Posting your rating...
Cockspur 5 Star Fine rum

Cockspur 5 Star is a golden combination of column and pot-stilled rums matured in American white oak barrels before blending. Coral-filtered water is used from a nearby aquifer to dilute the rum to bottle strength.

The company Cockspur was founded in 1884 by Danish seaman Valdemar Hanschell. Barbados was chosen as a location beccause at the time it was one of the Caribbean's largest shipping ports.

Rate Cockspur 5 Star Fine

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


56 Cockspur 5 Star Fine ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by Bill Rogers from United States with 33 ratings

The locals drink this one because of its price (cheap). Diffidently not for sipping. Big bite, OK with cola. Not a collection standard.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 138 ratings

Nutty nose with brown sugar. Taste takes a while to come through with delayed tingly spice that lingers. I get walnuts, oak, maybe even a little blueberry undertone. Finish lingers and isn't great, little sour. Not overly complex but surprisingly OK to sip on with a few ice cubes.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

I'm fairly new to the Baja style of rum. I got spoiled with R.L. Seale's 10yr for my first taste, though at least as I move along I can't really seem to find a bad one.
Its really nice, and I like that it has some pot-still weight. Has a somewhat thick mouthfeel, with toasty dark sugar and fruity notes, and a spicy finish - all very well behaved and balanced.
No added sugar or artificial flavors, and no tricks or misleading labeling. An honest rum; a good one to keep around.

Posted 4 months ago by Lukasz from Poland with 18 ratings

Barbados rum, produced by the Hanschell Inniss distillery since 1884, which was built by the Danish trader Valdemar Hanschell. Distilled from molasses, the distillery uses spring water filtered through limestone rocks. In the nose: grapefruit, cinnamon, dried fruit, iris. It's very botanical, other than the heavy rum from Barbados. Sweet, mild, fruity notes - peaches, and in the finish - spicy - cinnamon, nutmeg.

Posted 6 months ago by Jeff beales from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

Very affordable and a lovely smooth rum.
Great label too

Posted 6 months ago by DerMassi from Germany with 20 ratings

Doesn't hurt nobody, light body, take it a little later while you're tasting 😁

Posted 6 months ago by DjaiBi from Germany with 5 ratings

I Love this one in sweet Cocktails. Nice flavour but not too rich. And the best Part: no headaches the next morning.

Posted 9 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

A really nice rum, but perhaps not a top sipper. Easygoing, clear notes of Bourbon cask, no additives, dry and lively. It is light, and simple - but nithing wrong with it.

Posted 10 months ago by rumdumb from Canada with 8 ratings

Bought a bottle in 1991 on a recommendation from a total stranger, wish I could thank that guy. A perfect rum in my opinion at it's price. I'm not an expert by any stretch, but me thinks this is what a good all round rum should taste like.

Posted 11 months ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

Tried at a rum bar in Munich. Somewhat strong nose, thin taste and a slight burn. Meh.

Posted 12 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

It was okay, I'm sure some of their other versions have more to offer.

Posted 12 months ago by Kie humphreys from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

Tones of smoke with a dark hay colour and undertones of vanilla. Clears the pallette quickly with a sweet taste left after.

Posted about 1 year ago by mrakoplas from Slovakia with 35 ratings

Lahky a velmi pitny rum, mozno menej komplexny, ale je to cisty mlady rum bez dalsich aditiv, proste rum z Barbadosu.

Posted over 1 year ago by Isle1980 from Canada with 31 ratings

Good taste and smooth on ice. A good rum for the price.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Bought a bottle of Cockspur 5 Star Fine Rum while vacationing in Guadeloupe. Nice old school bottle and label design. Super dry rum with nasty vanilla and strong oak to the nose and palate. Very strong burn at the end being so dry. Nasty even when mixed.

Posted over 1 year ago by Kirethidae from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

A very cheap rum, and I think it justifies the pricepoint. A very dull, weak rum, not much too it at all. Weak caramel flavours come through and while it is not horrible, it is really nothing special. Only to be utilised as a mixer and even then, it only serves purpose to make a drink alcoholic rather than to make a drink that is enjoyable.

