Posting your rating...
Angostura 1824 12-Year rum

Angostura 1824 12-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1824 rum is a blend of rums aged for at least 12 years in oak barrels. The aged rums are blended, re-casked, and upon maturity hand-drawn for bottling.

This rum is named and crafted in honor of Dr. Johann Siegart's founding of Angostura house in the city of Angostura, Venezueala in 1824. Angostura 1824 rum production is now based in Trinidad.

7.6/10 (227 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
6
13
70
79
47
6

Rate Angostura 1824 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


227 Angostura 1824 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by ManFly from Sweden with 19 ratings

Nice tasty, smoky, and oaky rum. But a little to watering (thin) for me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Chinese herbal shop with old wood furniture, mango, caramel emerged with more herbs in the middle, as well cola sweet, banana pancake, well layered with minerals. (86/20)

P- Mellow with oak nuance, light, herbs and nice phenol to keep things going on, waxy dried fruits with subtle smokes. (86/20)

F- Medium, chocolate, cola sweet with wood sap. (85/19)

Body/Balance- 85/19

Weighted Rate- 78pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rune Clausen from Denmark with 1 rating

Sweet, but still with a taste of the alcohol. A slight too much smell of sugar. Very good with a cigar

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by WJanyk from Canada with 5 ratings

This is a little lighter rum of the super premiums not as complex or heavy as some are but definitley the smoothest I have ever tasted of anything 18 years or less. Angostura has certainly got my vote for a superb Rum maker. A must have for my cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Marco from Netherlands with 45 ratings

First off, I`ve got the new bottle wich is beautiful. Little dissapointing is the screw top, how could they,,,,,,,,,,
When you open the bottle and pour a glass the sent travels throug your living room,,when you put your nose in the glass don`t inhale to strong, wow , a lot going on. The taste does what the sent tells you,,,a carnival of flavours of wich some I`ve never tasted before. Chocolate, licorice, wood, leather, some vanilla, just enough sweetness, smokey (yeah,,,real smokey) etc,, the first sip gives an alcohol burn wich is strong but not disturbing, followed by a lot of different flavours that go beyond my palate but are truly fantastic. In my eyes it`s not a dry rum but leaves you wondering after every sip with a lovely taste in your mouth. Wish I was a specialist to be able to recognize all the diverse kind of ingredients . But as an amateur I can say that if you love rum, with this bottle you will discover how diverse this beautiful beverage is! Don`t you dare mixing this

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 201 ratings

Lovely amber colour , nose of vanilla , spices and raisins. Smokey but quite dry tasting with a nice bite. I like this on its own , or with ice and its as an excellent mixer . A good all round rum in fact.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mark from Canada with 2 ratings

This rum has great flavor at the same time as being very smooth. It is a slightly sweet rum (my favorite rums are) but still has the oak tone to it - just not overpowering like some. Overall it is VERY near the top of my list.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Nice flavored rum, but loaded with added sugar. Too bad. Vanilla and caramel come through, as well as some smokiness. A shame it's been sweetened so heavily.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Kyle White from United States with 3 ratings

Very good rum, would be a sin to mix, a truly great sipping rum if that is what you are looking for

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 194 ratings

Sugar: 16 gpl. A smooth rum with a heavy taste of Oak and tobacco with a hint of dark chocolate and vanilla. It's not a sweet rum and at $80 per bottle I don't see the value in this over some other rums in that price range The 1824 is a good tasting rum and it's worth having in your collection for it's different taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

Good flavor, but the bite dominates. $'s don't equate.

edit-a fresh tasting/ that 6 may be too high. Something is overpowering here.

edited to add sugar test results- 18g