Posting your rating...
Stolen Smoked rum

Rate Stolen Smoked

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


27 Stolen Smoked ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

Alright, I guess it is a kitschy nitschy thing to come up with artsy labels and produce a new rum for the people. Maybe a nice bottle to put on the shelf, but I wouldn't pour it for a friend. Not tasty rum, more like hotel instant coffee, paper filter taste makes is a bit oaky, I don't know if this stuff ever spent time in a barrel though. I see they do have a coffee and cigarettes offering. A great Koko Taylor song but I doubt a great rum either. I don't believe in bashing anybody, maybe they seriously tried to do something different, or maybe it's a gag like fart smelling candles, but for me it was a major miss. As a graphic designer I can't even give them a bump for the bottle design.

Posted about 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

I'm sorry. I want to support creativity and entrepreneurial spirit. But this rum tastes like the morning after a bad night in Vegas feels like.

Best left in the lost and found at the police station, I'm afraid.

Posted about 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

There I was after a hard days work, off the beaten path of my normal commute home when I decided to stop at a liquor store for some rum. It was a sad little place offering only what I call the usual garbage: Bacardi Silver and Gold and twenty types of Capt. Morgan. On top of all that were several bottles of Stolen Smoked Rum. I've never heard of it before, it was placed on the top shelf of the store and came with a $24 USD price tag so I figured why not try it? Maybe it will be a good small batch to discover. Well, it was awful! I would have been better off with the Bacardi Gold and paid about $10 less...

After becoming sickened by this rum, I researched it online to discover that the makers were privileged hipsters who are more into life style than they are about making quality rum. They try to blend the two together - a feeble attempt to convince customers that their rum is insipid by music and all that lame crap.

At best...this rum a poor attempt to be a whiskey wannbe and their "creativeness" will cause pain to anyone who drinks their product. I wouldn't even give this to someone as a practical joke because I'm not that cruel.

I award them no points. May God have mercy on their souls.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mark Ogilvie from United States with 13 ratings

Imagine someone dumped two fingers of Smith and Cross into half a mug of old coffee that someone used to put out their cigarette. Imagine drinking that after eating a butterscotch hard candy. That's Stolen Smoked Rum.

Despite what it might sound like, I don't hate it! I was looking for a challenging drink and I found it here. The dunder flavor typical of a Jamaican rum kind of binds the smoke, coffee, and candy flavors in a grimey nastiness that almost, almost works. Unfortunately there's something artificial about the flavors and way they stand apart from each other. Here's the smoke, here's the coffee, here's the butterscotch. The underlying rummyness just doesn't do enough work to bring everything together.

I haven't had the chance to try it mixed, which might help the drink make more sense. As it stands, it aims high, but is off the mark. the "flawed with a glimmer of hope" description for a 4/10 rum is perfectly appropriate.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Tabitha from United States with 3 ratings

Shit, tastes like shit... I bought it because it was on special for $10. I overpaid by $9. No aroma like described at all. It tastes like a cheap whiskey. DO NOT BUY. I will give it away as a gag gift... Never again. I'll stick with my Dark Aged Cruzan or Bacardi, Pussers, but NEVER this shit again!

Posted about 2 years ago by Tom Futcher from Australia with 1 rating

After being impressed by the label and the concept, my eyes widened as the nauseating qualities of the liquor in my mouth became immediately apparent. The coffee flavour jarred sickeningly with the rum, while the fenugreek was suggestive of hours of indigestive discomfort for the nighttime to follow. As I reluctantly swallowed, my mind was taken back to a poisoning incident I once was unlucky enough to experience in the Middle East while drinking cardamom laced coffee in a smoking den.

Posted over 3 years ago by Lee from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

The aroma that comes from a freshly poured Stolen Smoked rum is full of oak, peat and caramel sweetness. This is something unique. Something to enjoy with a nice cigar or some Orange zest and dark chocolate.

Posted over 3 years ago by zman from United States with 1 rating

Forget the color etc, this is cheap rum with the flavor of liquid smoke added. And way too much liquid smoke. To bring this to market shows a lack of care or knowledge about a product. Anybody giving this a rating higher than 5 is being paid.

