Posting your rating...
Angostura Cask Collection Number 1 French Oak Cask 16-Year rum

Angostura Cask Collection Number 1 French Oak Cask 16-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

7.8/10 (29 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
5
13
7
1

Rate Angostura Cask Collection Number 1 French Oak Cask 16-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


29 Angostura Cask Collection Number 1 French Oak Cask 16-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I had read about this rum online and thought I might find it rather easily. I was wrong. But when I ran across a bottle (the only bottle of it in the shop) while on a weekend getaway in Panama City Beach a couple of months ago I immediate bought it. No questions asked.

A very pleasant aroma in the snifter. Very nice deep amber flowing into a golden yellow in shallower portions of the snifter. Swirling the rum in the snifter showed a long...and I mean LOOOONG cling to the sides of the snifter. Almost like painting with rum. I noticed that enhanced the aroma in the snifter. Nice.

Upon tasting it I noticed a clear contradiction...at first it has a marked sweetness and almost instantly transforms to a fairly dry taste. And add to that a pepperiness as well. Also seems a bit buttery to boot. Very smooth. The finish seems to be peppery with hints of toffee and vanilla and it's a long finish. Not a several burn but a definite warmth coating the through downwards.

Definitely a rum to bring out on those special occasions with friends and family.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted over 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 164 ratings

The second edition is in my opinion a little bit better than the 1st, mainly because it’s dryer and not that sweet
Significant for the aroma is exotic fruits, almond and some oak. The taste is subtile and you can recognise nuts and dried fruit.
As a summary another good rum from Angostura, now we’re waiting for edition three.
Now I have also tested the 3rd edition, but it didn’t reach the level of the 1st and 2nd editions in my opinion.
Picture: My Angostura shelf.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

This is not your mommas rum. If you like good deep well balanced rum then this gem is for you. Very nice, perfect sweetness. Great flavors from start to finish.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Peter from Slovakia with 74 ratings

pre mna prvy od angostura. sladkasti, celkom vyvazeny, ale nic specialne pre mna. rozhodne ale patri medzi dobre rumy. urcite nieje naskodu vyskusat

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Steven Atkinson from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

Nice sipping rum, you can really taste the oak flavour. Not as good as 1824 or 1787. But still highly recommended

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Sofie Mårtensson from Sweden with 40 ratings

En trevlig rum med mycket fat och lite sötma.......

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

nod bad, but the Batch 1 was even better. what a pity

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

I am so sorry! I tried the 1787 first and after this wonderful rum i tasted the batch 2. It is like tadting honey and after that tasting sugar water. It is surely a nice rum, but in comparison to 1787 it is no 2.!

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by vincent from France with 128 ratings

Le nez est plus sucré que le batch 1 (cerise, bonbon arlequin).
L’attaque est douce mais manque de complexité. En fait j’ai été déçu car j’attendais énormément de ce rhum, mais une fois en bouche il n’y a pas de magie qui opère, pas d’explosion de saveurs, il y a un arrière gout de cognac qui prend tout de suite le dessus et qui coupe toutes les saveurs du rhum. Ca crée une énorme frustration, la dégustation a les ailes coupées en plein vol. Ca reste un bon rhum mais je préfère largement la 1er version qui a plus de caractère. Comme tout angostura le final est très intéressant par sa longueur.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by A. S. T. from United States with 6 ratings

candy flavored sweetness, clean and sharp, cool, a bit of medicinal nose,

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This stuff has eight spoons of added sugar per liter - a preposterous amount - which explains why it tastes so damned sweet and uninteresting. I love authentic rums from Trinidad (e.g.,Caroni) but this juice has that insipid, flat mouthfeel and lack of complexity common to heavily sweetened rums. What a waste.