Posting your rating...
Cockspur 5 Star Fine rum

Cockspur 5 Star Fine

Barbados | Gold

Cockspur 5 Star is a golden combination of column and pot-stilled rums matured in American white oak barrels before blending. Coral-filtered water is used from a nearby aquifer to dilute the rum to bottle strength.

The company Cockspur was founded in 1884 by Danish seaman Valdemar Hanschell. Barbados was chosen as a location beccause at the time it was one of the Caribbean's largest shipping ports.

5.9/10 (62 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
15
19
15
6
1

Rate Cockspur 5 Star Fine

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


62 Cockspur 5 Star Fine ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

If you want a pure rum to try at a decent price then grab this bottle. Very nice bajan kick to it and aromas and flavors of spices such as brown sugar, cinnamon. This is not drowned out with sugar it has none added. A very true to style rum at a great price point. Very nice mixed but also decent straight up for those experienced in rum. Not as refined in flavor, smoothness or style as the cockspur 12 but overall still a decent rum in a pinch.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 143 ratings

Nutty nose with brown sugar. Taste takes a while to come through with delayed tingly spice that lingers. I get walnuts, oak, maybe even a little blueberry undertone. Finish lingers and isn't great, little sour. Not overly complex but surprisingly OK to sip on with a few ice cubes.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 86 ratings

I'm fairly new to the Baja style of rum. I got spoiled with R.L. Seale's 10yr for my first taste, though at least as I move along I can't really seem to find a bad one.
Its really nice, and I like that it has some pot-still weight. Has a somewhat thick mouthfeel, with toasty dark sugar and fruity notes, and a spicy finish - all very well behaved and balanced.
No added sugar or artificial flavors, and no tricks or misleading labeling. An honest rum; a good one to keep around.

Ffffff

Posted 2 days ago by knie88 from Germany with 3 ratings

Zu einem vernünftigen Preis erhält man hier einen ehrlichen, ungesüßten Rum.
Gut zum Mixen geeignet, durchaus auch pur.
Empfehlung für den schmalen Taler.

Ffffff

Posted 8 days ago by Redrum from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Need to retaste. Not tasted for years and remembering it was good and better than Bacardi!!

Ffffff

Posted 9 days ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Ideal for sweet rum based drinks as it does bring any sharp notes. This unaged rum is surprisingly smooth, with a mild and uncomplicated taste, with little to no aftertaste. I can imagine something like this is the base for liqueurs such as Kakadu. Or if you want to get drunk cheap - no sugar added, no headache.

Ffffff

Posted 18 days ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 54 ratings

Big in the UK it seems but harder to get (at a decent price) here in the Netherlands. Many online vendors charge around €20 for this and at that price; forget it, get yourself a 5yo Doorly's and don't look back. But I managed to lay hands on a bottle for less than €15 (closer to UK-pricing) and I must say, at that price this is a really pleasant surprise.

Light nose with the alcohol clearly present, some vanilla a little oak and I get some (slightly sour) berries. On the palate it remains light, warm and fruity with some dark sugar and it ends with a little chocolate and again slightly sour berries. It is a light but pleasant straightforward rum with no flaws but also no complexity.

A simple but well made light sipper for those moments you are not looking for perfection but just want a friendly glass in your hand.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

I dunno, mix it with coke and it's fine. Buy the old gold

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 143 ratings

reference base rum, not for sipping. 6+ ....... Качественный совсем недорогой дистиллят примерно трёхлетней выдержки. С характерным ароматом, чуть маслянистый, обманчиво сладкий. Годится для короткого знакомства с барбадосским стилем или в составе коктейлей.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Lukasz from Poland with 19 ratings

Barbados rum, produced by the Hanschell Inniss distillery since 1884, which was built by the Danish trader Valdemar Hanschell. Distilled from molasses, the distillery uses spring water filtered through limestone rocks. In the nose: grapefruit, cinnamon, dried fruit, iris. It's very botanical, other than the heavy rum from Barbados. Sweet, mild, fruity notes - peaches, and in the finish - spicy - cinnamon, nutmeg.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Jeff beales from United Kingdom with 24 ratings

Very affordable and a lovely smooth rum.
Great label too