Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year rum

Rate Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


190 Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 1 year ago by Joe from United States with 37 ratings

So I’m in a fancy restaurant. Of course they’re heavy on whiskey. I asked about the rum and their top shelf is this and Zacapa 23 with which I’m familiar. I ordered an old fashioned and asked for a straight sip of the AE12. Good stuff.

Posted over 2 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

In the rum world you may hear people mention the word Hogo. Have a sip of this and you'll understand what it means. It's like a deep funky bassline from Bootsy Collins. It's the benchmark Jamaican rum for me. It has serious punch and does things most other rums don't do. It's complex, dark and mysterious. Many will argue that there are other rums that have a much more noticeable or distinct Hogo and I completely agree. I just think that with this rum you can appreciate the Hogo in it's subtleties. It's more of a caress than a complete beating of your senses. It's just a lovely experience.

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I like this rum, especially for the low price of only $32.99 (TotalWines 2016)!

It's a tad sweeter than both the Appleton 12 and 21 (but still rather dry as are all the Appletons I've tried). It's very, very close in taste to those, but slightly better IMHO. Notes of oak, almond, vanilla, molasses, and nutmeg. Try blind tasting this against the 21 - you may even prefer this to that, as I did.

Posted over 2 years ago by TimCanadien from Canada with 8 ratings

After receiving one of these bottles for Christmas in 2016, I didn't have the heart to open it until I got a second bottle. I got another one last year for Christmas and I didn't hesitate to open it once I got it home. It did not disappoint! This rum was well worth the wait. I can taste the vanilla in this rum; the finish is so nice. This is such a good tasting rum that I really had to dig to find something that I don't like about it and here it is: the bottle has a screw cap. That's it! That's the only thing I don't like about this rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Joseph Blossman from United States with 40 ratings

The color of this rum was a glowing amber.
Possibility my favorite 12 year rum, and Appleton Estate has produced the best Jamaican rums I've tasted. The Appleton Estate 12 year is exceptionally smooth with hints of cinnamon and banana, with undertones of dark chocolate and oak , or what I believe the barrel is oak because other rums by Appleton are also oak, but I haven't been able to find what barrel type they used. The finish is incredibly smooth leaving a light taste of cinnamon in the mouth. Priced around $30 a great rum for the price, and served best over ice. However, this age is still ripe causing the drinker to miss out on some of the flavor undertones. I wish Appleton Estate would release the rare blend in 15 or 18 year vintage just to taste how this bottle would if matured.

Posted 5 months ago by Nathan Hevenstone (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

Especially for that price!

To be fair, I can't really claim that this Appleton's "best offering", because this is my first from them. But it's one hell of an introduction for sure. I mean I'm giving it a 9! It's sweetness is surprising, as well, given the fact that it has very few or no additives. This is just a pure, aged rum, as they should be.

(Ron Zacapa should take some notes.)

I definitely recommend it as a sipper. Mixing with this one would just feel wrong, even at that price. It's too good to mask that flavor with something else...

Posted at The L Garage 8 months ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

I've had many Appleton rums, and they all have that distinctive Appleton flavor. This one is no exception.
Nice deep golden color. Strong aroma. Smooth, but with a bite at the end. Lingering tastes, that orange hanging on. Slight burn in the throat. It's a stronger and more complex taste than the V/X.
Very nice rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

I think I have to compare this to the 8 and 21 year olds. It is way, way better than the 8 and maybe 85%+ as good as the 21. Considering it is normally about 1/4 the price of the 21, that is good going. It makes the most sensible purchase.
Having adored the 21 - it felt like rum heaven to me - and disliked the 8 (very harsh and quite bitter), I wasn't sure whether to risk buying this or not, but I was reassured that it was good and took the plunge. I'm glad that I did. On the nose, we are not far off the 21. It is not quite so seductive, but it's pretty much got most of the same hallmarks and comes over as complex and oaky. In the mouth there is a vague note of the harshness of the 8, but it is no more that that. The rum has several things going on and has a great deal of complexity - much more so than the El Dorado 12, for instance - though that one has other good, enjoyable qualities to make it also deserve a 9. Oak, leather, stewed exotic fruit, caramel, roasted brown sugar - oh, lots of things are present. If you like depth, you won't be disappointed in this. The aftertaste is 90% of that of the 21 - rich, delicious and long-lasting. This rum may well make it onto my list of regular sippers at under £50.

Posted over 2 years ago by Dirk from Canada with 39 ratings

This is “The”Jamaican Rum that all other Jamaican rums should be judged by period!!

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

Another rum I will claim is essential to any serious rum-lover's bar. It is heavy, with much complexity and funk. Unique and engaging on its own, and pure magic when mixed...

It is the benchmark for an entry-level Jamaican Rum. No sugar added, funky, oaky, and moderately complex. It mixes extremely well too, with that "hogo" carrying over to enhance the drink. Try in a Maita'i, Jungle Bird, Zombie, Old Fashioned, mixed with coconut water or ginger beer over ice... Its hard to go wrong when mixing. The only thing that would make this rum better, in my opinion, would be to make it pure pot-still.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jay Rogers from United States with 10 ratings

OK, to be clear, I mix my rums with Diet Dr. Pepper. It is how I like my rums. This rum is affordable, yet offers a great complexity of fruits (like bananas), molasses, slight vanilla, and changes its flavors one to two times as you finish your drink. I put one shot glass per 12-oz can for this blend. Now, if you have ever got stuck with another rum that is just OK, or not that good, like Kraken rum, then I call this Appleton a perfect disguise cover up rum. Just add 1/2 a shot glass per 1 shot glass of Kraken, and you suddenly have a complex flavor that is very good. This custom blend between Appleton and Kraken almost resembles a Zacapa. Anyway, I have 8 bottles of this in my cabinet because the store where I live runs out. I like the price and I like the flavor. It is a must have.