Posted over 1 year ago by The Hovis from United States with 12 ratings

Rum lacks a bite. To get the taste through when drinking with a mixer it requires double the slug of more potent brands.
Not obnoxious but not great either.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mephisto from Germany with 36 ratings

Nearly no nose perceptible, weak taste in addition. Maybe good for mixing, because there is no annoying taste and the rum is soft.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 298 ratings

It has been about 30 years since I tried this dry rum from Barbados, probably because I have always preferred sweetened rums up until now. I had also refused to buy any rum with a name like Mount Gay until recently. This one has little or no added sugar. Heavily sweetened rums are not only bad for one's health, but they don't hold their flavor for more than 3-4 months. I finally broke down and bought this bottle after seeing it on the shelves for months. Checking here first for any really bad reviews also convinced me to give it one more try.

What a pleasant surprise this one is! The aroma is of vanilla, tropical fruits, and a faint whiff of nutmeg. The taste is even more pronounced than the aroma without being overwhelming, and it almost can be sipped neat with a natural sweetness. There are no oak flavors from barrels. I chose to add a few cubes of ice made from Icelandic Glacier Water because glacier ice seems to mellow out any bad flavors in rums. At only $17 per bottle, I will continue to buy this one. Why have I waited so long to go back to this old friend!

Update March 18, 2020: I must have gotten a bad bottle this time and I wound up ranking it lower than Cruzan Gold and lowering my rating from a 7 to a 6. What have they done to this one?!!!!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jonathan from United States with 4 ratings

Something about the bottle, and then opening it up and tasting it, I thought I didn’t like it, wouldn’t like it, but as I’ve mixed with it, a complexity and playfulness I wasn’t expecting started to show through.

Posted about 2 years ago by Graydon from United States with 3 ratings

Sherry, Sweet, Spicy, smooth.
I enjoy neat or mixed.

Posted over 2 years ago by Bob from United States with 1 rating

Wow, to start off with.

I'm not 60. I don't regularly buy $100+ bottles of liquor. I don't have tons of experience, but I have a fair amount. I hop around brands constantly and I think I've only repeat purchased one brand at this point, I've bought 2 bottles of Captain Morgan in my life, when I was younger. Everything else has been a new purchase for me because I love exploring brands.

Well, this review is about the rum, not myself, I just wanted to get that out of the way. This rum is the only liquor I've ever been able to tolerate neat. I don't drink it that way regularly but I try it with each bottle of liquor once or twice to get an idea of how horribly offending it is to the mouth. So far there was nothing I drank straight that made me think "I could see myself consuming this neat regularly", incredibly it came in the form of a $15 bottle of rum.

It might help that I always imagine my vacations when I was much younger in the caribbean when I drink rum, but Cockspur Fine is extremely drinkable regardless. That said, it doesn't get a 10/10 because it's not huge on flavor. It's a little sweet and of course just plain "tastes like rum", if that makes sense. But it has no big, bold, special flavors like other rums I've tried, which is perfectly fine in my opinion.

The harsh alcohol burn is almost non existent in this one, and that's high praise from me considering even higher ABV beer starts to burn my tongue significantly and unpleasantly.

Posted over 2 years ago by John from United States with 3 ratings

I first had this rum in Barbados in 1987. I was my first rum. I like the color, the aroma is a bit too much alcohol but the taste is fine. I can have several in an evening,but usually mixed. If I have a cigar, I usually have the 12 year

Posted over 2 years ago by Mark from Canada with 11 ratings

Very smooth. Flavorful without a harsh finish. Excellent mixer and sipps with the best

Posted over 2 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 0-4 GPL. Right off the start there is Oak, Vanilla, a bit of caramel and some biting spice. This is a golden rum which comes from limited aging. Like other “Mixing “ rums this one has some harsh alcohol taste and aroma that cola or other juice mixes will hide and make for a good mixed drink.