Posting your rating...
Angostura 1824 12-Year rum

Angostura 1824 12-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1824 rum is a blend of rums aged for at least 12 years in oak barrels. The aged rums are blended, re-casked, and upon maturity hand-drawn for bottling.

This rum is named and crafted in honor of Dr. Johann Siegart's founding of Angostura house in the city of Angostura, Venezueala in 1824. Angostura 1824 rum production is now based in Trinidad.

7.6/10 (224 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
6
13
71
75
47
6

Rate Angostura 1824 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


224 Angostura 1824 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

4eb36190a963506e34b5496e45e2d86e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

This is a good sipper!

539912623c68ec34d72c4d82b079fcad.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by artnoir666 from Sweden with 9 ratings

When it comes to Angostura, stick with the well proven. 1824 is complex, but too smooky and devoid of any fruityness. Not worth the extra price!

2d3f1d00a22c64e293036c587e1e1fa7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Nickolai Birjoo from Trinidad and Tobago with 6 ratings

I love Angostura as a company, brand, and facet of history for the country I live in, but 1824 is the red headed step child of an otherwise tenured lineup of casked product. I drink all my alcohol (with few exceptions, but rules have to have those, right?) straight, no ice, no chaser of any kind, because I like the overall flavour of the rum, including the burn and aftertaste. This rum has a smooth (overly so for my tastes) body, almost no nose, and light burn in the tongue, none in the throat nor chest. The flavour man, it's killing me - it tastes like fermented Haw Flakes (look those up, they have a weird tangy punch that's unique to the candy and this rum) drowned in water with a smidge of Royal Oak added. Most of the palate is in the aftertaste, and if you chase rum like me for their invigorating burn of sugar with a mélange of seasoned oak smatterings throughout, then I cannot recommend this rum - if you prefer a sipper that's so smooth it can be used in a hypothetical physics environment (with assumed no air resistance), then yes, this is the rum for you. It's a rum that plays more to its aftertaste than its nose, so be prepared for that at the very least.

E9ff8b205d63bfaf2fdd83bb671cac26.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Jurjen from Netherlands with 19 ratings

This is a real nice rum. Rich taste, a little sweet, not too strong with a mild burn. I like it a lot!

84898c5924af05e854359af24b9e4a08.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

I have longed for the Cast Collection Number 1, but no more. This does not completely replace it's unbelievably velvety flavor, but this exhibits 85% of the characteristics of that gorgeous batch.

F8733ee2ae9902e6dba818f5eade911e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Michael N from United States with 70 ratings

This is an ok example of a 12 year rum. It is smooth and clean. It does not have much in the way of flavor, depth, or aroma. It’s not the worst I’ve tried, and not the best. Just average. Would expect more from a $60 bottle.

023e8ee90f545f11508fce631fff6eff.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Chris from Germany with 11 ratings

First impression: fruity, soft, raisin and a long finish.
Nose: orange, plum, raisin, vanilla
taste: smooth, round, full in the mouth
perfect rum and everybody darling in the tasting.

B266681f71b804fc89bcd248d0c3b4f2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by Ryan from United States with 22 ratings

Tried this rum at a restaurant because it did not have any of my go to rums. I actually liked this rum a lot. It was balanced and not overly sweet. I don’t like sweet rum. I’ll buy this one again.

14a2e9e35491e7604fa7844d15deca5e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by Cindymneman from Curaçao with 2 ratings

Was a quite expensive bottle, but we did not like it straight, on the rocks, mixed...

Ad2be789b1dd62f4564d3499924604ab.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by ripperussr from Czech Republic with 98 ratings

Caramel and vanilla in the aroma. Quite sweety start of the body and almost no tail.

06e775de3ea659802819e69660ac783b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

A wonderful nose that hints at things to come. Perfect neat with a full range of flavors with a slight burn with some sweetness. Great for sitting in front of the fireplace.

Added just a touch of coke to try later and enjoyed that immensely. Changed the profile slightly but still had a broad flavor profile.

Overall this is a better sipper that the 1912 and will get a spot in my bar.