Posting your rating...
Angostura Cask Collection Number 1 French Oak Cask 16-Year rum

Angostura Cask Collection Number 1 French Oak Cask 16-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

7.8/10 (29 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
5
13
7
1

Rate Angostura Cask Collection Number 1 French Oak Cask 16-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


29 Angostura Cask Collection Number 1 French Oak Cask 16-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

0de57ac21f333116cebc3485bb67d97a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 152 ratings

The second edition is in my opinion a little bit better than the 1st, mainly because it’s dryer and not that sweet
Significant for the aroma is exotic fruits, almond and some oak. The taste is subtile and you can recognise nuts and dried fruit.
As a summary another good rum from Angostura, now we’re waiting for edition three.
Now I have also tested the 3rd edition, but it didn’t reach the level of the 1st and 2nd editions in my opinion.
Picture: My Angostura shelf.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I really like the Angostura No. 1 rums. I tasted this side by side with the Batch 1, and I personally give the Batch 1 a slight edge. The Batch 1 is a little more rum like, while Batch 2 has a little more bourbon.

Smells and tastes of molasses, almond, oak, and bourbon. As previously noted, the bourbon notes are just a tad stronger than in the Batch 1.

A great rum!

2fd39b0277873d3142c9f9e49e1f4e38.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

At one point, I owned 7 bottles of this, thinking I had bought batch #1 (it was an error on the store's part). I tried and tried to like this rum. I ended up returning six bottles and keeping one. Pretty much as smooth as batch number one, I just didn't seem to appreciate the flavor. I believe it's the sherry finish. It works for others, just not for me.

F894f65da4981e042ca76e07bd4f33c7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by taz.c from France with 84 ratings

j'adore ce type de rhum très agréable, avec de la rondeur, de la force, et une très bonne longueur en bouche.
indispensable pour de petit moment égoïste.
je suis fan, je recommande a fond

07cd014d917dd09a8565d0abb027e4b6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 days ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 24 ratings

Der Angostura No. 1 ist ein Blend aus 10 Jahre alten Rums welche nochmals gemeinsam für 6 Jahre in first fill Bourbon Fässern lagern durften. Er wurde mit 40% Alkohol abgefüllt. Der Rum kommt in der alten klassischen Angostura Flasche, in dem auch mein alter 1824 abgefüllt war. Das lila Layout ist Geschmackssache, sagt mir aber nicht sehr zu. Zerstört irgendwie die gute Optik. Der Rum ist stark limitiert und in Deutschland werden nur 160 Flaschen angeboten.

Der Angostura ist im Vergleich mit dem 1787 mild und ausgewogen. In der Nase finden sich klassische Rum Noten von Karamel, Vanille und Holzwürze. Am Gaumen ist zuerst die Süße präsent. Pflaumen, Rosinen und ausgewogene Holznoten verbinden sich in einer hervorragenden Komposition. Alles sehr ausgewogen und mild. Einer der mildesten Rums die ich gekostet habe. Der Abgang ist wieder süß und der Rum klingt sich angenehm aus.

Der Angostura No 1. ist sehr gut zu trinken. Der Alkohol ist gar nicht nennenswert. Ausgewogen und mild macht er es wahrscheinlich jedem recht. Leider ist er auch etwas langweilig. Es fehlt das gewisse Extra. Das fällt vor allem auf Grund des hohen Preises und der Vielschichtigkeit der anderen günstigere Angosturas auf. Für einen 100Euro Rum kommt dann doch einfach etwas zu wenig. Lecker ist er. Ich würde aber eher den 1787 bevorzugen.

The Angostura No. 1 is a blend of 10-year-old rums, which again stored together for 6 years in first fill bourbon barrels. It was bottled with 40% alcohol. The rum comes in the old classic Angostura bottle, like the old 1824. The purple layout is a matter of taste, but doesn't work for me. Destroys the good look. The rum is very limited and in Germany only 160 bottles are offered.

