Posting your rating...
Old J TIki Fire Spiced rum

Rate Old J TIki Fire Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


24 Old J TIki Fire Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 4 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

I normally wouldn't take a 151 rum straight, but this was actually a pleasant experience. Very full of flavor with vanilla and lime, the spice is not overpowering, and the burn is slight. A fun rum.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I didn't expect to like this much given it's low price. And flavored rums aren't usually my favorite.

But this has a beautiful nose of heavy vanilla and a hint of lime that smelled surprisingly good. I was eager to try it at straight at 151 proof. To my surprise, I didn't have any difficulty drinking it straight.

The 75.5abv really counterbalances the super sweet vanilla flavor. In fact, I found this better straight than after I added water.

The question for me was "which is the best overproof rum, the Old J Tiki Fire Spices, or the Lemon Hart 151 (the two highest rated overproof rums as of this review)"? That was a tough question as the Lemon Hart has a more traditional rum flavor which I usually prefer.

I tried them straight, and then I mixed them with cold water. Though I'm generally not a huge fan of flavored rums (which the Old J Tiki Spiced is), I really like the Old J Tiki Spiced. The sweet vanilla flavor somehow works at a high abv.

I rate both overproof rums a low 8, but I'll give this an ever so slight edge over the Lemon Hart. I guess it's the sweet tooth in me.

Posted about 3 years ago by Woody Charisma from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

A very powerful rum that definitely blows the cobwebs away, however it's still smooth despite its sheer strength. This mixes very well with apple juice and I don't usually like apple juice.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Owen from Canada with 9 ratings

When you sample this one don't give up after the first kiss! All Overproofs are fire, of course, but a second and subsequent sips will change the profile considerably. Novocaine, becomes a river of lime down the tongue becomes concentrated spicy goodness. A treat compared to most 151 rums.

Posted 8 months ago by Lucy224 from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

An explosion of flavour in your mouth followed by a strong vanilla taste. Overproof but so smooth!

Posted over 3 years ago by David Conway from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Dark Matter was my all time favourite spiced rum until I found this tipple. Very powerful drink and yet remains smooth and pleasant to the last drop. Still to decide if I prefer it with coke or ginger beer.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mark Ellis from United Kingdom with 32 ratings

I first tried this in St Ives, Cornwall. The barmaid asked if I wanted ice, coke or lemonade with it. I prefer straight up. She said are you sure. She watched my first sip and reaction...blimey my mouth was on fire! But once the inferno was out and my taste buds shrivelled, it was ok. I purchased a bottle for special occasions !!!
I recommend this, even if it is just for the fun factor

Posted about 4 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 374 ratings

As a shot it's deep in vanilla flavour... Harsh on the flavour and not amazing on ice but better than original old j...

Posted 21 days ago by Dj Gee Funk from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Simple with a bit of ice. Blows your head off but is so smooth. One of my favourites

Posted about 1 month ago by Dedspurs from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

Tried this neat at rum festival, got a kick, not for me neat.

Posted 3 months ago by chloeallason from United Kingdom with 1 rating

When asking for a shot at the bar and saying "anything other than sambuca please mate", I was not expecting a hole to be burnt in my oesophogus. I knew I had a mistake when a drop spilt on my hand and nearly took the skin clean off. Being the animal I am, I still chose to drink this bleach. Boy oh boy did I regret that. I knew as soon as the fire cascaded down my poor vulnerable throat that it was not staying in my body. I went with the sensible decision to vom the devils drink back up and despite it returning to burn my eyes nose and mouth again, I have never been more happy and relieved to have something exit my body. Would not recommend unless you think magma has a nice vanilla aftertaste.

Posted 5 months ago by Scott from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

They overdid it with the spice flavours in my opinion

Posted 10 months ago by Mcole1994 from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

A good main stream rum where you can buy in most places. The vanilla notes in it are really nice.

Posted about 1 year ago by Loscoles@yahoo.co.uk from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

What a kick. Powerful but without over powering. Lovely lasting taste, you don't need much of it.

Posted over 1 year ago by Tcrum from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Despite momentarily feeling other worldly, this rum gives a feeling of lava mixed with elegant vanilla, a strange yet effective concoction.

Posted over 1 year ago by Chris Edwards from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

A very potent rum, but also very tasty! Vanilla and lime smell strong, but are not overpowering. Big burn on the way down! I can't drink a lot of it, but it's a tasty one.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Cardiff Rum Festival spicy version of gold prices admiral j lime flavours and powerful alcohol burn mmore of a novelty than a rum

Posted about 2 years ago by Lee Riordan from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

Found this in a pub in Bath.
My only other experience of vanilla in a rum was Pink Pigeon and it was a totally different experience.
You can feel the bite in the Tiki but bit is so smooth, with the vanilla jumping out.
Tried a few different brands this night and this stood out!!

Posted over 2 years ago by Phil from United Kingdom with 29 ratings

Wow this packs a punch. It burns, but in a loving way. I would recommend anyone pick up a bottle of you see it on the shelf. Worth every penny. Great fun at worries so long as you drink in moderation. Go easy with this one! So much vanilla!

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

What a ride! Typically the overproof rums taste nothing but alcohol, but the Admiral Vernon's Old J Tiki Fire Spiced Rum at 151 proof has a very strong vanilla smell with a hint of lemon and the taste test reveals an explosion of vanilla and cinnamon. This is the best overproof rum I have tried from well over 400 aged dark rums later.

Posted over 2 years ago by Steve Storm from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

As an overproof rum, this packs a punch but it is also smooth. It has a very strong vanilla/caramel aroma (though don’t sniff too hard!) and could be sipped, but is best mixed with ginger beer (or cola if you want to spice up your usual).

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

An over-proof version of their usual spiced rum offering and the 75.5abv really helps to cut through their added flavourings. Good for tiki drinks.

Posted almost 3 years ago by ApemanTR26 from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

if need a pick up on a winter's night. it hits the spot.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Paul OHara from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Sweet, strong, smooth, great with or without a mixer, perfect