Posting your rating...
Chamarel VSOP 4-Year rum

Rate Chamarel VSOP 4-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


21 Chamarel VSOP 4-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

564823411502d9756247cb9a9cd9415f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Greg from Belgium with 23 ratings

Tire trop sur le wiskhy. Je n'ai pas pris plaisir a le boire. Cependant il a un tres bon nez

031c1c2b99f70b2a2db23160950a0574.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 45 ratings

The rum opens up quickly with vanilla, dried fruits, oak and a herbal scent. Light but prominent there is also a hint of (too much) sweetness there. On the palate there is definitely some cognac-ish sensation but not out of place. Raisins, orange and a bit of mint follow the initial notes and it has a slightly bitter and peppery finish. The sweetness is not sticky lips but more than I like in a rum, especially in a fruity rum like this. I don't think the oak is overpowering but together with the herbal notes it becomes a bit medicine-like but not in a bad way. Not my style and too sweet for my liking but well balanced and well made rum.

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 232 ratings

To me, this is such an excellent rum and the balance from cross ageing it in both french and american oak works wonders. You get a rum that's agricole-like and elegant and sure it's a tad dry, but still a softer expression compared to the "classic" agricole profile.
The nose is intense with vanilla, peaches, cinnamon and marcipan alongside hints of oak. Real nice, sweet and welcoming. As the production of this rum pretty much resembles agricole, I was expecting the taste to be leaning towards the more tannic side, despite the sweetness of the nose (which is no downside for me)
This is however, in my opinion, not a particular dry rum, despite a few raters claims. Sure it's natural and unsweetened, but hey, this is what real rum taste like, and if you think it's bad or dry, perhaps the reality of it is that you actually like sugar water more than rum? (no offence intented)
The taste is rounded and almost sorta creamy with almonds, cinnamon, caramel and dried fruits. The finish keeps at it, with a well behaved oaky note. The balance is great.

C340106d2bec0f1bb62c390c34469428.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by RumBech from Denmark with 12 ratings

Light color, Smooth and and balanced with the taste of Caramel, vanilla and some oak.

3cd30a1ee0c14d6cfcee2c39ed58bd6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 351 ratings

Goldenes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase wie eine fruchtig herbe Briese vom Meer. Papaya, Banane und Ananas werden auf Holz serviert und mit Medizinkräuter garniert.
Im Gaumen weich, warm, süss und mundfüllend. Karamellisierte tropische Früchte und Vanilleeis schmeicheln die Zunge. Rote Beeren mit harzigem Holz bilden einen harmonischen Kontrapunkt.
Im Abgang süsses Karamell und Früchte, die Mauritius typischen Medizin Kräuter bleiben länger.
Ein toller Rum mit einer perfekt ausbalancierter Süsse, für Einsteiger und Fortgeschrittene.

Golden amber in a glass.
In the nose like a fruity tart breeze from the sea. Papaya, banana and pineapple are served on wood and garnished with medicinal herbs.
In the palate soft, warm, sweet and mouth filling. Caramelized tropical fruits and vanilla ice cream flatter the tongue. Red berries with resinous wood form a harmonious counterpoint.
In the finish sweet caramel and fruits, the Mauritius typical medicine herbs remain longer.
A great rum with a perfectly balanced sweetness, for beginners and advanced.

6593abd40ffa0f750370602dfd9f867c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Taster from Switzerland with 107 ratings

Among my favourite agricoles.
Nose: pretty sweet, freshly cut sugar cane
Palate: surprisingly smooth and round, with only a little bit of sharpness. Warm and long finish.
(Cal 2019 day 4)

02ce1476a9862e78e4ba9178f996d437.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 90 ratings

Junger, frischer Agricole Rhum
Deutlicher Zuckerrohr Geschmack und fein süssliche Note.

5ee808222d5e82f74944814fc7ba2b35.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Russ from United States with 70 ratings

I've never tasted a rum from Mauritius before so I was excited to give this one a try. A nice nose of oak and small hints of vanilla. The first taste goes down very dry (which isn't a bad thing) with strong taste of oak and a little cinnamon. The lasting taste is of oak. Overall I was pleasantly surprised by this rum and this distiller and will definitely look for their other offerings in the future.

10025d4670ff50de5c2b9a20aec4c8d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 137 ratings

My family have some history with Mauritius and hating rum. As a rum-lover I feel like it is my duty to combine my familys love with my own.

Nose: Vanilla, oak, cloves and a faint hint of lemongrass
Taste: Vanille, orange, oak, cloves, smoke and lemongrass with a slight funky feel
Overall: This is not a mindblowing rum, but it is very tasty. It is not a rum for the beginner, but if you are a lover of whisky, but want to try out rum, then this one would be a great starting point.

8602a3766cdeccb85584013051b78c5b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Buchi from Germany with 23 ratings

Not really strong nose
But taste of Wood nuts and fruits.
Quite mild but in my opinion too much notes of Wood.

D7a8ec89f008b9baabeeef9a2ce85f34.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 185 ratings

Havde virkelig forventet noget bedre, har nemlig luret på denne rom meget længe. Duft af sprit og tørrede frugter advarer om, at det ikke er så sødt, som det ellers ser ud til. Smagen domineres af tørrede/fermenterede frugter og eg, men de tørrede frugter ødelægger alt. Ville virkelig bare have glasset tømt i en fart og så hurtigt videre. (4. December 2019 i 1423)