Posting your rating...
Angostura 1824 12-Year rum

Angostura 1824 rum is a blend of rums aged for at least 12 years in oak barrels. The aged rums are blended, re-casked, and upon maturity hand-drawn for bottling.

This rum is named and crafted in honor of Dr. Johann Siegart's founding of Angostura house in the city of Angostura, Venezueala in 1824. Angostura 1824 rum production is now based in Trinidad.

Rate Angostura 1824 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


221 Angostura 1824 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

This is a good sipper!

Posted about 4 years ago by DonDanD from Switzerland with 69 ratings

.....................................................................................................................................

Posted about 4 years ago by Jonatan Thomasson from Sweden with 10 ratings

The smell of caramel and orange peel is extremely pleasant and The taste as well is very nice, but a bit to much alcohol character for me. I imagine it would work well with a fine cigar.

Posted about 4 years ago by Phil from Switzerland with 15 ratings

Ganz okay, mehr aber nicht. Sehr schön in der Nase. Etwas spezieller Nachgeschmack.

Posted about 4 years ago by Geno from Canada with 30 ratings

nice color, nice aroma, not too sweet, nice sipping rum, but possibly forgettable.

Posted about 4 years ago by ziegelmeyer from France with 10 ratings

On peut réussir à le trouver autour de 60€, au dessus c'est très cher pour ce rhum qui ne manque pas d'intérêt.

Posted about 4 years ago by Carlos from Mexico with 50 ratings

Color Ámbar obscuro, piernas gruesas y lentas, aroma madera que denota su alejamiento y cítricos, característico del Angostura. El sabor es bueno pero corto.

Posted about 4 years ago by Didrik from Norway with 29 ratings

Nice aroma, and it doesnt dissapoint taste wise either. Leaves you wanting more

Posted about 4 years ago by Michel from Belgium with 79 ratings

This rhum is a very nice sweet one. Nice taste, nice colour!

Posted over 4 years ago by Peter from Estonia with 92 ratings

This is one of my absolutely favourites. Price in Estonia is about 50€ and its worth of every penny. Taste is nice and round with a small hint of chocolate.

Posted over 4 years ago by 2.ooohhh from United States with 42 ratings

First pour seems very heavy with oak, hoping that will be toned down as the bottle progresses. very much reminds me of a peppery oak reminding me of many bourbons.

Posted over 4 years ago by Steven Cooremans from Belgium with 41 ratings

Easy rum with medium sweetness. Smokey and earthy taste, with some aniseed and ripe fruit, complex.

Posted over 4 years ago by Chri$$ from Austria with 18 ratings

Angenehmer weicher Rum, vanille und ganz leichte Früchte mit lang anhaltendem Geschmack.

Posted over 4 years ago by Don Ron from Germany with 41 ratings

Super rum. Karibischer rum hauch kokos, tropenfrüchte, gewürze.

Posted over 4 years ago by Kyyyyyy from United States with 14 ratings

The flavor to this one was more bitter than the 1919 so I don't favor it as much. Kind of odd? I'm not sure. I still need to try the Cask #1

Posted over 4 years ago by vincent from France with 128 ratings

C'est un excellent rhum. l'odeur est merveilleuse, son gout n'est pas trop sucré et est très subtil en bouche, et le final est magnifiquement long. Quel délice. Si vous n’êtes pas fan des rhum trop sucré comme les zacapa et diplomatico mais que vous n'aimez pas non plus les rhum trop sec celui ci est fait pour vous.
it's a great rum. the smell is wonderful, it's not too sweet and is very subtle on the palate, and the final is soooo long. What a delight. If you are not for sweet rum as Zacapa and diplomatico but do not like neither dry rum, this one is for you.

Posted over 4 years ago by Settimio from Italy with 1 rating

L'ho bevuto in situazioni varie ma è sempre stato piacevole

Posted over 4 years ago by TIE-BONE from Germany with 33 ratings

The smell is a bit more promising than the taste. There is vanilla, chocolate, some fruit and cinnamon in the nose. The taste starts good with all the mentioned notes above but then it abruptly goes over to a slight bitter taste, without strong alcohol taste. For me overrated, but still a good rum to enjoy.

Posted over 4 years ago by Antti Setälä from Finland with 7 ratings

A nice rum to enjoy straight up from glass. Taste is sweet and quite deep. Only eight because of quite heavy afterburn, would be nice to get a smoother touch to the end. The difference to 1919 is significant in colour and taste as this is somewhat smoother. I recommend to give this a try if you have had the 1919.

Posted over 4 years ago by Totte from Sweden with 27 ratings

Mörk härlig rom med en smak av bittermandel, lite ek och vanilj, en aning spritig men väldigt behaglig och välavägd.

Posted over 4 years ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

Nachdem ich den Angostura 1919 kennenlernen durfte, war der große Bruder noch eine Steigerung. Eine Klasse für sich.

Posted over 4 years ago by Dan from Canada with 17 ratings

Smooth taste, molasses and vanilla, and bit of oak. Unfortunately, a bit on the dry side for my taste. As another reviewer said, above average, but not by much.

Posted over 4 years ago by Brad Cannon from United States with 27 ratings

I like it but doesn't wow me. Neither does its 1919 brother. Solid but not that inspiring. Bit thin for me but the balance of sweetness and flavor pulls through

Posted over 4 years ago by Ryan W from United States with 8 ratings

Great rum. Great sipping rum with a little of the oaky/tobacco taste.

Posted over 4 years ago by Robert Bahrd from Sweden with 12 ratings

For this rum I needed some time to really like but now it is on my favorite list