Posting your rating...
Watson's Trawler rum

Watson's Trawler

United Kingdom | Gold

7.2/10 (11 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
2
4
1

Rate Watson's Trawler

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


11 Watson's Trawler ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Watson's Trawler Rum was such a big positive surprise. Very close to the Cubaney 15 year old rum in several aspects. Watson's Trawler Rum is the second darkest rum in color I have ever seen right behind the amazing Black Tot. Smell test reveals very deep flavors, once more very close to the smell test with Cubaney 15y. The taste test of Watson's is the best since the rum is very rich, but super flavorful and the taste lingers for a loooong time. No burn at all, although I was expecting it to be quite strong. Very well done indeed!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 426 ratings

This is a normal Demerara rum , deep hold flavour that is suitable for rum. Delicious on ice once the ice has melted a little takes the afterburn away ...

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Gondwana from Austria with 7 ratings

Good spiced Rum with sugar cane molasse, keeps long lasting.
Hard to get.
A good bargain!

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Dave Eagles from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Plenty of lasting flavour
Great over ice with ginger ale and a 1/4 Chucky of fresh life

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 142 ratings

There are pepper, tobacco, coffee, blackcurrant in aroma. Bitter is dominate in taste, but it has many fans. The second tumbler gifts sweetness. Light snacks and salads will be suitabled. Your night and morning will not be overshadowed. I bought another bottle because it costs only 14$ in Moscow.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Quintin from United Kingdom with 61 ratings

The colour is beautifully dark, but the nose is missing, having only a slight chocolate treacle aroma. The taste is very smooth, but again not much flavour there. A bit of sweetness, treacle/chocolate and a dry aftertaste. Lots of potential, but not quite there.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 309 ratings

Taste is not bad, sweet and spiced with wood tones, but aftertaste is bitter and not pleasant. Too much dark to be natural.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by kevie from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Watson's Trawler Rum has been a regular rum drink for me for years. Of all of the dark rums of it's age (I think it's 5-8 years old) it offers the most flavours of the ones that I find in my local supermarket. A thick consistency and a nose of caramel and burnt sugar. The taste follows through with an initial bit of bitterness on the tongue followed by a sweet lingering aftertaste. The flavours can be very strong, especially if your used to OVD, but I find that water doesn't enhance it very much. This is where you see the true delight of this rum; if your not a fan of it straight then this is the best choice for a rum and cola. The strength in the flavour means that it is not drowned out by the cola mixer. It's relatively young age does provide a bit if a burn when drank neat, but at £17 it's not aimed at the sipping market.

The only problem seems to be sourcing it: except for us lucky enough to have it stocked locally. This is the main rum that you will be offered if you go shopping in the Western Isles, however I have found it very hard to come by on the mainland.

One word of warning: take it easy. This rum gives me one of the worst hangovers if I over indulge, I really do suffer. But this is definitley a rum to be savoured, try it straight first, but if the flavours are too strong then I recommend mixing it with the cola of your choice (Pepsi is my personal favourite).

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Rumncoke from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Great with coke rum with treacle, liquirice and molasses making this comparable to goslings

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

I was very impressed with this. At roughly £17 a bottle, I was not expecting much, yet this easily compares quality-wise to Havana Club rums at roughly the same price, give or take a few pounds.
Very dark, nice rummy aroma, no burn, no alcoholic over-powering. Not particularly smooth, but only a slight hint of roughness - which actually adds to the experience! Pleasant.
Recommended and good neat or with a mixer.