Posting your rating...
Cockspur 5 Star Fine rum

Cockspur 5 Star Fine

Barbados | Gold

Cockspur 5 Star is a golden combination of column and pot-stilled rums matured in American white oak barrels before blending. Coral-filtered water is used from a nearby aquifer to dilute the rum to bottle strength.

The company Cockspur was founded in 1884 by Danish seaman Valdemar Hanschell. Barbados was chosen as a location beccause at the time it was one of the Caribbean's largest shipping ports.

5.9/10
63 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
15
20
15
6
1

Rate Cockspur 5 Star Fine

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

63 Cockspur 5 Star Fine ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Phil Northcott from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

Inoffensive rum that mixes well and can be drunk neat. Fairly bland flavour and a harsh afterburn but nothing really bad to note.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Mark from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

I often buy the Cockspur 5 star as my standard mixer. Its not as good as the Mount Gay Eclipse but its price justifies buying it instead of the MG. Not one for sipping though, that’s when you can really taste that it’s the cheaper of the two.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Skipjack from United States with 20 ratings

This one is definitely a mixing rum. I prefer to drink all spirits straight with a side of selter, water, or something similar but this rum is meant for mixing.

Bottle: Another quality Caribbean label that stands out but as an older rum distillery and not a gimmick.
Color: Light yellow brown.
Bottle Smell: Combined hit of ethyl alcohol with the aroma of fresh ferment that is better than the initial smell.
Glass: The taste of the rum opens up as the alcohol evaporates off the surface giving a pleasant smell.
Taste: Again the harshness hits initially but surprisingly leaves quickly as there is a fair amount of oils to assist. Vanilla comes around until the heat hits the throat and the ride stops.

This is a solid mixing rum that can be sipped in a pinch, but I wouldn't recommend sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by kempola from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

I'm a big fan of a Cuba libre and was pointed towards cockspur by an old Grenedan gentleman. It's a rather sweet rum with a fresh taste.it has a light golden colour and when mixed with lime and coke is a perfect drink at any time. It may be cheap but very cheerful in character!

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Phil from United Kingdom with 29 ratings

This was a nice rum to drink with coke. However to me this tastes extremely sweet. While I can imagine this making it popular, it was not to my taste.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Bill Rogers from United States with 33 ratings

The locals drink this one because of its price (cheap). Diffidently not for sipping. Big bite, OK with cola. Not a collection standard.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

Not a sipper but it's very cheap. In the uk its about 14.00 better choice than Sailor Jerry and Captain Morgan.
Mixed into a cocktail you will be happy.
It will do, it is not sweet, it is dry if that is your bag keep this in stock.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

a pleasant rum for mixing with coke and a slice of lime.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

Looks very cheap and can be found in most supermarkets so I've avoided this rum but finally tried it recently and its really not that bad. Not too much flavour but relatively smooth.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

I sampled this rum on the rocks, but then had the bar-tendress add a splash of cola to finish it. Good, straight-up, nicely-colored rum...but just not up to sipping standards. Showed well with the cola, though, so if you like a Rum&Coke as your mainstay, please try this.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

at a relatively inexpensive price this has little competition
http://thefatrumpirate.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/thefatrumpirate