Posting your rating...
Chamarel XO 6-Year rum

Rate Chamarel XO 6-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


18 Chamarel XO 6-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2575 ratings

Tried the Chamarel XO 6y and I was not expecting it to be this dry. Close comparison to a high end cognac. The bottle looks very high end, color is nice and deep, but I'm not a fan of the dry rums at all.

6dc29b18c88c9010d52f89410fe69546.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Frip from Belgium with 14 ratings

I had a good surprise with the VSOP, so I would expect this one to be even more elaborated... but was not the case to me. Stick to VSOP if you like slightly sweet rhum with character.

3cd30a1ee0c14d6cfcee2c39ed58bd6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 27 days ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 349 ratings

Schönes mahagonifarbiges Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase ein harmonischer, bunter Strauss voller Düfte. Kandierte tropische Früchte in einer neu gezimmerten Kiste, weisse süsse Früchte liegen oben drauf. Vanillecreme mit eingetunkten Karamellstücklein, garniert mit den typischen Mauritius Medizinkräuter.
Am Gaumen weich, warm und wunderbar ausbalanciert. Frische fruchtige und herbe dumpfe Aromen wollen sich nicht gegenseitig übertrumpfen. Da gehen Karamell, Vanille, Banane, Holz, Kakao, Kohle, e.c.t. Hand in Hand spazieren.
Im Abgang lang und lecker. Zwischendurch macht sich eine kleine Bitterkeit breit die jedoch schnell einem Schoko-Karamell Aroma platz machen.
Ein toller Rum und so anders als ein französischer Agricole. Bietet Jedermann eine Freude.

Beautiful mahogany amber in a glass.
In the nose a harmonious, colourful bouquet full of fragrances. Candied tropical fruits in a newly built box, white sweet fruits are on top. Vanilla cream with dipped caramel pieces, garnished with the typical Mauritius medicinal herbs.
On the palate soft, warm and wonderfully balanced. Fresh fruity and tart dull aromas do not want to outdo each other. Caramel, vanilla, banana, wood, cocoa, charcoal, e.c.t. go hand in hand.
Long and tasty in the finish. In between, a little bitterness spreads, but it quickly gives way to a chocolate-caramel aroma.
A great rum and so different from a French Agricole. Offers everyone a pleasure.

E3c358b8e2f88e71075d96a9802c1a99.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by miRcea SAVA from Romania with 17 ratings

Very nice flavour. Alcohol is under control. Nice colour. I drank it there, in the Rhumerie, so I have nice memories about it... :)
But quite expensive for what you get.

5c53589686f1e76392e1018e88dc97bf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by v63d from Germany with 8 ratings

The Chamarel XO is a top Agricole rum, even if it is not officially allowed to call it that. I am actually a sweet rum lover and this rum has a pleasant, light sweetness. Despite his 43% alcohol, I find him very mild, especially when compared to his two younger brothers, the VSOP and the VS. I was recently allowed to taste all Chamarel Rums locally in the Rhumerie de Chamarel in Mauritius. The XO is definitely the most balanced. I find it spicy rather than fruity, with just some slight citrus flavors. It remained barely an alcoholic pungency in the mouth and although it comes along quite dry, there is this pleasant sweetness with some vanilla flavors. The price is about 80€ but I think it is worth it.

9ff170f9e80c29d09bc44060083de6bf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 months ago by Uuukey from Japan with 15 ratings

蒸留を開始した2008年の貴重な原酒を中心に、オーク樽にて最低6年以上熟成されたものをブレンド。
創業家の情熱と努力が実を結んだ創業年に生まれた原酒。最長熟成となる逸品。

963c64b8333160ccc559949b01490841.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by cK from Canada with 60 ratings

Very sippable for a 6 year aged rum, though it does have a bit of burn. Would probably also make a good mixer.

D7a8ec89f008b9baabeeef9a2ce85f34.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 185 ratings

Blødere og rundere end Chamarel Classic White. Hint af vanilie. Frugt i duften. Minder lidt om White, men dog lidt bedre. Smager lidt af nedfalds frugt. (Smagt på romskolen 2019)

D056be1cebf05848ef7d3f2c3ff2e6c0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Danny Leij from Netherlands with 18 ratings

I drink this one in the pool on Mauritius itself. With Some ice maybe its the setting but i like this very much. Love the taste. After that I Buyed a bottle at the Chamarel
Factory.

135e2c5e4c0a3c8ff96465f91947b35d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

i try this and for me it not so good, i expected more taste