Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

7.4/10 (227 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
11
20
82
76
34
2

Rate Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


227 Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Freedom of feet from Belgium with 20 ratings

Good rhum, never dissapointing. Bought it at discount price, well worth the money. Good on the rocks.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Mjayne from United States with 12 ratings

Had this one while I was in Jamaica and had to bring a bottle home with me!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 246 ratings

Fermentation: 36 hours
Distillation: Pot and column stil
Casks: Ex-Bourbon-cask

When I opened a new bottle the nose reminds me a little bit of Clarendon rum, there are some typical plants with citrus.
But after some minutes they got weaker. Still a good and balanced nose. Quite intensive with 43%, it was a very good decision from the masterblender, I would prefer around 50% I think.
Except the nose there is not much flavors that reminds me of Jamaica rums.
It's not funky, I can't smell any esters. If you think this is funky try a Hampden or a Savanna HERR first.
The taste is not that complex but very pleasant. There are a lot of dry fruits, could also be a rum from Venezuela. A part of it reminds me also of Barbados rum (Mount Gay). In the middle there are not that many flavors and the initial taste is a little bit weak.
It's a good 8, I like this new version but there is still not enough intensity for a 9.
Great value for just 20€. Very enjoyable and natural rum. My recommendation.

Nose: dry fruits, plants, some citrus (sour note), caramel, earth, some floral notes, molasses, orange peels in the background, some oak, this is not a funky nose
Taste initial: dry fruits with some caramel but not very sweet, plants and citrus
Middle: orange peels, oak, burned sugar
Finish (middle long): spice, some earth/barrel, oak, orange again
Aftertaste: oragen and oak, after 5min sour apple

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 2.5/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Mildness: 3/5
Compexity: 3/5
Intensity: 3/5
Value (20€): 4/5

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Clint Oosterbos from Netherlands with 7 ratings

Niet te zoete rum die prima puur te drinken is. Niet duur voor de kwaliteit.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Ngordon87 from United States with 47 ratings

This is a simple Jamaican rum. Nice introductory rum as well. Not too sweet. But sweeter than other rums from Barbados. It is smooth, however I cannot drink this one neat. I prefer this in a rum old fashioned omitting simple syrup. Has a bit of bite at the end as well.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Kalli from Portugal with 2 ratings

Very nice and smooth rum. Has a distinctive flavor and goes nice into scuba libre

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by ZTrain1177 from Canada with 34 ratings

Enjoyable on its own or with your favorite mix. Highly recommend!

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Alas from Puerto Rico with 40 ratings

Well balanced, expected smoother for a 12 year old, but definitely great for mixing

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Limsn from Poland with 14 ratings

Very enjoyable meeting with a real 12 yo. I strongly recommend for sipping, however at the moment I slightly prefer Mount Gay XO.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Foggyrumrunner from Canada with 43 ratings

Nose: mildly sweet wood, some banana and brown sugar, with a faint chocolate note at the end. I detect no Jamaican “funk” whatsoever (I like all types and styles of rum). Really nice nose! On the palate, it’s smooth, balanced, with sweet wood providing a framework on which one detects some banana, molasses and brown sugar as prominent flavours - but this rum is definitely dry, not sweet. A lovely sipping rum. Excellent price to quality ratio.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Redrum from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Aroma is quite funky with ripe banana and vanilla

Taste has less funk than you’d expect from the aroma but still has a little bit in there. Buttery brown sugar and very smooth.

Great as a sipper and makes a decent daiquri but not really one to use in cocktail. Very nice indeed