Posting your rating...
Angostura 1824 12-Year rum

Angostura 1824 12-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1824 rum is a blend of rums aged for at least 12 years in oak barrels. The aged rums are blended, re-casked, and upon maturity hand-drawn for bottling.

This rum is named and crafted in honor of Dr. Johann Siegart's founding of Angostura house in the city of Angostura, Venezueala in 1824. Angostura 1824 rum production is now based in Trinidad.

7.6/10 (226 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
6
13
71
77
47
6

Rate Angostura 1824 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


226 Angostura 1824 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Gilles from Luxembourg with 31 ratings

Very good one i drank one glass in a bar and enjoyed it much! To buy

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 127 ratings

...while it might be better, the price difference in the UK at least, just doesn't make sense. OK the 1919 is much more commercial and a crowd pleaser but it is about half the price. It is rich and complex, but the price just makes my view of it a little jaundiced.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Magic from Netherlands with 15 ratings

this one is nice to sip and anjoy on its one withe a good sigar!

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 143 ratings

One if the smoother rums I've had. Just the right amount of slight spice with a shorter finish than expected. Strong brown sugar nose. Woodsy notes with a touch of molasses. Lacks some character and depth, or would have gone to 8 or 9.

Ffffff

Posted 11 days ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 72 ratings

Great nose, not too sweet, not too dry. Good taste - well balanced.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 44 ratings

Der Angostura 1824 ist ein Blend aus verschiedenen Trinidad Rums die mindestens 12 Jahre in amerikanischen Eichenholz Fässern lagern durften. Ist er fertg geblendet bekommt er sein Finish nochmals in den selben Fässern. Die "alte" Version wurde von Hand abgefüllt. Ob es bei der aktuellen Version auch noch so ist weiß ich nicht. Es steht zumindestens nicht mehr auf dem Label. Die alte Flasche war hochwertig und mit dem großen Holzkorken ein echter Hingucker. Ob der Rum Zusatzstoffe hat weiß ich nicht, ist aber im Bereich des Möglichen.

Der Angotura 1824 hat eine schöne Mischung aus Süße und Rauch in der Nase. Die Schärfe vom Alkohol verfliegt nach ein paar Minuten. Beim Trinken schmeckt man sofort Süße tropische Früchte und Vanille vom Eichenholz. Holzig rauchige Aromen bleiben auf der Zunge und umgarnen die vorhandene Schärfe welche aber noch nicht unangenehm ist. Mittellang verabschiedet sich der Rum mit leicht süßer Note und angenehmen Fassnoten.

Der Angostura 1824 ist ein Rum der nicht langweilig wird. Er ist für den Preis von ca. 50 Euro gut zu trinken und muss sich nicht verstecken. Er Alkohol könnte etwas milder sein. Einer der Rums die ich immer noch mal kaufen wollte. Aber nur die alte Version. Flaschen Design und das Versprechen "Hand crafted " machen ihn attraktiver als den aktuellen Nachfolger. Aber dann war da auch der Angostura Skandal und man fragt sich wie Glaubhaft ist das alles wirklich. Also doch lieber andere Rums probieren!

The Angostura 1824 is a blend of various Trinidad rums that were allowed to be stored in American oak barrels for at least 12 years. The Blend gets his finish in the same used barrels. The "old" version was filled by hand. I don't know if the current version is the same. At least it is no longer on the label. The old bottle was of high quality and with the large wooden cork a real eye-catcher. Whether the rum has additives I do not know, but is in the realm of possibility.

The Angotura 1824 has a nice mixture of sweetness and smoke in the nose. The sharpness of the alcohol evaporates after a few minutes. When drinking, you immediately taste sweet tropical fruits and vanilla from oak. Woody smoky aromas remain on the tongue and envelop the existing sharpness, which is not yet unpleasant. Midway through, the rum bids farewell with a slightly sweet note and pleasant barrel notes.

The Angostura 1824 is a rum that does not get boring. For the price of about 50 euros and does not have to hide. He could be a little milder. One of the rums I still wanted to buy again. But only the old version. Bottle design and the promise of "hand crafted" make him more attractive than the current successor. But then there was the Angostura scandal and one wonders how credible all this is really. So i prefer testing and buying other rums!

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Alkisd8 from Greece with 2 ratings

I haven't much experience on rum,since i m scotch addict but this one took my attention... Smoothy,oak,you feel the ages on ur mouth,full bodied smoky,all flavours are there.I truly enjoyed it

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by jackw625 from United States with 25 ratings

This is a great sipping rum. More of a subtle flavor.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 36 ratings

This one is confusing. I can’t place the aromas or flavor, but overall it’s a nice rum. It’s hard to compare to other rum I have sampled.

The nose is caramel and fruit, but the flavor is vanilla and honey? I like it, but not sure I’m ready to buy a bottle.

It’s light, compared to other aged rums but it lacks the purity of unadulterated rums like Appleton estate or RL Seales.

Sweet and flavorful, with a nice finish, this rum is a nice sipper but it’s a bit hot. Definitely be smoother with an ice cube.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Krille_8000 from Sweden with 23 ratings

This is very smooth and very sweet. Lot's of vanilla and caramel. There's some oak to it as well. It's a good sipper and probably great for drinks too.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by LegallySmelf from United States with 24 ratings

Beautiful Spanish-style blended rum. Deep and complex but strong notes of vanilla throughout. It can change the profile of a drink in an incredibly positive way. Rum connoisseurs will find this a superb sipping rum and Tiki aficionados will find it the best liquor for a top-shelf pupule.