Posting your rating...
Gold of Mauritius Solera 5-Year rum

Rate Gold of Mauritius Solera 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


42 Gold of Mauritius Solera 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Ronny Björk from Sweden with 13 ratings

Gold of Mauritius. 5 Solera.
The bottle: Round at the bottom and square at the top. Neat.
Glass: . Dark tone in the glass that shifts in little dark red. Smells of hazelnut.
Mouth: Mild and balances well in the mouth but still lacking some flavor.
Aftertaste: A light taste of oak barrel will arrive when swallowing. After that the hazelnut taste arrivies. However, it is a fairly short finish.
Summary: It smells absolutely wonderful but it¨s taste is a not that on that standard. A very good rum given that it does not have such a long barrel time.

Posted over 1 year ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 66 ratings

Nice one as being 5 y. solera rum.
Coffee smell, Candied fruit, inside feeling
Chocolate, Vanilla and Caramel.
I like this one.

Posted over 3 years ago by IceBear from Germany with 22 ratings

I initially mostly smelled ethanol and didn't expect a great taste from a 5-year old Rum. I was wrong! Intense and smooth taste for a 5-year old. Sweet (but not overly sweet (compared to a Ron Zacapa 23 or Plantation XO)) with a nice nutty hazelnut aroma. Definitely worth a buy.

Posted 6 days ago by Yana from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Sušší rum, spletla jsem si jej s Blue Mauritius, který jsem kdysi ochutnala a moc mi chutnal. Tenhle mě tak neoslovil.

Posted 16 days ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

I was really surprised tasting this one. For a 5-year old rum and being from Mauritius, it is truly a delicious rum. This one is a 7,5 for sure!

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 121 ratings

Très bon rhum de dégustation, pour un 5 ans Solera. Je n'ai pas goûté à quelque chose de semblable dans tous les rhums que j'ai dégusté. Dois être très bon avec un cigare de qualité (mais je ne fume pas).

Posted about 2 months ago by findecano from Austria with 5 ratings

Very alcoholic, vanilla and oaky smell.
Sweet, sugery taste with a wooden, oaky finish.
Smooth feeling while drinking, leaving a mild alcoholic burn.

Posted 5 months ago by Jarek from Czech Republic with 4 ratings

Rád koupím znovu. Hodně různých chutí ... Ovoce, káva, ...

Posted 7 months ago by Jan from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

I was really surprised tasting just 5 yeara matured rum. It a s nearly so good as comparable rums of 20 years aging. For sure i am considering 8-9.... Price argues for 8 anyway... Exceptional one

Posted 8 months ago by Krobbe13 from Sweden with 87 ratings

Provades i Rombaren på Stockholm beer and whisky. Söt, len lite choklad. Kryddig. Bra

Posted 9 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Rum tasting with my buddy in Tampere continued with Gold of Mauritius 5y. Very nice bottle and label design. Golden color. Plenty of oakiness and some vanilla to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Quite a strong burn at the end.

Posted 12 months ago by cK from Canada with 60 ratings

Also has a lot of flavour, but has more burn than the Gold of Mauritius Dark.

Posted about 1 year ago by Titomm from Canada with 59 ratings

Doux et sucré (sans abus, mais plus que normalement), la banane est très présente en bouche, avec des notes "fondues" de noix et de tabac, le goût de tabac qui perdure assez longuement. Rhum de qualité, peut-être un peu moins dans mes goûts personnels.

Sofet and sweet (without abuse, but more than normal), the banana is very present in the mouth, with melted notes of nuts and tobacco, the aftertaste of tobacco lasting quite long. Quality rum, maybe a little less in my personal taste.

Posted over 1 year ago by Kabi4 from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

Nice bottle... great colore... 5 years old but really nice friendly taste.

Posted over 1 year ago by Markus Lehto from Finland with 32 ratings

The aroma is huge with ethanol and artificial banana flavorings. Not expecting much from flavor, but it surprised me positively! Sweet but very easy to drink. Way too easy... Honey.

Posted about 2 years ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 92 ratings

Ce rhum sent super bon, mais une fois dans la bouche..... Je sais pas, il est peut être dans mes goût.

Posted about 2 years ago by JU04 from France with 45 ratings

Rhum très bien équilibré.
Peu amateur des rhums de l'île Maurice, ce rhum est une belle surprise.
En bouche, des notes de tabac et de noix sont présentes.
Les notes finales sont longues et tendent sur les épices.

Posted about 2 years ago by M. Geisser from Switzerland with 28 ratings

Had it in my sheld for about 2 years. Opened it up to pare with some fresh made mauritian masala with faratas. It goes well. Didn't expext such a great taste for a 5 year solera. I think i can taste some coffee and salt, which i really like. It is a favorite now!

Posted about 2 years ago by Hynek from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Pekna barva, chut si nepamatuji.
Cafe Buldog, Breclav 3/2018

Posted over 2 years ago by Marek H. from Slovakia with 42 ratings

Sweet nutty, chocolate taste. Notes wood and vanilla. Good sipping rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Martin Svěch from Czech Republic with 14 ratings

Příjemná vůně, sladká chuť, lehce nakouřená, velice zajímavé pití... Nechápu, jak dokážou něco takového udělat během pěti let - i když metodou solera...

Posted over 2 years ago by Tobias Hansen from Denmark with 96 ratings

Spøjs rom fra et mindre kendt område. Har svært ved at blive klog på den men lander på 6, selvom jeg nærmest har en ny mening hver gang jeg smager den.

Posted over 2 years ago by Daniel from Denmark with 25 ratings

A strong and yet smooth rum. Not my favorite but would definitely drink it again.

Posted over 2 years ago by Henrik Hansen from Denmark with 56 ratings

Whaum der havde jeg nære mistet min næsehår. Den er meget sprittet i duften.
Krydderet i smagen og en lang sød eftersmag. Ikke nogen speciel stor rom oplevelse.