Posted 5 months ago by DjAugust from Hungary with 22 ratings

Notes of ripe banana and some vanilla on the nose. Smells sweeter than it tastes on the palate (which I so not mean as criticism). Nice taste with some some tobacco-ish overtones, has some alcoholic burn stronger than, say, an El Dorado or a Diplo.

Posted 6 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 42 ratings

I bought a bottle of this for my birthday as i saw it in Tesco on sale for £30 so thought i would give it a shot without knowing much about it. I normally enjoy any rum anyway so didn't mind the risk of a blind buy. The flavour in the initial mouthful is fairly good but the finish when you swallow is quite incredible! I am not an expert in notes and flavours etc so i do not know what this is but damn, does it taste good! It is not that sweet and has a nice dry oaky taste and is practically a glass of heaven when a single ice cube is added. I have tried about 20 rums now and at the time of writing, this remains in my top 3 due to that fantastic finish. I definitely want to try some of that Joy anniversary blend!!

Posted 9 months ago by wArChiEf from Austria with 17 ratings

No Sugar added; great nose/taste, very fruity - that's rum for me. Price is awesome for this Jamaican Perfection. Cool Man ;)

Posted about 3 years ago by Seb from Canada with 36 ratings

Not bad, smooth, but not as much depth as my favourite El dorados

Posted over 3 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

The funk is there, but 12 years have taken the edge off and left a very smooth, well-rounded versatile product. It's not often I reach for a funky rum, they are generally not my favorite, but this is the one I go for and it does everything well. SUPERIOR mixer.

sugar test- 0

Posted 7 days ago by Pistolarull97 from Romania with 1 rating

The smell is nice, but the taste not so great. It's bitter at the beginning and the finish is like a plastic aroma. It works only with coke for me. I recommend El Dorado 15. A little bit more expensive, but it's very tasteful.

Posted about 1 month ago by Saint Gibson from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Deep, thick, pleasantely woody, dry(ish), properly aged, with pleasant, long finish and you can clearly taste and feel it. Basically everything you need from a rum, and for the price this Appleton Estate can bebarely beaten by anyone else (depends on your area, but I only think of RL Seals to compare for you coin). If you want to know more about AE 12 RB, Ralphy made a review and pretty much nailed it, but you better go and grab a bottle for yourself, take some time, certainly give it a rest and oxidize, and then enjoy it neat (and only neat! for those who mix such rums with anything else there is a special room in hell with giant wobbling dildos). Note: this rum needs to breathe more before tasting, and while the bottle goes down, it becomes better and better and better, and you will definitely feel it, just mark my words lads. Anyway, I highly recommend this for anyone who like scotch. Properly aged, pot still, dry(ish) rum for such price? Exelent and almost perfect.

Posted 5 months ago by Sbilmer from Canada with 10 ratings

Delightful sipper - currently my favourite with rich molasses and complex sweetness. Perfect night cap when my wife is drinking Scotch

Posted 5 months ago by Ralf from Germany with 23 ratings

Well balanced, not sweet. What I expect from an Jamaica-rum...I like it

Posted 8 months ago by Echo from Ukraine with 11 ratings

The best for the price for me. Very spicy and smooth. This is a hit in a rum industry.

Posted over 1 year ago by C. F. from United States with 29 ratings

Solid blended rum. Nothing special but nothing bad. Pleasant from nose to throat.

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

I went to my neighborhood grocery store to pick up my old favorite Appleton V/X, which I have been drinking from time to time for the past 25 years or so. All they had was the Signature Blend with no age statement or this one. I would not have been pleased with the cheaper one, so I bought this one, which happened to also be on my wish list.

Others have noted a strange funky aftertaste, which is characteristic of Jamaican rums. At first, it was good sipped neat, but nothing to write home about. An ice cube increased the complex flavors, but also the funky aftertaste. This bottle won't go to waste, but I will always stick with their V/X aged between 5-10 years. This one appears to be the victim of being "too long in the wood". This also proves that if it works, don't fix it.

Update 12 days later: I have a love/hate relationship with this totally unique rum. No other rum can even be compared to it. After all these years, other reviewers have finally inspired me to look up the terms "dunder" and "esters", which is what makes Jamaican rums unique. You will have to look those up yourself because that process sounds pretty gross and probably began centuries ago out of economic need instead of adding unique flavors. For those that don't know what Jamaican funky rum tastes like, I would best describe it as mud being mixed with the sugar cane that was distilled to make this rum.

Since my favorite V/X appears to have been discontinued, I may not be buying any more rum from Appleton. Then again, somewhere down the line I may miss this funky one and buy it again.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jd from Netherlands with 5 ratings

Take this one Just before you take a 21 appleton estate. Very Nice flavours comes out after 12 years. One of the best appleton makes
Thank you 😃

Posted almost 3 years ago by Titomm from Canada with 59 ratings

Très bon rhum, mais présence un peut trop forte d'alcool en finale. Le El Dorado 12 ans est meilleur, plus complexe, plus riche, un peu plus nuancé.

Very good rum, but a strong presence of alcohol in the finale. The El Dorado 12 years is better, more complex, richer, a little more nuanced.