Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

7.4/10 (205 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
11
18
79
66
27
2

Rate Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


205 Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

7e14f4e834014ce3face114bec89f233.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by SteveTheSnakeGuy from Canada with 12 ratings

I tried a sip. Fantastic. I mixed it with a little. Delicious. Really nice at this price level.

210988b9d059162e32897b21e8135f1b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by jlagleva from United States with 7 ratings

Kind of bland...not horrible but nothing special either.

9bb1a29d7f3a255824f31165de9e8210.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by KristofB from Belgium with 28 ratings

To be honest, i love rum, but am no specialist. Ordered this to try, and just love it. Nice smooth taste. Tried a cheap Appleton rum in the past and disliked it. But this is really good, simple as that. Just buy it and enjoy!

F3f7a8b2396ed0bf4edc3f0b52b04f00.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Stu from United States with 25 ratings

It reminds me alot of Zaya rum. I got the bottle as a gift, don't think I would purchase again unless I was somewhere that didn't have a large selection.

75baef26efdf2cea03021612e4e4cd11.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by JGiralt from United States with 55 ratings

A sophisticated funk. Great nose with ripe banana and vanilla. A classic Appleton blend.

E416f661f3e808d6560dee682958daa2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by losgon from Argentina with 5 ratings

Un buen ron lindo color , el sabor es aceptable , lo noto muy alcoholico al beberlo y al final , yo lo tomo solo o con un hielo , en el limite de lo recomendable

E15b2ec92b26737a7c7c266abdf62943.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Knaky from France with 45 ratings

Et bien voilà un bon rhum, sans sucre ajouté, bien ficelé une attaque franche, un développement harmonieux avec une belle longueur finale. Des arômes fins et des notes caramel léger. Tout ce qu'on demande à un bon rhum, tout ça à moins de 40€. Bravo.

72b8bf1bd105d48a743ed2c3ab1763df.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Inshore from Poland with 51 ratings

Yeah, u need to like that Jamaican style, i prefer Barbados or Cuba... anyway thats interesting difference. This one is more fruity, i can feel more vanilla, pineapple, a specific flavour. It is worth to taste it.

89f223a1528040e8954d1fba2dd44908.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Simon_W from Switzerland with 12 ratings

I'm actually rather a cocktail wonk than a straight drinker, but this is one of the few liquors I prefer straight, because of its fantastic flavour. Granted, it's not that ester-rich as the stereotypical Jamaican rum, but it's still unmistakably the powerful English style. The aroma is hard to describe, I don't know of anything that tastes like this, apart from a few other rums. It's sweetish and candy-like, but not like toffee or the usual suspects. Mount Gay the last Ward 10 yo. struck me as similar. Of course it's stupid that Appleton thinks they have to dye this with caramel colour, but alas, many distillers do this, and gladly it doesn't alter the taste. If you're not familiar with this sort of powerful rum, then it may well bite your nose if you approach it too closely. In that case it recommends keeping your proper distance, so you can enjoy the wonderful aroma uninterruptedly. On the palate it's quite soft, for sure softer than most Singe Malt Whiskies.

5e9ab08b33a624cb31f8e2648a74a28e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

Great value in this bottle and the 12 years really is above and beyond the Special, Reserve, and even the 15 year.

C6af4065f9ad22339036799d93339805.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by engineerLANDO from United States with 6 ratings

Now, first off I must say that I did this right. I had never tried Appleton and had gone straight to the 21-year blend for starters. Good choice because the 21-year is nothing short of amazing. But this review is about the 12-year, isn’t it? And that’s where Appleton truly excels here. The 12-year Rare Blend has much of the same identical characteristics as the 21...yet different. A little more burn, a little less underlying flavor notes. Same fruity funk that’s in the higher blends...overall a winner. Being from the South, I’ve even tried it making sweet tea, some call Planter’s Punch...or grog. It’s good. Yeah, it’s light years better than using sugar. Where others taste orange peel, I taste something like snapple, very similar to the older blends. This rum, to put it bluntly, kicks ass. Joy Spence is a champion mixer and this blend is street worthy and classy all the same. At just under $40 a bottle, you can’t beat it. Delicious.