Posting your rating...
Angostura 1824 12-Year rum

Angostura 1824 rum is a blend of rums aged for at least 12 years in oak barrels. The aged rums are blended, re-casked, and upon maturity hand-drawn for bottling.

This rum is named and crafted in honor of Dr. Johann Siegart's founding of Angostura house in the city of Angostura, Venezueala in 1824. Angostura 1824 rum production is now based in Trinidad.

Rate Angostura 1824 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


221 Angostura 1824 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 5 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

This is almost like a fine cognac. It literally tastes like the Caribbean air. Sweet and floral, with vanilla and nutmeg hints. Truly amazing.

Posted about 4 years ago by TommyVinegar from Belgium with 46 ratings

Edit 28-09-17: I am deducting a point since my new bottle seems distinctly sweeter and definitely betrays added sugar. Either they increased the sugar or I missed it the first time.

This is about as far from a partydrink rum can get. It is truly aged, smokey, leatherly, oakey and smells of an old library. To be enjoyed quietly, late at night. You'll like this if you like cigars, aged scotch and pseudo-intellectual drunk talking.

Posted over 3 years ago by Lawson from United States with 56 ratings

Like jazz, so much going on with the flavors in this rum. Molasses, oak, citrus, honey, smoke, leather all come to the pallette. A wonderful and complex nose. As someone else said an intellectual's rum but maybe that's because I'm half drunk listening to Sigor Rós. Lastly never ever mix this. Enjoy!

Posted over 2 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

This rums comes in a nice package with a good looking bottle and a nice black canister (picture). It even comes with a small booklet. A quality package in my opinion.
 
You have to let this rum rest in the glass for a while. At first you get som sticky alcohol and not much aromas but after a while you can sense fruit, vanilla, spice and oak. A lot off different aromas in the glass.
 
When you taste this rum you get a spice, smoke, oak and some sweetness. Not as sweet as I would like it to be but it is still quite smooth. The Angostura 1824 has a long aftertaste with a lot of spice and oak. A bit too harsh for my taste.
 
This is a sipper but for me I want my rum to be sweeter so I will probaly use this rum as  a mixer. Not very happy with my purchase.

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Angostura 1824 je namíchána z rumů, které zrály v sudech po bourbonu po dobu nejméně 12 let, byly ručně smíchány master blenderem a znovu uloženy do sudů. Letopočet 1824 připomíná rok, kdy byl v Angostuře poprvé vyroben rum. Hrdlo je masivně zapečetěno voskem, s otištěnou pečetí. (edit: týká se ještě starší verze lahve). Ve skutečnosti působí lahev ještě lépe, než na fotografiích, počínaje reliéfem lodi na krabici, přes pečetní vosk, korek usazaný v krásné dřevěné zátce s erbem, až po číslování jednotlivých lahví.
Pro srovnání jsem testoval s Ron Barceló Imperial, který mám hodně rád.

Alkohol: 40 %
Aroma: Ve vůni vosk, včelí plástve, propolis,staré dřevo, působí velmi vyzrále, a nad vším je nezaměnitelný hřebíček s medicinálními tóny.
Učiněná pastva pro moje čichové buňky.
Chuť: První dojem nádherné jemnosti vzápětí vystřídá pikantní plná chuť, kouřovitost, angosturská medicína, vyzrálost.Dochuť je extrémně dlouhá, a stejně jako ve vůni i chuti je v duchu hřebíčku a medicíny, pro kterou asi bude buď zatracována, nebo milována.Já patřím určitě do druhé skupiny. Angostura mi vyloženě sedí, tahle její vlastnost ji odlišuje od ostatní rumové produkce a je díky tomu nezaměnitelná a originální.
Body: 92

Posted over 6 years ago by manah from Israel with 15 ratings

Nice smooth and tasty rum.
This rum with good cigar are fine pair to spend nice evening.

Posted over 2 years ago by Ed from United States with 20 ratings

Love this rum but the only negative is that it is a bit too sweet. Excellent flavor profile, with hints of tobacco, leather, vanilla. Delicious rum but more for dessert.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

So far I have found only two rums (Vizcaya VXOP & Plantation XO 20th Anniversary) that I will consume straight. This one comes oh so close to being the third. The 1824 has a wonderful aroma in the bottle and the flavor is very good...a mild sweetness with vanilla...but there's just a little bitter in there that brings it just below a 9 and sipping status for me. [NOTE: For the record, even though I've rated the Angostura 1919 an 8 as well I believe the 1824 is indeed better...an 8.85 as opposed to an 8.00)

So close....

