Posting your rating...
Old J Cherry rum
Old J Cherry rum

Old J Cherry

United Kingdom | Flavored

6.2/10 (14 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
2
4
1
1
1

Rate Old J Cherry

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


14 Old J Cherry ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

765d463d24808816e2ba832885f5695f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 387 ratings

Lovely cherry spiced rum . When I first tried this years ago I hated it but as we grow and develop taste it has become a change of a spiced rum ..

It has 89g/L which is one of the highest readings I have ever seen so I cannot rate this higher than a 1

2f34e18c987eb7e2766ceced9303503d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 days ago by Mrchubbaman from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

To be honest this isn’t really my style of rum but isn’t a bad one

1370335950ca601ddb4590c8d302175d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 days ago by Dave from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

Quite nice neat mixed with coke really brings out the cherry

F90244ec336d036e3202cb435fe4e6b2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Dedspurs from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

Was expecting strong cherry taste but more vanilla. Tried neat, maybe better with coke.

354e0bb764f4fa603945aadf24dd571c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by BRAVESTar79 from United Kingdom with 14 ratings

Absolutely beautiful with a splash of coke. One of my faves. 👍

81f70782fd827ab1b001ae032335713d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 65 ratings

This is a rum with a strong hit of vanilla with an added twist of cherry oil. It smells like candy floss, and is awesome mixed with cream soda, and makes plain cola taste like cherry cola. However, its quite sickly and if you aren't one for sugar loaded rum, then give this a miss. A sexy novelty I wouldn't turn down as I love its flavour profile, but if I was in a serious mood for rum, this would just piss me off and make me feel sick. I would like to experiment more with the fun flavours in this with cocktails, but its sweetness makes it difficult to recommend as a go-to. I would however say that this is a great introduction to rum drink for those that are still stuck on morgans spiced, red leg, and other easy to drink spiced rums.

Ff721d3590b8b106f989ee8aa036677d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Tcrum from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Surprisingly smooth and sweet goodness. Wonderful for an occasional tasty treat

87c5dc88e3bb7812dae6d9a8cb221638.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Chris Edwards from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

I tried this at the Exeter Rum Festival and really enjoyed it. It mixed really well with coke, but was equally delicious on its own. No burn, smooth and very more-ish!

2c103e821d2f3d1f8f8d20bcd1cb0e4d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Old is at Cardiff Rum Festival cherry liqueur style rum sweet very sweet

033bcee20b6b058cb5be71854cf6e100.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

I find the Old J spiced to be too sweet and too artifical. I actually prefer Rolling Calf as I think it is less sweet and more interesting in terms of the vanilla and lime hit - and it has a sort of dry tang on the tongue. This is actually, much more interesting than the Vanilla (ie Spiced) Old J. The cherry is noticeable on the nose and taste, but it is definitely not overpowering. It's not quite subtle, but it's medium-subtle. In that sense, it's refreshing because a lot of flavoured spirits are a bit overpowering. At 35 per cent, there will be those who mark this out, straight off, but it's worth a go, even if it does retail at more than the Spiced.

9c52064be3223d8402484f88a5b069c6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris Brearley from United Kingdom with 26 ratings

Was expecting a huge blast of cherry with this but all I got was very sweet vanilla. Not nice straight as a nasty burn hits straight away. It comes alive with coke and tastes like cream soda but after two of them it becomes sickly and I wanted to go back to a proper rum. A bit gimmicky this one - and where's the cherry???