Posting your rating...
Angostura 1824 12-Year rum

Angostura 1824 12-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1824 rum is a blend of rums aged for at least 12 years in oak barrels. The aged rums are blended, re-casked, and upon maturity hand-drawn for bottling.

This rum is named and crafted in honor of Dr. Johann Siegart's founding of Angostura house in the city of Angostura, Venezueala in 1824. Angostura 1824 rum production is now based in Trinidad.

7.6/10 (229 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
6
13
72
78
47
7

Rate Angostura 1824 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


229 Angostura 1824 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Notes of caramel, coffee and chocolate for this trinidad 12 years. Relatively fresh on the palate with oak taste. A long finish with notes of raisins or prunes

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 169 ratings

I think it needs some minutes in the glass. In the aroma and taste you can find some vanilla, nuts and dried fruit I think. It’s smooth and the sweetness is quite balanced compared to the 1919. Rate 7,5.
Picture: My Angostura shelf.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Matt59 from France with 10 ratings

Excellent taste with touch of tobacco, leather, vanilla. Delicious sweet ron after a good lunch

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 350 ratings

Since I liked their 1919 rum, I finally bought a bottle of this to give it a try. I had planned on driving 40 miles to test one ounce at a bar, but those tests only rule out rums that I would never buy. One also cannot adequately judge a rum from just one ounce. I am running out of good cheap rums to buy, so this was a good $58 gamble.

This is a semi-dry rum from Trinidad and has 17 gpl of added sugar. The aroma is of leather. The taste is of fruit and leather. The after taste is the same. It is darker than their 1919 and the flavors are more pronounced. Is it worth another $22 per bottle more than their 1919? That has yet to be seen when the bottle is finally empty a few months down the road. At least it will last for more than 4 months because it has less than 20 gpl of added sugar.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Van Cauwenbergh from Belgium with 12 ratings

Nice round flavor that Pairs excellent with dark chocolate and Fried fruit. The oak and fruit flavors are good afterparty you rest it for a while.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Purchased a sample from Master of Malt after first sampling the 1919. This 12 year old expression is a definite step up from the 1919.

This rum is full of character the flavour profile is fantastic theres a rich oakiness which is just sublime and it's a smooth one. It's so much better than the 1919 will definitely have to try the 15 year old next!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 256 ratings

It is a dark rum with distinct cherry nose, but also develops into light floral whisky on the tongue.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Don from Canada with 145 ratings

Medium copper colour; aromas of dried peaches, candied orange peel, raisin, prune, banana and caramel; on the palate it is warm with flavours of dried fruit, toasted oak and toffee. $73 at LCBO

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert eisen from United States with 12 ratings

This is not sipping rum. I didn’t like its flavor or lack of rum characteristics. Tastes like a cheap whiskey. Screw top instead of cork is another fault.

Only drink with ice. Not good at all.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

I don’t get much to nose. Pretty smooth taste with wood, smoky, oak and I get sweetness from sugar. Good rum but have had better

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by stefan from Canada with 50 ratings

Pleasant enough bur for the price there are others I would prefer to have in my collection. Nice bottle though.