Posting your rating...
Angostura 1824 12-Year rum

Angostura 1824 12-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1824 rum is a blend of rums aged for at least 12 years in oak barrels. The aged rums are blended, re-casked, and upon maturity hand-drawn for bottling.

This rum is named and crafted in honor of Dr. Johann Siegart's founding of Angostura house in the city of Angostura, Venezueala in 1824. Angostura 1824 rum production is now based in Trinidad.

7.6/10 (227 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
6
13
70
79
47
6

Rate Angostura 1824 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


227 Angostura 1824 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

Molasses, oak, honey, bourbon, vanilla, and spice.

I like it!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by TommyVinegar from Belgium with 46 ratings

Edit 28-09-17: I am deducting a point since my new bottle seems distinctly sweeter and definitely betrays added sugar. Either they increased the sugar or I missed it the first time.

This is about as far from a partydrink rum can get. It is truly aged, smokey, leatherly, oakey and smells of an old library. To be enjoyed quietly, late at night. You'll like this if you like cigars, aged scotch and pseudo-intellectual drunk talking.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Lawson from United States with 62 ratings

Like jazz, so much going on with the flavors in this rum. Molasses, oak, citrus, honey, smoke, leather all come to the pallette. A wonderful and complex nose. As someone else said an intellectual's rum but maybe that's because I'm half drunk listening to Sigor Rós. Lastly never ever mix this. Enjoy!

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

This rums comes in a nice package with a good looking bottle and a nice black canister (picture). It even comes with a small booklet. A quality package in my opinion.
 
You have to let this rum rest in the glass for a while. At first you get som sticky alcohol and not much aromas but after a while you can sense fruit, vanilla, spice and oak. A lot off different aromas in the glass.
 
When you taste this rum you get a spice, smoke, oak and some sweetness. Not as sweet as I would like it to be but it is still quite smooth. The Angostura 1824 has a long aftertaste with a lot of spice and oak. A bit too harsh for my taste.
 
This is a sipper but for me I want my rum to be sweeter so I will probaly use this rum as  a mixer. Not very happy with my purchase.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Angostura 1824 je namíchána z rumů, které zrály v sudech po bourbonu po dobu nejméně 12 let, byly ručně smíchány master blenderem a znovu uloženy do sudů. Letopočet 1824 připomíná rok, kdy byl v Angostuře poprvé vyroben rum. Hrdlo je masivně zapečetěno voskem, s otištěnou pečetí. (edit: týká se ještě starší verze lahve). Ve skutečnosti působí lahev ještě lépe, než na fotografiích, počínaje reliéfem lodi na krabici, přes pečetní vosk, korek usazaný v krásné dřevěné zátce s erbem, až po číslování jednotlivých lahví.
Pro srovnání jsem testoval s Ron Barceló Imperial, který mám hodně rád.

Alkohol: 40 %
Aroma: Ve vůni vosk, včelí plástve, propolis,staré dřevo, působí velmi vyzrále, a nad vším je nezaměnitelný hřebíček s medicinálními tóny.
Učiněná pastva pro moje čichové buňky.
Chuť: První dojem nádherné jemnosti vzápětí vystřídá pikantní plná chuť, kouřovitost, angosturská medicína, vyzrálost.Dochuť je extrémně dlouhá, a stejně jako ve vůni i chuti je v duchu hřebíčku a medicíny, pro kterou asi bude buď zatracována, nebo milována.Já patřím určitě do druhé skupiny. Angostura mi vyloženě sedí, tahle její vlastnost ji odlišuje od ostatní rumové produkce a je díky tomu nezaměnitelná a originální.
Body: 92

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by manah from Israel with 15 ratings

Nice smooth and tasty rum.
This rum with good cigar are fine pair to spend nice evening.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Ed from United States with 20 ratings

Love this rum but the only negative is that it is a bit too sweet. Excellent flavor profile, with hints of tobacco, leather, vanilla. Delicious rum but more for dessert.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

So far I have found only two rums (Vizcaya VXOP & Plantation XO 20th Anniversary) that I will consume straight. This one comes oh so close to being the third. The 1824 has a wonderful aroma in the bottle and the flavor is very good...a mild sweetness with vanilla...but there's just a little bitter in there that brings it just below a 9 and sipping status for me. [NOTE: For the record, even though I've rated the Angostura 1919 an 8 as well I believe the 1824 is indeed better...an 8.85 as opposed to an 8.00)

So close....

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 239 ratings

Very lovely rum. It has a great and refined balance. Not a sweet rum but very smooth, with a slight oaky tobaco finish

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Steve Drda from United States with 6 ratings

Color is a nice Dark Amber. Legs are thin but seem to cling longer than you would expect. The nose is of sweet molasses, vanilla, and butterscotch. The taste is drier than the nose but still has predominate flavors of molasses and vanilla. The oak of the barrel is definitely present. A second sip brings out a bit of leather and tobacco. The finish is a bit hot with lots of spicy notes. Leaves me wanting more. A very complex rum. A keeper for sure.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Neil J BERRY from Australia with 5 ratings

Well I'm no expert but this rum is very subtle. Initially a sweet aroma of vanilla and butterscotch, molasses as it warms a bit more. Definite oak taste but not at all over powering and not really discernible on my nose. Maybe a touch of tobacco. Not a rum that you would use as a mixer as the flavours are too subtle. I like it 50/50 with water.