Posting your rating...
Angostura 1824 12-Year rum

Angostura 1824 12-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1824 rum is a blend of rums aged for at least 12 years in oak barrels. The aged rums are blended, re-casked, and upon maturity hand-drawn for bottling.

This rum is named and crafted in honor of Dr. Johann Siegart's founding of Angostura house in the city of Angostura, Venezueala in 1824. Angostura 1824 rum production is now based in Trinidad.

7.6/10 (229 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
6
13
72
78
47
7

Rate Angostura 1824 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


229 Angostura 1824 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Gilles from Luxembourg with 31 ratings

Very good one i drank one glass in a bar and enjoyed it much! To buy

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by ShaneD from United States with 14 ratings

Wonderfully smooth, complex, and reserved. Flavors of oak, leather, and tobacco make this an excellent sipper and it's certainly worth making it last at the price point. It would be a travesty to mix this with Coke or even make something basic like a dark n' stormy with this rum. In fact, I currently use it only in my zombie (with a generous 1.5 oz pour) which is a kick in the face best enjoyed by lovers of rum in the first place. It takes a lot for me to really view a rum as something primarily to be enjoyed neat (as a tiki cocktail enthusiast) and this is the first rum that really makes me feel guilty for mixing.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Edwwa from Lithuania with 26 ratings

Rum starts from dark chocolate taste and goes to oak. Didn't liked this angostura.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by mmciesielski from United States with 22 ratings

This one has a decent flavor to it, a bit sweet, but on the rocks it is very good. Better straight than mixed.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Stadaik from Greece with 38 ratings

Tried this after the bartender made an intro. Weak color. Not to sweet. Balanced body. A little bit sweet aftertaste but you are loosing quickly. Always with ice and dont mix it

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Janne68 from Sweden with 13 ratings

Mjuk rund smak, behaglig sötma. Lite smörig kanske men överraskande god faktiskt, en rom man kan softa gott med när som helst.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Thrimor from Norway with 4 ratings

This was the first sipping rum I tasted, and still the only rum I always keep in my cabinet. As a whisky lover, I love the hint of smoke. Complex undertones and not too sweet. Simply delicious!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ross from Australia with 10 ratings

Really well-presenter rum here. Nicely presented in its container, with a booklet and a beautiful corked top.

Angostura 1824 has a fairly straightforward aroma in my opinion - one that’s relatively sweet, with hints of honey, floral notes and a little nuttiness.

The taste is well-rounded and very smooth - a fantastic balance between sweetness (honey, maple syrup), savoury (butter, nuts, woody elements, and even a slight smokiness), and spice (ginger, leather).

Fantastic rum! Not quite a Diplomatico, but not far off!

Ffffff

Posted at Hale Pele over 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

In my top category, I can't stop wanting more. Who wants to rob a bank?

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Adam Freij from Sweden with 28 ratings

Good flavor, good aroma, not too sweet. Still a recommandation.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Akis from Greece with 32 ratings

Spiced room. Strong. Nice and sweet aroma of orange and citrus. aftertaste of oak and tobbako. light mouth.