923761c8c29790cf1a367a652972be6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by RumGuy from United States with 22 ratings

STRONG and ALCOHOLIC. Nearly impossible to drink neat. My first sip neat stung my lips and tongue and left my mouth almost numb.
Tasting with a bit of water really opens up this rum. It has a silky and smooth mouthfeel, it's pretty rich but not overly sweet. Almost has some soft floral elemeents going on. Honestly though this is meant for mixing in cocktails and it does really ell there. If you want to sip on it i recommend a bit of lime juice and a few ice cubes. Overall, I'd buy this if you see it just to try it out but I don't see myself going back for another.

2f948c27692ed73ba308671dd05dadc2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Olaf from Netherlands with 56 ratings

The name says it all: overproof. This is quite some throat burner. The tatse is very good: sweet enough, taste of molasses, like a rum should be. The first sip right after it's in the glass was not that bad of a burn. But when I left it for some minutes and took a sip again it was like fire. All and all it's good, but more for mixing because of the strong burn.

E64bf7e26e7537f100b622b2dca6cba5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

73% ABV. Very strong nose. Highly astringent. Hard to pick out any distinct flavors—it mostly burns the nostrils. More approachable palate. Still very astringent, but no rubbing alcohol smell. Quite a bit of wood and some charcoal. With some water, my brain says OFTD, even though I know they actually share nothing in common. Caramel. Just a hint of sweetness. A good ringer for Lemon Hart. Highly recommended.

7+

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2606 ratings

Plantation Original Dark Overproof is pure glue from the smell test into super strong glue to the taste test. I was tempted of giving it a score if 1, but there's easily 25 rums which are worst than this, so it earns a 2.

6fd35122962c3a84e8598e36480a4e1a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 111 ratings

Definately best for cocktails, but still sippable when diluted

8d9bf53ee85662d75918951a80083f10.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Sofie Mårtensson from Sweden with 40 ratings

Drink rum. Har inte provat den än..................

Fb4e302b3a31e755c978cc2e9da6de2d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Bazza Bones from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

This is a strong rum but very enjoyable. Quite smooth and sweet with slight banana taste. I take it with a little mixer, the wife really enjoys it in the evening in a cup of green lemon tea, medicinal purposes she says. This is now her favourite rum, also mine but in small measures.

086fb3a08fe752fbfa48c815b54ef5f6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Bo from DK with 59 ratings

Ikke smagt. .