Posting your rating...
Angostura 1824 12-Year rum

Angostura 1824 12-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1824 rum is a blend of rums aged for at least 12 years in oak barrels. The aged rums are blended, re-casked, and upon maturity hand-drawn for bottling.

This rum is named and crafted in honor of Dr. Johann Siegart's founding of Angostura house in the city of Angostura, Venezueala in 1824. Angostura 1824 rum production is now based in Trinidad.

7.6/10 (225 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
6
13
71
76
47
6

Rate Angostura 1824 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


225 Angostura 1824 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

72075c153a9117247b58cd980ddf796c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by ManFly from Sweden with 19 ratings

Nice tasty, smoky, and oaky rum. But a little to watering (thin) for me.

0ce5fec075a11895b90e223dc1e01858.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

Soft taste, a bit darker, fruity flavor. Just a bit too narrow taste

D0dc150d3b61b567366b9fb2f1dd9dd6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by kmpiast from Poland with 41 ratings

Something with its taste, especially finish is puling my rating of it down. I am glad that I had only 1 glass of this so I didn't drown my money into botlle...

Final verdict: I will not buy it again

A0b9878dcedc4e4da67194c47e5aad33.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Giovanni Bomoll from Italy with 37 ratings

This is matured in American oak bourbon barrels for at least 12 years
when it is blended and re-casked.
Taste of Vanilla, honey , caramel and Bourbon.
Leaves a little bitter taste in the mouth,
so it's just a good rum but nothing more.

743c43b8811433009491c4776775a4a8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 102 ratings

Výborný rum s lehkým kávovo-tabáko-karamelovým nádechem. Výrazný propolis a plástve za mně bod ubírají na 7b, ale věřím, že u někoho právě propolis požene tuhle flašku o 2b výš.

B7f9ef06fcee60844529e9879a21ec5a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Dimitris from Greece with 73 ratings

Taste 7,6/10. I dont like whisky-semidry taste but this one is nice for bourbon style rum with some touch sweetnes (i would like little more). Also it has great aroma and you can feel the aged rum in your drink not fake solera.

8b8ec52a88647f68b588f26fa58888fb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by jlowndes from United States with 15 ratings

This is hands down a great rum, but I wouldn't say it is for everyone. A lot of rum drinkers may like a rum with notes of vanilla or coffee and sweetness...and while you can smell some and taste a hint this is truly a sophisticated smokey/oaky rum. As noted by some others...great with a cigar, and honestly is one of those rums that is kind of like a whisky. It is a great rum. But as I noted, not for everyone

0de57ac21f333116cebc3485bb67d97a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 152 ratings

I think it needs some minutes in the glass. In the aroma and taste you can find some vanilla, nuts and dried fruit I think. It’s smooth and the sweetness is quite balanced compared to the 1919. Rate 7,5.
Picture: My Angostura shelf.

Ff1df9c1e8c20a9cb9aa35be149fdf71.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Matt59 from France with 10 ratings

Excellent taste with touch of tobacco, leather, vanilla. Delicious sweet ron after a good lunch

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 326 ratings

Since I liked their 1919 rum, I finally bought a bottle of this to give it a try. I had planned on driving 40 miles to test one ounce at a bar, but those tests only rule out rums that I would never buy. One also cannot adequately judge a rum from just one ounce. I am running out of good cheap rums to buy, so this was a good $58 gamble.

This is a semi-dry rum from Trinidad and has 17 gpl of added sugar. The aroma is of leather. The taste is of fruit and leather. The after taste is the same. It is darker than their 1919 and the flavors are more pronounced. Is it worth another $22 per bottle more than their 1919? That has yet to be seen when the bottle is finally empty a few months down the road. At least it will last for more than 4 months because it has less than 20 gpl of added sugar.

67ef39b994c3108832d32ce61a91f49e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Van Cauwenbergh from Belgium with 12 ratings

Nice round flavor that Pairs excellent with dark chocolate and Fried fruit. The oak and fruit flavors are good afterparty you rest it for a while.