Posting your rating...
Old J TIki Fire Spiced rum

Old J TIki Fire Spiced

United Kingdom | Overproof

7.7/10 (25 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
2
4
6
6
4

Rate Old J TIki Fire Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


25 Old J TIki Fire Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Phil from United Kingdom with 29 ratings

Wow this packs a punch. It burns, but in a loving way. I would recommend anyone pick up a bottle of you see it on the shelf. Worth every penny. Great fun at worries so long as you drink in moderation. Go easy with this one! So much vanilla!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

I normally wouldn't take a 151 rum straight, but this was actually a pleasant experience. Very full of flavor with vanilla and lime, the spice is not overpowering, and the burn is slight. A fun rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 447 ratings

I didn't expect to like this much given it's low price. And flavored rums aren't usually my favorite.

But this has a beautiful nose of heavy vanilla and a hint of lime that smelled surprisingly good. I was eager to try it at straight at 151 proof. To my surprise, I didn't have any difficulty drinking it straight.

The 75.5abv really counterbalances the super sweet vanilla flavor. In fact, I found this better straight than after I added water.

The question for me was "which is the best overproof rum, the Old J Tiki Fire Spices, or the Lemon Hart 151 (the two highest rated overproof rums as of this review)"? That was a tough question as the Lemon Hart has a more traditional rum flavor which I usually prefer.

I tried them straight, and then I mixed them with cold water. Though I'm generally not a huge fan of flavored rums (which the Old J Tiki Spiced is), I really like the Old J Tiki Spiced. The sweet vanilla flavor somehow works at a high abv.

I rate both overproof rums a low 8, but I'll give this an ever so slight edge over the Lemon Hart. I guess it's the sweet tooth in me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Woody Charisma from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

A very powerful rum that definitely blows the cobwebs away, however it's still smooth despite its sheer strength. This mixes very well with apple juice and I don't usually like apple juice.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Owen from Canada with 9 ratings

When you sample this one don't give up after the first kiss! All Overproofs are fire, of course, but a second and subsequent sips will change the profile considerably. Novocaine, becomes a river of lime down the tongue becomes concentrated spicy goodness. A treat compared to most 151 rums.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Lucy224 from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

An explosion of flavour in your mouth followed by a strong vanilla taste. Overproof but so smooth!

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by David Conway from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Dark Matter was my all time favourite spiced rum until I found this tipple. Very powerful drink and yet remains smooth and pleasant to the last drop. Still to decide if I prefer it with coke or ginger beer.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mark Ellis from United Kingdom with 32 ratings

I first tried this in St Ives, Cornwall. The barmaid asked if I wanted ice, coke or lemonade with it. I prefer straight up. She said are you sure. She watched my first sip and reaction...blimey my mouth was on fire! But once the inferno was out and my taste buds shrivelled, it was ok. I purchased a bottle for special occasions !!!
I recommend this, even if it is just for the fun factor

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 434 ratings

As a shot it's deep in vanilla flavour... Harsh on the flavour and not amazing on ice but better than original old j...

Ffffff

Posted 14 days ago by CJ1999 from United Kingdom with 56 ratings

The smell is sensational. Absolutely full of flavour. The spices are perfect. It is smooth, spicy and special. A slight increased quality would make it a 10

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Dj Gee Funk from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Simple with a bit of ice. Blows your head off but is so smooth. One of my favourites