Posting your rating...
Angostura 1824 12-Year rum

Angostura 1824 12-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1824 rum is a blend of rums aged for at least 12 years in oak barrels. The aged rums are blended, re-casked, and upon maturity hand-drawn for bottling.

This rum is named and crafted in honor of Dr. Johann Siegart's founding of Angostura house in the city of Angostura, Venezueala in 1824. Angostura 1824 rum production is now based in Trinidad.

7.6/10 (229 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
6
13
72
78
47
7

Rate Angostura 1824 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


229 Angostura 1824 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Gilles from Luxembourg with 31 ratings

Very good one i drank one glass in a bar and enjoyed it much! To buy

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Michael N from United States with 70 ratings

This is an ok example of a 12 year rum. It is smooth and clean. It does not have much in the way of flavor, depth, or aroma. It’s not the worst I’ve tried, and not the best. Just average. Would expect more from a $60 bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Chris from Germany with 11 ratings

First impression: fruity, soft, raisin and a long finish.
Nose: orange, plum, raisin, vanilla
taste: smooth, round, full in the mouth
perfect rum and everybody darling in the tasting.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Ryan from United States with 27 ratings

Tried this rum at a restaurant because it did not have any of my go to rums. I actually liked this rum a lot. It was balanced and not overly sweet. I don’t like sweet rum. I’ll buy this one again.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Cindymneman from Curaçao with 2 ratings

Was a quite expensive bottle, but we did not like it straight, on the rocks, mixed...

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by ripperussr from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

Caramel and vanilla in the aroma. Quite sweety start of the body and almost no tail.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

A wonderful nose that hints at things to come. Perfect neat with a full range of flavors with a slight burn with some sweetness. Great for sitting in front of the fireplace.

Added just a touch of coke to try later and enjoyed that immensely. Changed the profile slightly but still had a broad flavor profile.

Overall this is a better sipper that the 1912 and will get a spot in my bar.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Vicke from Sweden with 70 ratings

Nice sipper with lots of flavours. Sweet but not to sweet, vanilla, tobacco, butterscotch and with an hint of smokiness.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Odd taste notes, tobacco etc. Clearly an essence-bomb, despite of Angostura always saying they do not put in essences (well, lab tests say otherwise). sweetened. Unnatural vanilla. Thin base spirit. No thanks. Has gotten from not so nice to truly awfully poor in its lifetime. Weak.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

First, I found this way better than the disappointing 1919, which I found oily and lacklustre. This has a lot more oak, molasses and fruit (possibly mango and banana). On the negative side, the added sugar seems to dampen the experience rather than add anything at all to it. I also found it had a slight burn on the aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Underdog from United States with 18 ratings

Deep amber color. Molasses and vanilla on the nose. Upon sipping, you are hit with a sweetness that mellows out to oak. Then there is a subtle bite ate the back end as burnt banana and toffee exits the nose.