The Angostura is mild and balanced compared to the 1787. On the nose there are classic rum notes of caramel, vanilla and wood spice. On the palate, the sweetness is present first. Plums, raisins and balanced wood notes combine in an excellent composition. All very balanced and mild. One of the mildest rums I've tasted. The finish is sweet again and the rum sounds pleasant.

The Angostura No 1. is very good to drink. The alcohol is not significant. Balanced and mild, he probably makes everyone happy. Unfortunately, it's also a bit boring. There is a certain extra missing. This is particularly noticeable because of the high price and the complexity of the other cheaper Angosturas. For a 100Euro Rum there is not enough. Although he's delicious I would prefer the 1787.

3cd30a1ee0c14d6cfcee2c39ed58bd6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 355 ratings

Sattes, klares Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase sehr dezent, fein gesägtes Eichen Holz mit Kakao bepudert und in ein mit Karamell bestrichenes Moos Bett gelegt.
Im Gaumen sehr elegant und geschmeidig. Runde Aromen rollen relaxt über die Zunge, weiches Karamell umschmeichelt Schokolade, Vanillesauce fliest über ein rau gehobeltes Eichenbrett.
Im Abgang wunderbar lang, Milchschokolade und Vanillepudding verleiten Dich zu einem weiteren Schluck.
Ein sehr süffiger Rum, leider etwas wenig Tiefgang. Braucht eine sehr lange Zeit zum atmen. -8

Rich, clear amber in the glass.
In the nose very subtle, finely sawn oak wood powdered with cocoa and placed in a bed of moss coated with caramel.
Very elegant and smooth on the palate. Round aromas roll relaxedly over the tongue, soft caramel caresses chocolate, vanilla sauce tiles over a rough planed oak board.
The finish is wonderfully long, milk chocolate and vanilla pudding tempt you to take another sip.
A very drinkable rum, unfortunately a little bit too shallow. Takes a very long time to breathe. -8

F2454bef52b285a4c810eabf59256ed6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Pete034 from Australia with 20 ratings

Wow, first time doesn’t disappoint, we’ll worth the price if you can get it

8b16b793442f2797ca8c9e7afe26fa23.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by Edwwa from Lithuania with 23 ratings

Well... Limited edition rum. Didn't know what to expect from limited edition rum. It's quite good, but really won't search for another bottle.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2650 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Angostura No. 1 while vacationing in Sydney. Pretty nice and unique bottle and label design. Golden color. Plenty of oak, raisins, almonds and a hint of vanilla to the nose and palate. Very mild sherry comes at the end only. Typical Angostura strong and dry burn at the end.

2742a5fa383f6db3c69fd6fc75bce4b7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 198 ratings

I got to try this at the famous Rum Bar in the beautiful Whitsundays Isles in North Queensland. A 16 year-old rum apparently finished in cognac barrels for the last 6 years.
Definitely a brandy taste to it with raisins , slightly nutty and with pastry notes.. Dry and not too sweet. I enjoyed the Batch 1 last year and this was another nice sipper. I have the 1787 at home which im really looking forward to.

A1fe2aa8ab593703e4f33edb37c79fa2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

10 years in American oak casks before being transferred over to once-used French oak casks that previously held Cognac for the final 6 years.

N- Shy at first, initially get the cured ham with raisin and various dried nuts, then more power and weights shows up gradually, and the aged rum notes blossomed to fullness at the tail, expecting more French Oak influence but the cognac were not as prominent at this stage. (87/21)

P- French oak comes into play with abundance of fig, raisin and oak nuance, well integrated with touch of phenol, charred wood and sweet cedar note. Good 2nd cask influence. Would be great if the sugary at the tail can be contain. (87/21)

F- Medium-long, more obvious brandy coats with echoing waxy dried fruits, full and subtly spicy. (88/22)

Body/Balance- 87/21

Weighted Rate:- 85pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.