Posted over 3 years ago by David from United States with 1 rating

This is by far my favorite rum. Smoke and coke is my standard at midnight.

Posted almost 2 years ago by t from United States with 1 rating

this is a rum to appease whiskey officiandos on their first day out of prison. try not to get shanked.

Posted about 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

In this era of explosive creativeness for all alcoholic beverages, I'm sure there is room for the development of smoked rums, just like Scotch Whiskey and Mezcal.
I can imagine for a craft distiller, this could be a fantastic and fun project. However, this is not it.

Posted about 2 years ago by Kim from Australia with 53 ratings

Initial nose was strong toffee and perhaps raisins with a strong camp fire coming in over the top. Flavour was like I imagine licking a stale ashtray. The rum was not astringent, had no burn but the nasty taste was overpowering. I was the third "owner" of this bottle, owner two passed it across with a knowing grin

Posted over 3 years ago by star-struck from United States with 1 rating

I was in my local specs, and was offered this rum. I am not a big liquor drinker, and prefer beer. But i loved this particular smoked taste and bought a bottle... I have not regretted it... I might have a favorite here...

Posted almost 4 years ago by david from Australia with 8 ratings

Gave this a try recently and was a bit put off by the very strong smoke flavour that overwhelms all others and just doesnt sit well with what a Rum should taste like. Chemical aftertaste and a lasting smokey flavour that you just cant forget. Never again

Posted 3 months ago by kheiligh (PREMIUM) from United States with 30 ratings

Even more than some of the oaked, slightly peaty rums - like Plantation's Barbados XO, this one jumps headfirst into the smoke. Definitely something to be used judiciously, and only for certain things... You'll not want to drink this straight (very often), but some creative applications would let this shine.

Posted 3 months ago by jackw625 from United States with 22 ratings

It’s not the worst I’ve had but the smoked flavor isn’t what I’m looking for in rum

Posted 4 months ago by Paul from Australia with 104 ratings

bought this today. Its better than I thought. The smokey flavour is very sutle not over powering and the rum itself is a delight to taste
I enjoyed the gentleness of this drop

Posted 7 months ago by fancypants1 from United States with 1 rating

This rum is a mixologist's dream!! It's infused with vanilla, coffee, fenugreek, and natural hardwood smoke- so many different notes to play around with. My fave drink I have made with it so far:

Smoked Rum
FLor de Cana
Orange Juice
Lime Juice
Grand Marnier
5 Spice Simple Syrup

Posted about 1 year ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

42% ABV. Interesting nose, like sweet barbecue sauce. Very smoky, obviously. The palate, fortunately, is a bit more muted. It makes a curiously palatable Daiquiri that I imagine would be good paired with Caribbean cuisine. I think this would really shine in craft cocktails, used in moderation.

7+

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed two glasses of Stolen Smoked Rum while traveling in Nashville. Unique bottle and label design although a tad dull. Golden color. Massive amount of peatiness and pure alcohol to your nose and palate complemented with mild and artificial vanilla extract. Super strong and dry burn at the end. Whisky lovers can add 2 points to my score.

Posted over 1 year ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Overly sweet and artificially enhanced. Never ever again

Posted over 1 year ago by 78monk from Australia with 12 ratings

This is what results when a bloke with parkinsons gets a home still.
I'd be insulted to share this with friends.

Posted over 1 year ago by Roger Averill from United States with 31 ratings

As always I tried it straight up 1st...lot of smoke hiding the rum flavor...not high rating on just sipping. However get creative with mixing and it is a different story. With coke, very unique. With a Christmas Punch I made totally different and good change. Cranberry, pineapple and orange I usually added a Sailor Jerry or other spiced rum always good. Added the smoked rum and the punch suddenly tasted like grilled pineapple..

Posted almost 2 years ago by Lloyd from Australia with 30 ratings

On first opening the bottle you get this chocolatey smokey flavour. I had the instant comparison to the Kahlua. On the initial taste you are smacked in the face with woody smoke. It has an extremely sharp hit to it. Strong ethanol flavour. I mean if you were to mix it it would be smokey coke. I feel its quite artificial.