Posting your rating...
Cockspur 5 Star Fine rum

Cockspur 5 Star Fine

Barbados | Gold

Cockspur 5 Star is a golden combination of column and pot-stilled rums matured in American white oak barrels before blending. Coral-filtered water is used from a nearby aquifer to dilute the rum to bottle strength.

The company Cockspur was founded in 1884 by Danish seaman Valdemar Hanschell. Barbados was chosen as a location beccause at the time it was one of the Caribbean's largest shipping ports.

6.0/10 (57 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
13
18
13
6
1

Rate Cockspur 5 Star Fine

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


57 Cockspur 5 Star Fine ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

765d463d24808816e2ba832885f5695f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 406 ratings

An excellent all-rounder... Also value for money is decent
..not decent neat but mainly a cocktail or mixer drink

728ec5b6ed86280ed3a0db9cb9861cc8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 143 ratings

Nutty nose with brown sugar. Taste takes a while to come through with delayed tingly spice that lingers. I get walnuts, oak, maybe even a little blueberry undertone. Finish lingers and isn't great, little sour. Not overly complex but surprisingly OK to sip on with a few ice cubes.

1ff5b6cf5a65436737f083200dd896c6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 86 ratings

I'm fairly new to the Baja style of rum. I got spoiled with R.L. Seale's 10yr for my first taste, though at least as I move along I can't really seem to find a bad one.
Its really nice, and I like that it has some pot-still weight. Has a somewhat thick mouthfeel, with toasty dark sugar and fruity notes, and a spicy finish - all very well behaved and balanced.
No added sugar or artificial flavors, and no tricks or misleading labeling. An honest rum; a good one to keep around.

D31a05255f24dc5e30498b5da6c0ba9b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 20 days ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 138 ratings

reference base rum, not for sipping. 6+ ....... Качественный совсем недорогой дистиллят примерно трёхлетней выдержки. С характерным ароматом, чуть маслянистый, обманчиво сладкий. Годится для короткого знакомства с барбадосским стилем или в составе коктейлей.

B8d467625511e211d831332322bab89a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Lukasz from Poland with 18 ratings

Barbados rum, produced by the Hanschell Inniss distillery since 1884, which was built by the Danish trader Valdemar Hanschell. Distilled from molasses, the distillery uses spring water filtered through limestone rocks. In the nose: grapefruit, cinnamon, dried fruit, iris. It's very botanical, other than the heavy rum from Barbados. Sweet, mild, fruity notes - peaches, and in the finish - spicy - cinnamon, nutmeg.

5cd6632b6acefa2b22ddc68518aef627.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Jeff beales from United Kingdom with 24 ratings

Very affordable and a lovely smooth rum.
Great label too

991929018b3167c840faee9c62c7386d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by DerMassi from Germany with 20 ratings

Doesn't hurt nobody, light body, take it a little later while you're tasting 😁

D1d7685bb1b727d6d3921536d93510eb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by DjaiBi from Germany with 5 ratings

I Love this one in sweet Cocktails. Nice flavour but not too rich. And the best Part: no headaches the next morning.

12ed51c119d70dc15b5191208ed82060.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

A really nice rum, but perhaps not a top sipper. Easygoing, clear notes of Bourbon cask, no additives, dry and lively. It is light, and simple - but nithing wrong with it.

792dad26709541f0b7a9c0a39e06bcdb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by rumdumb from Canada with 8 ratings

Bought a bottle in 1991 on a recommendation from a total stranger, wish I could thank that guy. A perfect rum in my opinion at it's price. I'm not an expert by any stretch, but me thinks this is what a good all round rum should taste like.

99b2726d07b11c014091c5624c717886.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 94 ratings

Tried at a rum bar in Munich. Somewhat strong nose, thin taste and a slight burn. Meh.