Posting your rating...
Old J Gold rum

Old J Gold

United Kingdom | Gold

5.3/10 (11 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
1
3
1
1
1

Rate Old J Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


11 Old J Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Dedspurs from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Had high hopes for this one, but flavours did not do it for me neat.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Sampled this gold rum at Cardiff Rum Festival.

Similar to the tiki fire with lime and vanilla and a touch of spicy, very sweet.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- As often higher abv improved but not with this one, cloudy and fiery notes masked the rest. (12/25)

P- Vanilla with sour tinge, oily medicinal sweet with huge acetone nuance, industrial and volatile. (10/25)

F- Rather harmful raw spirit driven, burning spicy with prickly oak, fiery, raw. (10/25)

Balanced- Managed to have 2 sips. Diluted with ice will drawn out the grumpy vanilla again. (10/25)

Weighted Rate:- 42pt

— at The Rum Bar KL.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jaker from Canada with 3 ratings

Like Christmas in a bottle. No after taste. Very smooth

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Nightingale from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

A strong 6 in my opinion- I’m a fan of the smooth vanilla flavours with this one.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Created to be similar to Sailor Jerry's original recipe but as I haven't tasted that one can't say if they succeeded. Heavy on the vanilla. Overall target market is the Rum is Fun which they are doing very well in. I'm sure some will like this as a base in some concoction.

Small 0

Posted almost 4 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 146 ratings

This Old J Gold rum has an interesting vanilla flavour, which was a little overpowering to me and had a tart finish. It's more than likely a decent mixer, but I wouldn't recommend sipping on straight without heavy dilution. Does have a nice looking bottle though - may be worth adding to your shelf just for that :)

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by DeanH from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

I've had the spiced and loved it. Same here with the gold. It's a bit more grown up at 40% so got to watch the quantity. The flavour is everything hoped it we would be. Long live sailor Jerry, but this is the next best thing to the old show recipe. A winner

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 434 ratings

Bad flavour and afterburn not a great r at all pretty poor compared to the other old j .. cherry .y favourite and lovely taste

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Owen from Canada with 9 ratings

It's rare to find a rum that is spiced with vigour; if you're not serious about spicing don't bother! "Vigorously Spiced" could actually be the name of this gem. Toffee, toasted marshmallow, citrus, eggnog, nutmeg, spice cake... Dare I say Christmas? Wow, a party in your mouth.