Posting your rating...
Stolen Smoked rum

Stolen Smoked

New Zealand | Flavored

4.2/10 (29 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
9
4
3
2
4
1
1
1
4

Rate Stolen Smoked

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


29 Stolen Smoked ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by 78monk from Australia with 12 ratings

This is what results when a bloke with parkinsons gets a home still.
I'd be insulted to share this with friends.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

Alright, I guess it is a kitschy nitschy thing to come up with artsy labels and produce a new rum for the people. Maybe a nice bottle to put on the shelf, but I wouldn't pour it for a friend. Not tasty rum, more like hotel instant coffee, paper filter taste makes is a bit oaky, I don't know if this stuff ever spent time in a barrel though. I see they do have a coffee and cigarettes offering. A great Koko Taylor song but I doubt a great rum either. I don't believe in bashing anybody, maybe they seriously tried to do something different, or maybe it's a gag like fart smelling candles, but for me it was a major miss. As a graphic designer I can't even give them a bump for the bottle design.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

I'm sorry. I want to support creativity and entrepreneurial spirit. But this rum tastes like the morning after a bad night in Vegas feels like.

Best left in the lost and found at the police station, I'm afraid.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by zman from United States with 1 rating

Forget the color etc, this is cheap rum with the flavor of liquid smoke added. And way too much liquid smoke. To bring this to market shows a lack of care or knowledge about a product. Anybody giving this a rating higher than 5 is being paid.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

There I was after a hard days work, off the beaten path of my normal commute home when I decided to stop at a liquor store for some rum. It was a sad little place offering only what I call the usual garbage: Bacardi Silver and Gold and twenty types of Capt. Morgan. On top of all that were several bottles of Stolen Smoked Rum. I've never heard of it before, it was placed on the top shelf of the store and came with a $24 USD price tag so I figured why not try it? Maybe it will be a good small batch to discover. Well, it was awful! I would have been better off with the Bacardi Gold and paid about $10 less...

After becoming sickened by this rum, I researched it online to discover that the makers were privileged hipsters who are more into life style than they are about making quality rum. They try to blend the two together - a feeble attempt to convince customers that their rum is insipid by music and all that lame crap.

At best...this rum a poor attempt to be a whiskey wannbe and their "creativeness" will cause pain to anyone who drinks their product. I wouldn't even give this to someone as a practical joke because I'm not that cruel.

I award them no points. May God have mercy on their souls.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Mark Ogilvie from United States with 16 ratings

Imagine someone dumped two fingers of Smith and Cross into half a mug of old coffee that someone used to put out their cigarette. Imagine drinking that after eating a butterscotch hard candy. That's Stolen Smoked Rum.

Despite what it might sound like, I don't hate it! I was looking for a challenging drink and I found it here. The dunder flavor typical of a Jamaican rum kind of binds the smoke, coffee, and candy flavors in a grimey nastiness that almost, almost works. Unfortunately there's something artificial about the flavors and way they stand apart from each other. Here's the smoke, here's the coffee, here's the butterscotch. The underlying rummyness just doesn't do enough work to bring everything together.

I haven't had the chance to try it mixed, which might help the drink make more sense. As it stands, it aims high, but is off the mark. the "flawed with a glimmer of hope" description for a 4/10 rum is perfectly appropriate.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Tabitha from United States with 3 ratings

Shit, tastes like shit... I bought it because it was on special for $10. I overpaid by $9. No aroma like described at all. It tastes like a cheap whiskey. DO NOT BUY. I will give it away as a gag gift... Never again. I'll stick with my Dark Aged Cruzan or Bacardi, Pussers, but NEVER this shit again!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tom Futcher from Australia with 1 rating

After being impressed by the label and the concept, my eyes widened as the nauseating qualities of the liquor in my mouth became immediately apparent. The coffee flavour jarred sickeningly with the rum, while the fenugreek was suggestive of hours of indigestive discomfort for the nighttime to follow. As I reluctantly swallowed, my mind was taken back to a poisoning incident I once was unlucky enough to experience in the Middle East while drinking cardamom laced coffee in a smoking den.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Lee from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

The aroma that comes from a freshly poured Stolen Smoked rum is full of oak, peat and caramel sweetness. This is something unique. Something to enjoy with a nice cigar or some Orange zest and dark chocolate.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by David from United States with 1 rating

This is by far my favorite rum. Smoke and coke is my standard at midnight.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by t from United States with 1 rating

this is a rum to appease whiskey officiandos on their first day out of prison. try not to get shanked.