Posted almost 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 228 ratings

Very lovely rum. It has a great and refined balance. Not a sweet rum but very smooth, with a slight oaky tobaco finish

Posted over 7 years ago by Steve Drda from United States with 6 ratings

Color is a nice Dark Amber. Legs are thin but seem to cling longer than you would expect. The nose is of sweet molasses, vanilla, and butterscotch. The taste is drier than the nose but still has predominate flavors of molasses and vanilla. The oak of the barrel is definitely present. A second sip brings out a bit of leather and tobacco. The finish is a bit hot with lots of spicy notes. Leaves me wanting more. A very complex rum. A keeper for sure.

Posted over 1 year ago by Neil J BERRY from Australia with 4 ratings

Well I'm no expert but this rum is very subtle. Initially a sweet aroma of vanilla and butterscotch, molasses as it warms a bit more. Definite oak taste but not at all over powering and not really discernible on my nose. Maybe a touch of tobacco. Not a rum that you would use as a mixer as the flavours are too subtle. I like it 50/50 with water.

Posted over 1 year ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Chinese herbal shop with old wood furniture, mango, caramel emerged with more herbs in the middle, as well cola sweet, banana pancake, well layered with minerals. (86/20)

P- Mellow with oak nuance, light, herbs and nice phenol to keep things going on, waxy dried fruits with subtle smokes. (86/20)

F- Medium, chocolate, cola sweet with wood sap. (85/19)

Body/Balance- 85/19

Weighted Rate- 78pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Posted about 2 years ago by Rune Clausen from Denmark with 1 rating

Sweet, but still with a taste of the alcohol. A slight too much smell of sugar. Very good with a cigar

Posted about 3 years ago by WJanyk from Canada with 5 ratings

This is a little lighter rum of the super premiums not as complex or heavy as some are but definitley the smoothest I have ever tasted of anything 18 years or less. Angostura has certainly got my vote for a superb Rum maker. A must have for my cabinet.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marco from Netherlands with 45 ratings

First off, I`ve got the new bottle wich is beautiful. Little dissapointing is the screw top, how could they,,,,,,,,,,
When you open the bottle and pour a glass the sent travels throug your living room,,when you put your nose in the glass don`t inhale to strong, wow , a lot going on. The taste does what the sent tells you,,,a carnival of flavours of wich some I`ve never tasted before. Chocolate, licorice, wood, leather, some vanilla, just enough sweetness, smokey (yeah,,,real smokey) etc,, the first sip gives an alcohol burn wich is strong but not disturbing, followed by a lot of different flavours that go beyond my palate but are truly fantastic. In my eyes it`s not a dry rum but leaves you wondering after every sip with a lovely taste in your mouth. Wish I was a specialist to be able to recognize all the diverse kind of ingredients . But as an amateur I can say that if you love rum, with this bottle you will discover how diverse this beautiful beverage is! Don`t you dare mixing this

Posted almost 4 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

Lovely amber colour , nose of vanilla , spices and raisins. Smokey but quite dry tasting with a nice bite. I like this on its own , or with ice and its as an excellent mixer . A good all round rum in fact.

Posted about 4 years ago by Mark from Canada with 2 ratings

This rum has great flavor at the same time as being very smooth. It is a slightly sweet rum (my favorite rums are) but still has the oak tone to it - just not overpowering like some. Overall it is VERY near the top of my list.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Nice flavored rum, but loaded with added sugar. Too bad. Vanilla and caramel come through, as well as some smokiness. A shame it's been sweetened so heavily.

Posted over 4 years ago by Kyle White from United States with 3 ratings

Very good rum, would be a sin to mix, a truly great sipping rum if that is what you are looking for

Posted about 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 16 gpl. A smooth rum with a heavy taste of Oak and tobacco with a hint of dark chocolate and vanilla. It's not a sweet rum and at $80 per bottle I don't see the value in this over some other rums in that price range The 1824 is a good tasting rum and it's worth having in your collection for it's different taste.

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Good flavor, but the bite dominates. $'s don't equate.

edit-a fresh tasting/ that 6 may be too high. Something is overpowering here.

edited to add sugar test results- 18g

Posted over 5 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

...while it might be better, the price difference in the UK at least, just doesn't make sense. OK the 1919 is much more commercial and a crowd pleaser but it is about half the price. It is rich and complex, but the price just makes my view of it a little jaundiced.

Posted over 7 years ago by Magic from Netherlands with 15 ratings

this one is nice to sip and anjoy on its one withe a good sigar!

Posted over 7 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 136 ratings

One if the smoother rums I've had. Just the right amount of slight spice with a shorter finish than expected. Strong brown sugar nose. Woodsy notes with a touch of molasses. Lacks some character and depth, or would have gone to 8 or 9.

Posted 1 day ago by Krille_8000 from Sweden with 20 ratings

This is very smooth and very sweet. Lot's of vanilla and caramel. There's some oak to it as well. It's a good sipper and probably great for drinks too.