Posting your rating...
Angostura 1824 12-Year rum

Angostura 1824 12-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1824 rum is a blend of rums aged for at least 12 years in oak barrels. The aged rums are blended, re-casked, and upon maturity hand-drawn for bottling.

This rum is named and crafted in honor of Dr. Johann Siegart's founding of Angostura house in the city of Angostura, Venezueala in 1824. Angostura 1824 rum production is now based in Trinidad.

7.6/10 (229 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
6
13
72
78
47
7

Rate Angostura 1824 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


229 Angostura 1824 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Gilles from Luxembourg with 31 ratings

Very good one i drank one glass in a bar and enjoyed it much! To buy

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by jackw625 from United States with 27 ratings

This is a great sipping rum. More of a subtle flavor.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 40 ratings

This one is confusing. I can’t place the aromas or flavor, but overall it’s a nice rum. It’s hard to compare to other rum I have sampled.

The nose is caramel and fruit, but the flavor is vanilla and honey? I like it, but not sure I’m ready to buy a bottle.

It’s light, compared to other aged rums but it lacks the purity of unadulterated rums like Appleton estate or RL Seales.

Sweet and flavorful, with a nice finish, this rum is a nice sipper but it’s a bit hot. Definitely be smoother with an ice cube.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Krille_8000 from Sweden with 23 ratings

This is very smooth and very sweet. Lot's of vanilla and caramel. There's some oak to it as well. It's a good sipper and probably great for drinks too.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by LegallySmelf from United States with 28 ratings

I may have received an older bottle as it was a square bottle with a cork top. This review refers to that bottling:
Beautiful Spanish-style blended rum. Deep and complex with strong notes of vanilla throughout.
This rum is delightful to sip and it is distinctive enough to turn a good cocktail into a cocktail that is memorable. As a tikiphile, I've found it to be amazing as the base of a top-shelf Pupule.

I've heard rumors that the newer bottling in round bottles with a screw top is not necessarily the same - I'll buy one and update my rating then.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Digisquared from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Love the dark colour and the very smooth finish of this rum. The toffee flavour is definitely coming through, making it a lovely rum to have neat.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 66 ratings

Will be... .

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by artnoir666 from Sweden with 9 ratings

When it comes to Angostura, stick with the well proven. 1824 is complex, but too smooky and devoid of any fruityness. Not worth the extra price!

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Nickolai Birjoo from Trinidad and Tobago with 6 ratings

I love Angostura as a company, brand, and facet of history for the country I live in, but 1824 is the red headed step child of an otherwise tenured lineup of casked product. I drink all my alcohol (with few exceptions, but rules have to have those, right?) straight, no ice, no chaser of any kind, because I like the overall flavour of the rum, including the burn and aftertaste. This rum has a smooth (overly so for my tastes) body, almost no nose, and light burn in the tongue, none in the throat nor chest. The flavour man, it's killing me - it tastes like fermented Haw Flakes (look those up, they have a weird tangy punch that's unique to the candy and this rum) drowned in water with a smidge of Royal Oak added. Most of the palate is in the aftertaste, and if you chase rum like me for their invigorating burn of sugar with a mélange of seasoned oak smatterings throughout, then I cannot recommend this rum - if you prefer a sipper that's so smooth it can be used in a hypothetical physics environment (with assumed no air resistance), then yes, this is the rum for you. It's a rum that plays more to its aftertaste than its nose, so be prepared for that at the very least.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Jurjen from Netherlands with 19 ratings

This is a real nice rum. Rich taste, a little sweet, not too strong with a mild burn. I like it a lot!

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

I have longed for the Cast Collection Number 1, but no more. This does not completely replace it's unbelievably velvety flavor, but this exhibits 85% of the characteristics of that gorgeous batch.